We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect.....”
Review of Villa Brunella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Brunella
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect.....”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Like some reviewers before me, I feel I have a bit of a difficult task in writing this review, because 99% of our experience of this hotel was really positive and worthy of 5 stars. However the one major negative (breakfast, or lack thereof) we found impossible to overlook, which is why I've ended up giving 4.

So first, the positives. Our room was beautifully decorated with lovely classic furniture pieces. It was absolutely spotless, and the bathroom was also very spacious with separate bath and shower (although as I think another reviewer before me has noted, there was some electrical wiring sticking out of a spot the bathroom wall which was a little bit weird and should probably be fixed!) We also had a private balcony with generous glimpses of the water and mountains, fully equipped with table and chairs and two sun lounges. Housekeeping was twice a day, including a turn down service in the evening, and the room was always beautifully kept.

The owner was always around to say hello and was very attentive to our needs. The staff (especially in the restaurant) were also extremely friendly and we felt incredibly welcome. We had an amazing meal in the hotel's restaurant one night, which I will review separately - but in brief, the view from our table was spectacular, as was the food and the service.

The hotel also had a lovely pool, which it was unfortunately too cold to use while we were there.

Now, to the only thing that spoiled our stay: breakfast. It turns out that the included continental breakfast consists of a bread basket with rolls, plain croissants, and a couple of slices of Madeira cake, plus some spreads (honey, jam, Nutella etc) and a cup of tea of coffee. That's it. Actually, there is one more thing you can get for free if you ask for it, and that's a single-serve packet of Kellogs cornflakes or muesli, which is served to you in a bowl still in the packet (which doesn't exactly scream 'quality')...

Everything else is extra. For juice, be prepared to part with €4 - €5. For a plain omelette €7, or €9 for any additions such as ham or cheese. Yoghurt is €3. And fruit is a staggering €12. You get the picture. If you are not content eating nothing but refined carbohydrates and you want a normal hotel breakfast for 2 people, be prepared to fork out €20 or more on top of your room rate.

Now, if this was the norm, I wouldn't be complaining. But the truth is, I've stayed in 2 star hotels that have better included breakfast on offer. I mean, not even including a glass of juice?? For a 4-star hotel at which guests are paying upwards of €200 per night, this left a very sour taste in our mouths, if you'll pardon the pun, and kind of ruined the first few hours of our first day while we pondered the fact that the cost of providing a glass of juice and perhaps some sliced fruit or an egg for each guest would probably only be an extra couple of euros per head, but would surely be a worthwhile investment in order to keep up with the standards of other comparable hotels and to make guests feel like they weren't being taken advantage of (yes, we caved in on the second day and bought extra breakfast items, but we didn't feel happy about it).

Anyway, like I said, apart from the breakfast issue we really enjoyed our stay here, and I feel it's a genuine pity that we have anything to gripe about because everything else was so positive - if not for 'the big breakfast disappointment' it definitely would have been 5 stars from me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 16 October 2015
Dear PrincessF,
I thank you for your positive review and I promise we will seriously consider all your suggestions to improve our service.

Best Regards

Gianni Grandini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    57
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
236
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

While the property and rooms may not be the fanciest on the island, it is certainly nice enough. My wife and I came here after spending quite a bit throughout other parts of Italy. We noticed the great reviews and price and decided to cut back. I am personally glad we did. We spent a majority of our 3 days here outside and not in our room, which meant spending more on better decor would have been a waste. That said, we did enjoy our continental breakfast in the morning which gave us fuel to travel around and explore until we were ready for lunch.

Another amazing benefit to this hotel is its close proximity to the La Fontelina Beach Club (200 yards to the downward entrance, then a steep decline to get to the beach).

The restaurant on the property was also amazing and provided an amazing meal/ view.

We almost booked our stay at JK Place, and after stopping by to see it, It certainly was beautiful and amazing, but for the amount of touring we did on the island, spending the money here would have been wasted. If you're planning on staying put in the hotel, well then you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Morgan_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 16 October 2015
Dear C_Morgan,
I thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you soon again to earn the 5 star rating.

Regards

Gianni Grandini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a spectacular time. Vincenzo, who runs the place, is the most friendly man and has spent his whole life living in Capri. So he knows all the best spots to go (and how to get there without getting lost, which is key in Capri!) and is happy to share his tips.

The restaurant on the top floor is one of the best on the island. Try the chocolate cake. Trust me. We even ordered it to our room one night -- that's right, the top restaurant on the island becomes your room service. This is key, since on the island there otherwise isn't any such thing as food delivery.

We're looking forward to going back to the Villa Brunella on our next trip to Capri!

Room Tip: Stay below the pool level if you want the balcony to feel more private, with just an ocean view. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feldmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 5 September 2015
Dear feldmania,
Thank you very much to spent you time to reviewing our Hotel and hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards

Gianni Grandini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It's been a few years since we stayed at Villa Brunella but the memory lingers on. The owner is a wonderful man, the rooms are immaculate, the view from our room (and the entire hotel) breathtaking and the location extraordinarily convenient. Given the cost of accommodations in what is arguably the most exquisite island in the world (where at least one Roman emperor hung out for vacation) Villa Brunella is a bonafide bargain. Just minutes away by foot from the Piazetta and everywhere else you want to be in this exquisite gem of an island.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a great view but the ones with terraces are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairzydoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Dear Guest mairzydoats,

we are delighted that you value the work of our family and the beauties of Capri. We'll do our best to continue improving our services, and we would be very glad to have you again in Villa Brunella.

Kindest Regards
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was one of those rare moments to keep in the lifetime memory. The moment when all senses ‘join in hands’ and touch the deepest strings of your soul. The feeling of the most perfect harmony – during the dinner in the Terrazza Brunella.
Placed on the cliff edge it opens the star shining view over the sea and around the cliffs. This magnificient sight takes breath away and makes your heart beat in double fastening every time you make even a second length glance over the island.
Make sure you make reservation of your table near to the window with the view to the sea and island, and you will complete your romatic moment in Terrazza Brunella.
We enjoyed the dinner there, but I am absolutelly sure that unforgetable star light show of the sea and island of Capri we saw in the evening, the day light change with the same fairy wonder giving more light to see bay of Marina Piccola, little houses of Capri, flourishing trees, sunshining Tyrrhenian sea water, cliffs....
Impeccable service with the personal attitude and divine food we experienced gave the feeling of belonging to that place and that moment. Excellent different cooked fish, raviolli, clams.... Our taste buds exulted from delight what gave each mouthful of the wonderful meal we enjoyed.
The emotions were intensified by the gentle, soft and sensual music, which keeped the mind and body relaxed and gave to this place more intimate and special charm.
There you can see and feel all those emotional pleasures what we say makes beautiness and a moment alive – a warmth, inspiring radiance, aureole, a secret, the feeling of belonging and the feeling to forget that time exists.
The food gives unbelievable pleasure to each taste bud of yours, the music makes your mind float away leting there only exact moment, the smells of the food, flourishing island and light breeze of the sea gives desire for deeper breaths, the breathtaking views makes your eyes believe that such a untouched natural beautiness still exists and the hand touches of your beloved one makes this moment complete!
A special thanks to the owner Luigi that made us feel like at home , caring about us from the start to the end of dinner
WE SEND HIM A SEA OF LOVE
Recomending for everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmbtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Dear Guest tmbtp,

we cannot find the words to express our feeling in reading your so kind and moving review. The only way to thank you is to do our best to let you live the same experience during your future stay in Villa Brunella. Luigi thanks you and greets you warmly, and looks forward to welcome you again in the Restaurant Terrazza Brunella.

Warm wishes
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Back in September, my wife and I stayed on the island of Capri for 4 nights at Villa Brunella. It was a lovely place and our room was great! Gianni and the staff were extremely friendly and treated us well. Our room was clean and had a great view...
We never wound up using the pool, but it looked great and was a refreshing temperature.
The location of the hotel was ideal - not too far from the restaurants and the shopping but far enough away that it was very quiet at night and was a pretty walk down Via Tragara.
I'd definitely recommend this place; it's got a lot of pluses and no significant minuses.

Room Tip: Our room was located in the middle of the hotel - beneath the restaurant and above the pool! Very mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuddy913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Dear Mr. TravelBud,

we are very pleased that you have a so nice memory of your staying in Villa Brunella. Looking forward to see you soon again,

kindest regards
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The view from this hotel is second to none & the location is excellent even with a 10 minute walk to the center of Capri. We had a junior suite (#60) with a great view and close to the pool. Lots of stairs up to the street. The room was musty and there was even a touch of mold on the wall which seemed odd for such a nice hotel. Mattresses are firmer than most in Italy so be prepared.
We would go back any time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchconnections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Dear Guest Frenchconnections,

thank you for sharing your experience. We are really sorry that we missed something like that, and your review will surely help us avoiding this in the future. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you again in Villa Brunella,

Your sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 41 in Capri
778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Brunella

Property: Villa Brunella
Address: Via Tragara 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#8 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#15 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Brunella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful residential street - Via Tragara - which runs up to the Faraglioni that's where you'll find the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant, Terrazza Brunella, an unbeatable combination of elegant decor, polished service and the warm welcome only a family-owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Villa Brunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Brunella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing