We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland N Z
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 3 July 2005

We recently spent 5 happy days and nights in Capri and the La Minerva was a wonderful place to stay. The location is a charming five minute walk from the main piazza and very quiet and attractive. There are many other nearby little lanes you can walk along for an evening stroll. Our room on the lower floor was spotless, prettily decorated and well appointed with a lovely terrace that overlooked a peep of the sea and trees and flowers. The lobby is beautifully cool and nicely furnished. Luigi at the front desk is a gem, efficiently answering any question, pointing us in the right direction for meals and activities and of course has wonderful English. As a mid priced hotel in Capri you couldn't do better.

Helpful?
4 Thank Mary-53-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
105
707
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2005

We just got back from a two week trip to Rome, the Amalfi Coast and Capri/Ischia. I can safely say that the Hotel La Minerva was the best hotel by far. Granted, it was also the most expensive hotel, but the money was well worth it and by Capri-standards it was a bargain.

As you have undoubtedly read in other reviews, the hotel is located just off the main shopping street, a 5-7 minute walk from the Piazzetta. The road is downhill so going back up will take more time and effort, but it is certainly not a problem.

When you first arrive at the hotel, you may think "is this what I am paying for?" but first appearences are deceiving. The lobby is large and bright and fairly empty. There is a modern and efficient lift which swooshes you down (that's right, the hotel is built on a hill and the rooms are located below the lobby) to the room.

Our room was large, airy and was obviously recently refurbished in a very tasteful manner. The bathroom was a joy to behold with excellent plumbing, great water pressure, a huge mirror and two sinks. That it was fully tiled goes without saying. The main room featured a huge comfortable bed, plenty of closet space (with a fitted, free electronic safe, thank you very much), a TV with Sky Digital and an AC unit. Behind an electrically controlled shutter, a sliding glass panorama door led out to a balcony with great views of the north bay of Amalfi town (Marina Piccolo).

Breakfast can be had on either the top terrace, indoors in case it is raining or on your own balcony. (I don't know why you'd ever opt for anything other than to have it served on your balcony. It is not a buffet in any case so you are not missing out on anything by having it in your room, but eating breakfast on your own balcony on Capri is so choice - if you have the means, I highly recommend it.) The breakfast itself was fairly small by Italian standards: freshly squeezed orange juice, tea/coffee (not always steaming hot), yoghurt (avoid the coconut flavored ones), a couple of rolls, a few jars of jam and marmelade, and a dessert which varies daily. It is all very well presented on bone china and served on a white linen tablecloth. Ah!

The front desk staff is very helpful and will give you ideas of what to do and when in case you left your guidebook at home. Among other things, they let you know what shortcuts you can take. For example, to get to the Arco Naturale, always take the road that leads uphill from the hotel, at every junction, all the way there. Cute.

All-in-all I highly recommend the Hotel La Minerva. You can live the Capri life (it really is so much better in the evenings once the tour groups leave) and still not pay an absolute fortune. After doing Rome and the Amalfi Coast in 10 days, relaxing at La Minerva was a blessing for both of us!

PS Avoid the old negative reviews of this hotel. Either the hotel has undergone a makeover or the reviewer didn't know what he was talking about. DS

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jarborra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2005

We stayed 5 nights in a superior double (room 21). I would just echo what everyone has already said about this hotel - exceptional view, beautiful decor, spacious bathrooms, breakfast on the terrace. Luigi is fantastic, and his english is superb (he spent a year in NYC). When he found out where we were eating our first night, he called ahead and had them bring us champagne. All of his recommendations were spot on.
Just a word about the area this hotel is in. The pluses are that it is just off Via Camarelle which is the premier shopping area of the island. It is not on the main drag, which is a plus as during the summer it is full of people and noisy. The minus of this area is that it does occasionally have a pungent, sewer-esque smell. This is not unique to La Minerva, but seems to be more noticible on this part of the island.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacks121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 June 2005

We stayed at La Minerva for 4 nights in late May 2005 and it was perfect. We had a deluxe room which had an enormous bathroom with jacuzzi bath, double sinks and robes. There was also a walk in closet which was ample in size and had a safe, rails, drawers and a big mirror with enough space in front of it to actually be able to see yourself in it (something sadly lacking in alot of European hotels!) But the real treat it the beautiful large bedroom which is painted a cool white with a blue patterned tiled floor leading to the terrace which is sunny and sea facing and partially covered by a cane roof to provide some shade. I felt very pampered and relaxed here. The hotel has no pool but does have access to a lovely pool next door with sun lounger, bar and sea view. We hired the hotel boat one day for a jaunt round the island which I would throughoughly recommend you do. We were able to stop and swim and have a picnic and see island from the sea.

The hotel is immaculate and kept very clean by unobtrusive cleaning staff. Luigi the owner is polite and friendly and could not have done any more to help us. The fact that the minibar is very reasonably priced speaks for itself in that the owner wants you to enjoy your stay rather than trying to extract as much money as possible from you as most hotels seem to. Breakfast each morning on the terrace was unforgettable and I shall definitely be returning to this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 June 2005

Where do I start? Everything I had read on TRIPADVISOR and more. Immaculate, beautiful decor and furnishings including a queen size bed co-ordinated bedding and sofa, jacuzzi bath, his and hers vanity basins. robes, slippers, airconditioning and remote controlled black out blinds - the heightof elegant and sophisticated luxury! Freshly squeezed orange, pastries, rolls,marmalade, yoghurt, cappucino, served on large terrace (complete with sunbeds -detachable pads stored in walk- in closet) at a time of your choice.

Wonderful staff, so interested in making your stay perfect,they almost read your mind, suggeting a beautiful walk before dinner. Also helped with booking restaurants if you wished.
Exellent sense of humour, even in English!

Thr view of the sea through the trees - BLISS- Capri is idyllic, La Minerva is the icing on the cake. We felt so spoilt - maid service twice a day!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2005

We took the advice of Tripadvisor and booked at the Hotel La Minerva for three days which we extended to four. The stay was delightful in all respects. The room we had, number 43, was aesthetically appointed, functional, clean and with a huge terrace overlooking the sea. The service was exceptionally cheerful, helpful and professional. The breakfest was served either in the room or on a lovely terrace. The food was prepared to order and served with distinctive class. The beauty of the hotel is energized and constructed by Luigi Esposito the owner/manager. His vision is to create an environment that is designed to spoil the client and set hotel standards that are difficult to duplicate elsewhere. He has succeeded royally! What has surprised us is that none of the travel books mention the hotel and the La Minerva is in some respects a well kept secret. The problem for us is that it may become so popular that booking will be difficult. The only solution is for Luigi to take over the entire block and duplicate his vision over and over again!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, MN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2005

We loved this hotel! We booked a superior room for two nights and it was lovely. Both the bathroom and bedroom were very large and we had a nice private patio that was great for sunbathing on and eating breakfast at. They offer breakfast on your private patio and we highly recommend doing so.

The nicest surprise for me (being a woman with a lot of makeup and toiletry items) was just how much counter space there was in the bathroom. We travel to Europe often and I have never encountered a hotel that had that much vanity space. It may seem like a small thing, but I am sure there are a lot of other women out there that can get frustrated when there is no space to get ready.

The staff was extremely helpful about where to eat and what to see. All of their suggestions were top notch.

I wouldn't even think twice about going to this hotel again. We thought it was the "best bang for our buck" on our whole two-week trip. Great ambiance, great location, and great staff!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkirschbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
#4 Best Value Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing