We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Brunella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vega(Capri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Minerva(Capri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Luna(Capri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
377
65
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
65
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet levelpool levelbread basketjunior suiteamazing viewsour honeymoonthe hotel's restaurantbeach clubgarden roompeace and quietthe cliffreception areamarina piccolayogurtlounge chairscontinental breakfastrooms are spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Second time to HBV and we stayed four nights in a Superior Room. Our visit this time was missing a few of the charming details which made our first stay so memorable. I do not want to write a negative review-- I still love this hotel, the staff, and the restaurant. However, if you advertise and charge as a four star hotel, there shouldn't be cracked tiles, missing shower tiles, and exposed wires in the bathroom. I also think when complaints are made about the condition of the room more should be done to please the customer and not blame a long busy season for the conditions that exist. It's the small details that make a stay memorable and when those details are absent, it leaves one thinking what happened?? Hey what happened to the green olives when you order a drink by the pool?? Just a small detail overlooked but not gone un noticed. I agree with many reviewers--HBV is a nice hotel but not quite living up to it's four star status.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jnats1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Guest Jnats1967,

we sincerely thank you for your advices, always precious for us. Looking forward to have you soon again as our guest,

Kindest Regards
Massimo Ruggiero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at VIlla Brunella for 3 nights during our honeymoon and were very please with our stay. Some other reviews mentioned the room they booked was not the room they received and our experience was similar but we were still more than pleased. As others have mentioned, the hotel is a short walk from the centre of town but well worth the quiet location and beautiful view. We didn't have an issue with the breakfast and found it to be more than enough. Rooms were very clean and the housekeeping service was probably the best we've ever seen. We took advantage of the pool and the offsite beach which both lived up to our expectation. The restaurant on-site is very nice but probably not the best value you'll find on the island. The view is amazing, but the same one you get from your balcony. Overall, Villa Brunella lived up to our expectation and Capri itself was well above.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs you would be wise to request a room located on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wlulb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Guest wlulb51,

we are delighted that you enjoyed so much your stay in Villa Brunella. Thank you for valuing our work, we hope to have you soon again as our guest.

Kindest Regards
Massimo Ruggiero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel has the potential to provide travellers with a great experience. The breakfast provided is adequate but very poor for the price. Coffee and pastries are provided but be prepared to pay 3-4 Euros for an orange juice or cooked egg. We booked the superior junior suite, the best room on offer on their web page. Advertised as above pool level for the best views.
We were allocated room 63, below pool level and with restricted views. A very nice room but not what we had paid for.
We complained but were told Room 63 is a special junior suite and that we were just tired from travelling! The web site clearly describes the rooms and what to expect, We were obliged to pay for a substandard room because the staff insisted bellow pool level room was a superior junior suite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mabipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Mabipp,
I'm very sad to read your review because first ao all you describe the 63 like an ugly room when is one of the more required room being very bright, large and quiet and even more because we are not liars, on the website is written that the Special Junior Suites are the higher rooms (1 floor below the pool and above the pool), we are very clear and some times we prefer lose the reservations instead of not real descriptions.

We have 20 rooms and all are different, even between the same typology, so our usual guests book years in advance with the room number prefered and you didn't, in fact we tried to change the room with one above the pool but you asked only for a specific one that was already occupied for the same period of your stay.

I hope to welcome you again and satisfy with the room required.

Best Regards

Gianni Grandini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We traveled with four friends and had two suites at the Villa Brunella. Both suites had spectacular views and gorgeous, spacious rooms with charming decor and comfy furniture. The staff was gracious, warm, friendly, and responsive. We had a wonderful meals and wine in the beautiful restaurant -- again with spectacular views. We stayed here during the final week (early October) before the hotel closed for the season. Lounging at the pool, we were treated to poolside service and a complimentary bottle of house wine from the manager. We loved the stunning walk from the center of town to our little oasis, passing shops, restaurants, and other hotels. The walk was relaxing and not too far; we appreciated it for all of the beautiful places we passed along the way. We loved the hotel's advice to: 1) take a boat trip around the grottos, and 2) visit Ana Capri for additional shops and the spectacular sky ride (WOW!!!). The hotel staff handled everything for us -- e.g. booked our boat ride and train tickets to Rome, for our flight out. By the way, we could walk to the heart of Capri, where we found many famous designer boutiques -- the same kinds of high-end shops one would find in major metropolitan cities -- NYC or Rodeo drive or LA. But, the hotel also encouraged us to spend a day in nearby Ana Capri, where we found many more local shops with locally-made goods (like in Positano). Both Capri and Ana Capri are stunning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnpilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Mrs. dawnpilkington,

thank you so much for your so kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the different souls of Capri. Looking forward to have you soon again in Villa Brunella,

Sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Brunella. It is a beautiful location and the rooms are stellar. The front desk staff were pleasant and seemed to work hard to answer questions and be available. However, for the price we were paying, we expected a bit more. The breakfast is really shameful. A basket of breads is provided with coffee/tea. Eggs, yogert, juice, etc. are all extra. We stayed in numerous hotels throughout Italy on this trip and all of the them provided significantly more for breakfast, even the hotels that charged much less. One morning, I ordered eggs and they never came and no apology was given. There was a cavalier attitude from the wait staff. Be advised that the beach club owned by the hotel is about a 45 minute walk down the steps of the cliff. You can take the bus or a taxi back to the town center. Ask about reserving chairs at the club if you are there at a busy time. We arrived at around 11 am to the club and had to sit in lousy chairs despite being guests of the hotel. However, we did reserve chairs for the following days. As other reviews have indicated, the hotel is a good distance from the town center. It is very confusing when you arrive. Be sure to give all of your bags to the porter at the boat or you will be carrying them pretty far. The hotel is hard to find and directions supposedly given in correspondence are not clear. A map upon arrival at the port would have been helpful. There are many stairs in the hotel. Look for the elevators between a few floors. No one told us about them. In fact, we saw one family arrive and have to navigate 6 flights of stairs downward carrying children. The porter never recommended the elevator! On the positive side, we loved the activities in Capri, the boat ride around the island, the chair lift in Anacapri and the Lighthouse--all were fabulous. This hotel could be top notch with just a few adjustments to service and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karkeys16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Guest karkeys16,

your advices are precious for us, they will help us improving our services. We are pleased that you enjoyed the island and we hope you'll come back to Capri and Villa Brunella.

Kindest Regards
Massimo Ruggiero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews