We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Capri!”
Review of La Scalinatella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Scalinatella
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Capri!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A little bit of paradise with breathtaking views over the ocean. The pool is very nice. The staff are also very nice which can be difficult in Europe sometimes. ;) Everything is top quality regarding this hotel. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    28
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
121
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mactan, Cebu, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

That offers a excellent service to all that goes there, its a nice place to relax, and very close to the main Capri square.. a very walking distance to most of the places to visit on Capri, and very near to the bus service to Anacapri

Room Tip: yes it can be help full but the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

La Scalinatella is an amazing property with very competent staff and concierge. The rooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully appointed. Our room had a magnificent view and we could not have been happier. Although the rate was expensive, it was still well below the rates we paid at Le Sirenuse in Positano which did not compare to this property. Capri was packed with tourists both Italian and from elsewhere and yet, this beautiful hotel in Capri was very happy to oblige.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you like small Hotels with top service , then you got it right here.The most difficult thing is getting a room here in high season, but f you have time in off peak seasons this is it!
The rooms are bright , all Capri style, white tiles with flower details , the bed is perfect!
The service is really good and friendly , the waiters are the same for a long time!
And at the reception they arrange everything for you, from the transportation from the mais land to the island.And any Restaurant you desire.
The only thing that you will not have here is room service with dinner at night!

Room Tip: The rooms are all different one from another because it is a combination of houses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renata k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

So, while we didn't actually stay at this hotel, we arrived today at lunchtime from positano to try it for lunch...we were turned away by a snotty lady and her Minyans at the front desk saying "only for our hotel guests" ...with the restaurant half empty . Sfortunato, your attitude will ensure we never ever try it...despite being in the area often
We ended up at Fraglioni which was simply perfect and beautiful attitude as well as great wines etc
We shared our experience with our hotel in Positano which is amazing, the Palazzo Murat

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Faysal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great neck n.y.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After returning yet again, our 7th stay ,this hotel just gets better.The staff are superb, and their hospitality and warmth never falters.Gennaro's lunches and evening cocktails are as wonderful as ever as he & his staff seem to predict your every wish.The solitude and calm of this hotel is just wonderful and it is highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a restful stay on this island.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea, but the higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We can't wait to return next year. Room, staff, food, all top-notch. It is a little bit of heaven! Feels like you belong to a small club, and the members and guests are all happy to see you. Three days was not enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Morgano
Casa Morgano
#20 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Punta Tragara
Punta Tragara
#21 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scalinatella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scalinatella

Property: La Scalinatella
Address: Via Tragara 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#19 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Scalinatella 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Scalinatella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scalinatella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing