We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Time - Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
scottsdale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our First Time - Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a gem. Going back to Capri I would never stay anywhere else. The brothers and their staff are absolutely first class. Room was terrific. Lovely pool right down from our room. Our thanks to all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    42
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
680
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have stayed at La Minerva 5 times since first coming in 2005. It gets better each time! It is a beautiful hotel with 18 rooms, and you get endless personal attention from the staff-owned by brothers Luigi and Antonino, with Mariano, brother Marco and Kamal at breakfast and (a different) Marco at the bar. The rooms are lovely and our terrace had a fantastic view of the water. The breakfast room overlooks the pool and has a lovely view of Capri. At breakfast, there is a wonderful selection and one can have eggs, pancakes etc. from the kitchen but the specialty is homemade Torte Caprese...flourless chocolate cake. I cannot wait to come back to La Minerva Capri!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonovox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon and thought the hotel was beautiful! It's very tastefully decorated and allows the view to take center stage. Our room was a Deluxe Room, #41, which is a corner room with more privacy and a huge terrace. It was incredibly relaxing to spend time out there reading and enjoying the views. There was a walk-in closet, great for tucking away our suitcases, and a jacuzzi tub with a large window overlooking the terrace. However, a few times we had trouble getting hot water--it was only lukewarm. Maybe it depends on the time of day and how many people are using the hot water heater?

Otherwise our stay was great. The hotel is situated a short walk away from the main shopping area in a quiet, calm area. We had great views, easy access to the pool and free breakfast daily on the hotel's rooftop terrace. The breakfast spread was fantastic, with lots of options for a hot meal like eggs, crepes and pancakes. The brothers who run the hotel were very helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. They made restaurant reservations for us and pointed out some of their favorite spots on the island. They also surprised us with light treats and a bottle of prosecco to celebrate our honeymoon. Every evening, we came back to a room lit with candles and a fresh flower, with music playing on the TV.

We enjoyed our stay and can see why it ranks so high on Trip Advisor. If you're considering staying here, book your room early and make sure you splurge on one with a view!

Room Tip: Room 41 (Deluxe Room) is a corner room with more privacy and beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magedit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We ( Married 20 years this year ) had extremely high expectations coming to La Minerva ,not only from all the excellent reviews but from some other folks that had enjoyed their holidays here. The moment we were met by Giovanni at the Marina Grande ( he also guided us on departure with luggage etc .thanks Giovanni. ) and then shown to our room ,which was a superior room 31, just perfect ! we stepped out onto the terrace and just took a deep breath of the absolute beauty of every detail , the view, the stunning room and terrace, the attention to detail of all the brothers to getting to that moment standing on the terrace ,we then knew were going to have a special week in Capri at La Minerva and we did .Lovely breakfasts served on roof terrace with amazing views, simple but stunning lunches by the quiet pool ,lovely cocktails, recommendations for dinner and places to visit .All areas of the hotel are immaculate and décor is stunning. on and on I could repeat what everyone else has commented on . .Could possibly be the best week of my life !! Sounds very silly to say that but what else can be added to all the other amazing reviews of this place .All the folks that have been here before and rave about this hotel . You are so correct ...and I am struggling to find any new ways of describing our experience ! The brothers and staff with Marco and Kamal (others I cant remember their names ,sorry) along with the amazing house keeping team take level of service to clients to a completely different level ,not in a over cosseting sort of way ,again just the appropriate sort of attention to detail to make things just right .We loved exploring around the Island, lots of great walks and plenty to see. So if you want to come to a special place with a special person and have the most special holiday then it has to be La Minerva .. Thanks you so much all the team for making our visit to you so perfect .

Room Tip: Our superior room (31) was perfect .I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srrayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at La Minerva for four nights in May. I booked it as the reviews were so good on trip advisor. They did not disappoint. The hotel is lovely very central for Capri town yet not noisy. Views were beautiful. Breakfast overlooking sea was lovely with fresh juice, baked pastries and cold meat/ cheeses. Our room was cleaned twice a day but we were never disturbed when we were in the room . They have got the level of service just right, there for you when you need something but not over the top. One day we got caught in a thunderstorm and arrived back at hotel drenched, hot drinks were sent to our room to warm us up, such nice little touches that made our stay perfect. The only problem was the weather, we shall return when the weather is better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bath_EnglandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been trying to think how I could possibly vocalize how perfect this hotel is ever since I left, and I am not sure I can find enough words besides class act as others have mentioned. To start La Minerva has been beautifully decorated. The rooms are both fun and reminiscent of what you'd expect from La Dolce Vita. Whoever has made the decor decisions has done a wonderful job, because it was beautiful and contemporary without being trendy. The location couldn't be better because you are half way from the island's popular beaches and half way to town. It's location also keeps you far enough away from the crazy crowds that flooded the streets of Capri when the tours came through during the day. The personal touches that this hotel does for its guests are what really sets it apart from anywhere else I have ever stayed. When we checked in we received two mixed drinks delivered to our room by the amazing bartender along with a platter of sweets. Every night when we returned home there was a fresh flower in our room along with lit candles and music playing. They leave a brochure every night of the next days weather and finish it off with local recipes. Free bottles of water in the room were also greatly appreciated. The breakfast spread is absolutely delicious and they offer both wonderful eggs and crepes on top of the standard breakfast fare. At 6:00 they offer a cocktail hour and you must include it in part of your night. The best bartender that really has a craft at mixing cocktails, who goes out of his way to make a special appetizer to serve each night with the drink. Lastly, I can not say enough wonderful things about the brothers that run the hotel and their staff. They bent over backwards to make our stay on Capri wonderful, we truly didn't have to think of one thing because they helped us set up every reservation, tour, and dinner. Their suggestions were always spot on and our stay on Capri was unforgettable because of them. I am not surprised this is the number one ranked hotel on Capri, because I have never been any place like it and would never go anywhere else upon returning to Capri. If you have the opportunity to stay at this wonderful place, book it immediately- it will be an unparalleled stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoChica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights at La Minerva at the beginning of our Italian tour and it was the perfect start to a great holiday.
The hotel itself is beautiful, a traditional building with modern, fresh decor. Our room was very spacious with a wonderful terrace furnished with very comfortable sunloungers. The view was amazing both from our room and from the fantastic breakfast terrace. Lunch by the pool was simple but perfect under a jasmine covered canopy.
All the staff were friendly and efficient and very informative.
We had a wonderful stay and fully intend to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 59travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing