We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel- Stay nowhere else”
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is a excellent! I had high expectations given the reviews, but it surpassed them!

Pros:
Great views
Close to the centre, but far enough to keep the summer crowds away
Excellent blind that makes the room 100% dark (great for sleeping
Turn down service goes that little extra mile with a cute flower and candle
Service of staff is fantastic-all are genuinely happy to help and support in any way possible
Breakfast is service on a beautiful terrace with stunning view
Late breakfast times until 11:00
Happy to service you breakfast in the room free of charge
Flexible on check out times

Overall a flexible, peresonalised service, that is very homely better than the 5* we visited in Capri

I can't think of any negatives!

Room Tip: We had a room with a terrace, lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I meant to do this back in August after we got back from Honeymoon but struggled to put in words what an utterly perfect location to go on honeymoon. So here I am a few months later feeling guilty that i haven't added to the ever growing list of those lucky guests that have stayed so far.
Everything about this hotel is geared around your stay - we were met at the harbor, our bags taken by the hotel porter and then as we had arrived early we had lunch on the seafront - that 1st beer tasted so good..

Everyone at the hotel made sure that we were treated like royalty, often recommending places to visit and places to have dinner ensuring that we had a great table.

The island is great fun - lots to do - if you love shopping you will be in heaven, taken a boat around the island, swimming and watching the sunset on our last night was truly magical.

If you have any hesitations about going - don't - you will have a perfect relaxing escape we all need in today hectic life.

Room Tip: room 11 is great - top floor with fab view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was an amazing place. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer. Everyone who works here is extremely interested in ensuring that guests have a great trip. Every restaurant they booked for us was great (we always had the best tables) and the boat tour was amazing. The breakfasts were also wonderful as was the service Kamal provides (he is a gem). The only suggestion we would make would be to perhaps heat the pool a degree or two. We were there in September and it was very warm out but the pool was very cool (we still went for quick swim to cool off, though). All in all, we loved Capri and La Minerva....we will be back.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view...they are all great. We found the balconies to be private and were one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days having stayed at two 5 star hotels in Capri on the same trip and the welcome and service was unparalleled. Great local recommendations for lunch and dinner and a fantastic pool. The slight downside is the lack of privacy on the terraces depending on your room category

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M84UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Amazing! Everything in this hotel is beautiful and so romantic. Breakfast was wonderful, great amenities, 5 star service. I recommend this hotel to couples as it definitely caters to that vibe. Definitely ask for recommendations while in Capri- staff is very knowledgable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank clynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at this gorgeous hotel for three nights during Sept 13 and could not recommend it highly enough. Family owner/managers Antonino and Luigi and all of their wonderful staff make it the perfect place from which to sample the delights of this beautiful island. Views from the rooms are idyllic, breakfast on the roof terrace is breathtaking and even a light lunch by the pool feels sybaritic. We took a boat trip around the island as recommended by Antonino and our captain Luca was charming and a mine of local information. Heads up to newbies though - avoid the Blue Grotto, a very unpleasant way to throw away 25 Euros as it is noisy and claustrophobic inside that small place with all the other tourist boats barging against yours and those steering them yelling to each other. Horrible experience. On the plus side, some heavenly coastal walks, great restaurants and lovely bathing clubs. Capri is a little slice of heaven on earth and we definitely plan to go back. Thanks Antonino!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartlettfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the La Minerva for three nights in September. Antonino, his brother and their family have owned this hotel for three generations. They not only own it, they are there every day...at the front desk. They are wonderful and have a great touch. The hotel is beautiful...all white with the rooms done in various ceramic tiles. The common areas are stunning with beautiful views. We had a Superior Room one floor below the reception level. Wonderful view with a terrace large enough for two to relax comfortably. The Deluxe Rooms are larger, but on lower floors with less view. The service could not possibly be any better or more friendly. Marco, the genius bartender/mixologist/chef (and Elvis Costello look-alike) was great fun...mixed the best drinks around and made us an impromptu late lunch/early dinner after we got back too late for a restaurant meal. One of the best dishes of pasta we had in a month of traveling.

There are larger hotels on Capri. There are hotels where you can stay to be seen. There are no hotels where you will be so coddled in such a beautiful place with such grace and service. The La Minerva is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms have slightly smaller terraces (more than large enough) than the Deluxe Rooms, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 40 in Capri
843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 40 in Capri
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: £151 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing