We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and a beautiful view”
Review of Casa Morgano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Morgano
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My three children, wife and I spent two lovely weeks in Italy (Venice, Florence, Naples, Capri and Rome), and the visit to Capri provided a welcomed chance to relax and take in all the beauty that this island has to offer. Casa Morgano was recommended to us by a friend who has been visiting the island on an annual basis for 14 years, so we trusted his insight and were not disappointed. The hotel property is nestled on the side of a hill giving a spectacular southern and western exposure (providing a view of very pretty sunsets over the mountain separating Capri from Anacapri). The staff went out of their way to promptly provide whatever service you required. Our room was bright, spacious and had a simple, but tasteful, Mediterranean decor. The view of the water and mountain from our balcony was magnificent,but our children's room had a view of the top of a hotel located below us. The breakfast choices were varied enough to satisfy everyone in our family, and the lunches were superb. We had dinners at wonderful restaurants around the town square, which is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel. Also, you can stroll along quiet (no cars allowed in this area), flower-lined lanes that lead to lookouts towering over the jade coloured water dotted with sailboats.
You can get to the island by ferries leaving the ports of Napoli or Salerno. Napoli is a bit seedy, but is fine for just an overnight stay. Otherwise, I would recommend departure from the port of Salerno for extended visits along the coast.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank no1MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Casa Morgano and we couldn't have asked for better or more attentive service from the staff. Luigi and Domingo were particularly helpful with everything from transport, booking tables at restaurants (including great recommendations) or things to see on the island. The hotel was in a great location and our room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast is good but the lunches were the real highlight. Crab with homemade pasta was just delicious and we loved how the menu was whatever was fresh that day. The gym and the choice of two pools is great although even the heated one was a bit cold but we did go early season. This is a wonderful, intimate boutique 5 star, not a generic 5 star big flashy hotel so set your expectations accordingly. We would definitely stay at Casa Morgano again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A last minute decision to stay over in Capri and this hotel was the best choice.Large room with bathrobe,slippers,many toiletries,wonderful shower, large balcony,pristine pool area,great breakfast selection, spotless room and grounds. Salvatore keeps the flowers picture perfect. The desk staff was the friendliest, helpful, most courteous people we met in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

You won't be disappointed by Casa Morgano. We got an upgrade as we arrived. The hotel is great, clean and has a beautiful view of the sea. The concierge can help you with reservations, private boat trips and they take your bags to the pier, so you don't need to go through the hassle of carrying. Breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This five star hotel deserves a 5 star rating. The view of the sea is exceptional. The rooms very nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The location excellent close to the center of the island. My only criticism is the breakfast. It should be improved and when part of things have been taken, it should be fast refilled and not left as empty plates!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guy20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is an excellent boutique 5 star hotel a 5 minute walk from the main square in Capri. Our room had a magnificent ocean view and service here was warm , genuinely friendly and timely.

The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was made Ala Carte for us.

To get to the hotel when you first arrive at Capri take the funicular up for 1.80 euro to the main square. Don't do as we did and get ripped off by a cabbie to the tune of 20 euros.

From the square head to the Quisinana hotel and follow around for a short 5 minute walk and you are there.

I think Capri seems livelier than Ana Capri and would stay on this side.

We went in off peak season so not many restaurants open . We at at Capri's restaurant around the main square with views over the harbour(avoid it was horrible. See my review for details).

This is a really great hotel. You will enjoy it should you stay there. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Punchclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The staff here makes all the difference. Even in the high season, the concierge was able to secure us the best tables, make great recommendations and we enjoyed the new discoveries.

The rooms are nice, spare and have nice electronic awning and shades. The dividers between the balconies do not go all the way to the end, and the large potted plants that fill in the spaces need to grow out some more before creating total privacy.

There is a generous basked of toiletries in the large bathrooms.

The pool area is shaded and small, but not unusual for a hotel located on a cliff. Very similar to what you might find at a hotel in Santorini.

Room Tip: try getting a room on one of the corners to increase balcony privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenCampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#25 of 40 in Capri
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Punta Tragara
Punta Tragara
#21 of 40 in Capri
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Grand Hotel Quisisana
#10 of 40 in Capri
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morgano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morgano

Address: Via Tragara 6, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#18 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#21 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: £220 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Morgano 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Morgano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morgano Capri
Casa Morgano Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing