We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime”
Review of La Scalinatella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Scalinatella
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

La Scalinatella is an amazing property with very competent staff and concierge. The rooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully appointed. Our room had a magnificent view and we could not have been happier. Although the rate was expensive, it was still well below the rates we paid at Le Sirenuse in Positano which did not compare to this property. Capri was packed with tourists both Italian and from elsewhere and yet, this beautiful hotel in Capri was very happy to oblige.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you like small Hotels with top service , then you got it right here.The most difficult thing is getting a room here in high season, but f you have time in off peak seasons this is it!
The rooms are bright , all Capri style, white tiles with flower details , the bed is perfect!
The service is really good and friendly , the waiters are the same for a long time!
And at the reception they arrange everything for you, from the transportation from the mais land to the island.And any Restaurant you desire.
The only thing that you will not have here is room service with dinner at night!

Room Tip: The rooms are all different one from another because it is a combination of houses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renata k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

So, while we didn't actually stay at this hotel, we arrived today at lunchtime from positano to try it for lunch...we were turned away by a snotty lady and her Minyans at the front desk saying "only for our hotel guests" ...with the restaurant half empty . Sfortunato, your attitude will ensure we never ever try it...despite being in the area often
We ended up at Fraglioni which was simply perfect and beautiful attitude as well as great wines etc
We shared our experience with our hotel in Positano which is amazing, the Palazzo Murat

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Faysal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After returning yet again, our 7th stay ,this hotel just gets better.The staff are superb, and their hospitality and warmth never falters.Gennaro's lunches and evening cocktails are as wonderful as ever as he & his staff seem to predict your every wish.The solitude and calm of this hotel is just wonderful and it is highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a restful stay on this island.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea, but the higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We can't wait to return next year. Room, staff, food, all top-notch. It is a little bit of heaven! Feels like you belong to a small club, and the members and guests are all happy to see you. Three days was not enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had stayed at Hotel Caesar Augustus on Capri for two nights on a tour trip the 1st week of May (2013). We ended coming back for two more nights on our own the next week and stayed at La Scalinatella. We liked it much better than the Caesar Augustus. Our room was fantastic (especially for Italy)- probably 600 Sq Ft. -2 baths and great view. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. When we left, they booked a private driver and tour of Pompei- they took care of everything! If you are looking for a great hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Astonishing location, incredible people working here make you feel home. The quality of the bar and restaurant make you feel you do not have to move from here. But Capri have too many good place to eat so you'll take your walking shoes and go! But if you don't want to move you can spend all day here. Great rooms, with subtle luxuries yet elegant and very comfortable. An AC that if you want can transform your room in a fridge in a matter of minutes( and this is non very frequent in Italy) yet very quiet. Room service the quickest and most courteous I have aver experienced. And I have seen a lot of superstar place falling on this not simple task. The perfect hotel in Capri. Not very cheap... Keep it in mind. But if you want to fell like a loved king come here once in your life. Worth to make a Small mortgage!

Room Tip: ask for room on the second floor: They have a HUGE balcony! and a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Morgano
Casa Morgano
#22 of 40 in Capri
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Tragara
Punta Tragara
#21 of 40 in Capri
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Grand Hotel Quisisana
#10 of 40 in Capri
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.1 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 40 in Capri
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scalinatella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scalinatella

Address: Via Tragara 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#21 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: £281 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Scalinatella 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your La Scalinatella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scalinatella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing