We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy resort stay yet you feel at home”
Review of La Minerva

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cozy resort stay yet you feel at home”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

When I first stepped in to La Minerva, I was attracted to the white and blue mosaic tiles which created the feeling of warmest and relaxing .
It's has been there for few generations and now is managed by three brothers. Their service were impeccable , from sending reminding emails prior to the trip to arranging the staff to receive us when we just step out from Capri port. It gave us a safer and reliable feeling. And also provide us a list of good restaurant in Capri , which enlighten our journey .
The location was good, main tourist spots and be easily access by foot.
Our room is nice, spacious and cozy , very clean ,and with a balcony facing beautiful green view.
The roof top breakfast place was unforgettable , spectacular view and the range of food was quality and sumptuous. I had the egg Benedict which the chef made it perfectly
I have no doubt to say that my next Capri holiday will be staying at this hotel again .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvonneNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
701
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just completed our third visit to La Minerva and remain amazed with the quality experience we have had on each visit. The three brothers, Antonino, Luigi, and Marco, have created an environment on the beautiful Isle of Capri that is "perfect". La Minerva offers their guests beautiful rooms, phenomenal service, a warm, welcoming environment, and beautiful views of the sea. A highlight each morning was the breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the sea. The food was delicious and we found Kamal to be a delight. He treats each guest like they are the only person in the hotel. You return each evening to a freshened room, flowers and candles. What else could you ask for???

Thank you Luigi, Antonino, and Marco, you made our visit to Capri, once again, a wonderful experience. Hope to see you soon. Have a great summer!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpr1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There is simply no place to stay on Capri other than La Minerva. The reviews speak for themselves. The service is better than the best hotels in the world. The accommodations are luxurious, but understated. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully appointed. The location is perfect -- close to everything, but on an incredibly quiet and bucolic perch with magnificent views of the Mediterranean from every room and public space. One can't help but feel totally relaxed in this small, perfect hotel. Luigi, Antonino and Marco and their incredible team take enormous (and justifiable) pride in their exceptional hospitality and every guest experiences that hospitality from the moment they arrive. To stay at La Minerva is to experience Capri in a totally authentic and indulgent way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Starting from the booking until being helped aboard the ship to Naples when leaving Capri this was a fantastic experience of peckless service of the highest level with that personal touch to it that made it perfect!
Position of the hotel is excellent - very close to the center of Capri but out of the hustle and bustle of the day tourism in a quiet area surrounded by trees and vegetatin. Hotel has 18 rooms only which grants a very personal experience.
Booking was personal and friendly. Before arrival all information we needed for getting to Capri was sent. Porter was waiting at the port in order to get our luggage and help us to the funicular. Reception was very friendly and professional. Common areas are furnished in modern elegant style with light mediterranean colours and in prime conditions. First room given was changed immediately on our request. Room size is good, large personal terrace leads to a wonderful view over the sea. Bathroom is fine. Rooms are perfectly maintained and are being kept pecklessly clean and in order throughout your stay. Flowers and candles for turndown service every night. Room service is quick, perfect and friendly, so is the service throughout the hotel. Very personal friendly and professional help is available for all your needs - be it drinks, suggestions for activities, restaurants+reservations, tickets etc.
Breakfast is an experience of its own on the roof terrace which overlooks the island and grants you a stunning panorama over the sea while you are being helped to a fantastic breakfast. Pool area is pretty and private. Massage in wellness centre was perfect.
All in all, the owners and staff are doing everything to make your stay an unforgettable experience. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Correspondent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Minerva for four nights earlier this month. Everything about the hotel was first class. The rooms the staff the service all excellent. The only hard part of writing this raving review is that more people will want to stay there thereby making my ability to rebook next year that much harder. Our thanks go out to luigi Antonio and Marco for their excellent stewardship of this gem of a property. Also our sincere thanks to kamal and maraino and Marco for their attentive service. Thanks again. Tony and Lynn syracuse ny.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigeloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have traveled the world a lot and have been to many luxury hotels but never had the "turn down" service that this wonderful hotel provided... coming back after dinner to a totally cleaned up room, soft lighting , fresh flowers and romantic music on one of the most romantic islands in the world... what more can I say!
the breakfasts and the personal service add up to make this deservedly a five star excellent rating... well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Maybe it's because previously we were in one of the best Guest Houses of Positano (were there's only 6 rooms available) which make us to feel comfortable with a very personal stay and very well decorated. Or maybe it's because La Minerva doesn't has this kind of 'personal service' were they look everything for your comfort.

Don't misunderstood, it's a very beautiful hotel, with an amazing view (please get a superior room with a view), with good food and very comfortable. Everything is very clean and the breakfast is very good. It's just because it isn't personal that I didn't give it 5 stars.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gustavo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
#4 Best Value Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing