We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, elegant and well balanced”
Review of Punta Tragara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punta Tragara
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing views, elegant and well balanced”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I came to the Punta Tragara with my wife, for 3 nights, at the start of our honeymoon. Being met by the hotel staff at the harbour to take our bags to the hotel, leaving us to make our own way to the hotel was a fun way to get started on exploring the island - although you can take a taxi or furnicular to the centre, we opted to walk the whole way - very doable but it's all uphill so be prepared!

On arrival, they'd arranged a complementary bottle of champagne which set the tone immediately.

The hotel itself, although not un-compromising luxury, is elegant and extremely comfortable. The real selling point is it's location above the bay; having breakfast or sitting by the pool and being able to see nothing but sky and sea is very "zen". You really appreciate how special the view is when you arrive or leave the hotel and see the number of people who have made the ~1km walk from the centre to come and see it.

On service, although there's always a waiter/waitress to get you what you want, they're not over-imposing and always greet you with a smile.

The rooms are spacious and features like the waterfall shower and huge, comfortable bed, although expected for a 5 star, were much appreciated.

It did cost a lot per night, but that's probably more reflective of Capri generally and if you can't throw a bit of money at your honeymoon, when can you? A great start to the honeymoon, but note 3-4 days on the island is plenty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    62
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
40
220
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

From the time we made the reservation to the last good- bye the staff could not have been more helpful. We truly think this maybe the best vacation ever and most of that due to the punta tragara. It is a very relaxed elegant hotel with intimate facilities but everything you need. It feels as if you are staying with close friends. Many times we were the only ones in the pool. It is not the place for children who need amusement. It is quiet and wonderful yet a short walks to the busy capri shopping area and many fine restaurants. We absolutely plan on returning ! Although this was a family trip I need to point out our son is 21.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room! Bigger terrace would be my request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlythebest4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wonderful hotel, views from rooms and pool area are amazing and make the hotel well worth the cost. Rooms were huge and well maintained. Restaurant at the hotel Monzu, was great. One of the hotels best features for me was that it was away from town, so it was quiet and one of the most relaxing places I've ever been. Definitely recommend arranging to have your luggage picked up by hotel from ferry, as it is a bit of a walk. We thought our bags wouldn't be that heavy to carry and regretted it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickels500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

No words to describe the view of the Fariglioni and the bay just under the hotel.
The place is amazing and really well located at the end of Via Tragara (around 5 /10 minutes walking from Via Camerelle - Capri main street with world luxury stores)
Rooms well maintained, good breakfast and wonderful pool service.
I really recommend, in my opinion best place in island!

Room Tip: Room 31, junior suíte, best view of Fariglioni
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boss02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had the penthouse suite which was newly renovated and very modern. Comfortable large room. Huge bathroom. Huge terrace with the most amazing views. Service was great. Whenever called responses were almost immediate. Air conditioning not the best but supplied a fan promptly to help. Eat at Villa Brunello near the hotel for dinner. Great restaurant with great views. A little further of a mark from town than other hotel but worth it. Recommend highly.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite was amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i loved Punta Tragara - for its views, rooms and service. loved being 'out of town' and walking into the hub when we wanted. beautiful walks from the hotel in every direction. we took a boat trip around the island which started below the hotel and dropped us at il Riccio for a lateish lunch. well worth doing. we then explored Anacapri. plenty we didn't manage to see so am looking forward to the next trip...It is expensive but i thought worth it.

Room Tip: one with a view of the sea definately and of the Faraglioni if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alikat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Punta Tragara for 3 nights and really liked it. It's located at the end of Via Tragara, 15 minutes from the city center, but we actually enjoyed the walk. The view from our balcony was unbelievable. The room was spacious and elegant, with lots of closet space. Breakfast was good, only downside was that you had to order orange juice from the waiter, which ended up meaning we only had one glass each (although they didn't charge extra). The staff was very friendly and the hotel grounds were beautiful and well kept. When we arrived, there was a bottle of champagne and a cake waiting for us in the room, a nice touch that makes you feel welcome. A big con was the wifi, which hardly ever worked, but overall, we had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikinielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#26 of 41 in Capri
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Casa Morgano
Casa Morgano
#21 of 41 in Capri
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Tragara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Tragara

Property: Punta Tragara
Address: Via Tragara 57, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#21 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Punta Tragara 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places hold a very special type of fascination. Almost always they are places of indescribable beauty, because what ever words you choose will fail to convey the sensations aroused in you.This is what we are proposing, a unique luxury place in Capri and daring design, sculpted out of the rock face, where no two rooms are the same and where nature reigns supreme in a natural setting where space has created a stronghold of incomparable beauty where emotions constantly surprise and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punta Tragara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Tragara Capri
Punta Tragara Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing