We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”
Review of La Scalinatella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Scalinatella
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I originally booked 2 nights, but then realised the ferry would not be available when our flight landed. The manager happily cancelled my non-refundable first night. When we did arrive we were met from the ferry (he must just wait there all day for arrivals) and for €10per bag they were taken to the hotel-very helpful. We only stayed one night but felt so relaxed. We had lunch at the hotel which was delicious and great house white wine. We went for a lovely walk the next day and had out bags taken back to the ferry. A great service

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte_booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

At breakfast on the main terrace, you overlook the southern coast of Capri as the morning sun radiates warmth on the craggy hills. With solicitous staff serving a la carte items (all included in the room rate), you are certain to feel like a million dollars.

The staff throughout the hotel were all quite good, friendly and efficient.

My "suite" was really just a large bedroom, but that's Capri for you. Everything was done in a "prettified" Mediterranean style, which will appeal to many people (though not me personally - the furniture is only good for looking at, not sitting on, and the bathroom could have been laid out better, instead of just plunking the various fixtures into a square enclosure).

In hotels such as this, I try to include a comment on the other guests. In this case, they were all well-mannered and looked affluent and educated (not always a given just because a hotel is expensive). People spoke in low tones and at most tables two or more languages were spoken.

La Scalinatella is a further 10-minute walk from the center of town, compared to Quisisana (the other fabled hotel), and at key junctures the route isn't well-signposted. If you choose La Scalinetella you are in effect opting for a more tranquil ambience and better, more romantic views, vs. being virtually in the center of town right beside shopping and restaurants. Before selecting a hotel, clarify your reasons for coming to Capri in the first place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed there in August 2012 and I still remember the hotel. Everything was perfect about this amazing hotel. A special thank you to all the staff, you were one of a kind.

Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisreen-K2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

There maybe other more luxurious ones - but few can beat La Scalinatella for the optimal balance of understated elegance, cosy and relaxed resort like atmosphere, good friendly service and excellent location (close enough to Capri town - just 10mins walk, but yet nicely tucked away in the pretty and quiet Via Tragara). And did I mentioned the VIEW TO DIE FOR? We stay 3 nights at the Junior Suite. It was wonderful, spacious with its own living area, big terrace which opens to a view of paradise, nicely and comfortably furnished and not ONE but TWO sizable bathrooms with a Jacuzzis. What more can one ask for?. Breakfast was good and the really nice thing about it was that you can either have it on the main terrace with a fantastic view or in your room (albeit that exclude the hot cooked items).

However please note if you are looking for a beach or a large pool (theirs is smallish but with a really nice setting and ambience)- this is not the place. Furthermore the kitchen only serve breakfast or light meals. But that is no a problem - we have most of our meals in town for better variety. My only detraction is that - they should have either priced in or informed us in advance of the charges (Euros 40 each way) for transporting our bags from the marina to the hotel. I stay at another nearby hotel before in the past, and I do not recalled being charged - albeit priced into the room rates.

All in all - highly recommended for those who do not mind a little pleasant stroll to town and have no need for easy access to a beach club.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful hotel. Outstanding service. Breathtaking views. Perfect location on Via Tragara. The service was exceptional from arrival at marina greeted by Sergio, until departure. It is a small hotel where the staff takes a great interest in making sure you are having a great stay in the hotel. I will remember this stay forever. Thank you staff.
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Room 64 had an amazing view. All rooms are quiet, clean, and beautiful. Arrive in Capri by fast boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOwens22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Loved capri and la scalinatella. Perfect location on via tragara.the service was exceptional from arrival at marina grande, till departure. It is a small hotel where the staff takes a great interest in making sure you are having a great stay in the hotel and on capri.breakfast, lunch and the bar were all great. There is as all but well equipped gym with great view. Only word of caution, is that I was able to arrange transportation from airport formless than half than through hotel. Otherwise concierge was fabulous and responded to e ails prior to trip within minutes. Overall great place! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

La Scalinatela- Capri

Arrived in Capri by fast boat from Sorrento.
Before arriving ,you phone or email the hotel telling the time you will arrive.
As soon as the fast boat arrives,there s a porter that waits for you and takes care of all your luggage.

There are 2 ways to go from the port to the city: by taxi or funicular.

After arriving in the main square( Piazzetta ) ,you walk untill the hotel.

Check in was fast,but you have to fill papers and leave your passport .

Went to a deluxe room but didn t like. Small!
Ask for a suite and payed EUR 150,00 extra.

A very nice suite ( 62 ) with a varanda and a very beautiful view

The matress was not comfortable and the sheets were not 1st choice.

Breakfast is normal,nothing to mention: breads,cheeses,hot or cold milk,expresso coffee,fresh orange juice.It s served a la carte.

Have to complain at reception about the noise,as the breakfast room is rigth above the suite.

In Capri no cars are allowed.

The only complain is that the day before my departure they gave me a paper with the scheduled time : luggage in the door,transfer to port,fast boat to Sorrento

You fill like you re sent away

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0 mi away
Casa Morgano
Casa Morgano
#22 of 40 in Capri
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Punta Tragara
Punta Tragara
#21 of 40 in Capri
369 reviews
1 mi away
J.K.Place Capri
J.K.Place Capri
#18 of 40 in Capri
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scalinatella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scalinatella

Address: Via Tragara 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#20 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: £284 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Scalinatella 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Scalinatella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scalinatella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing