We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful spot above the Port”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Relais Maresca
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A peaceful spot above the Port”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This special place is a perfect spot especially during the busy summer season on Capri. When I first arrived, I was a bit concerned to find how close Relais Marcesa is to the busy Grand Port where all ferries arrive. However, I soon realized how brilliant its location is and how peaceful an experience awaits inside of its doors. This location allows you to easily catch boats in the morning for trips around the island; the funicular to Capri is just down the steps and the bus to Annacapri is right out the door. All transportation options for seeing the island are right there. Our lovely room facing the port gave us a wonderful view of all of the boating activity ~ watching Capri wake up is fascinating ~ with none of the stress or noise. The restaurant on the top of the hotel is a perfect spot to have a panoramic view of the port in lovely tranquility ~ the food is great and Domenico D'Angostino, the Manager, is a gracious host. I highly recommend this historic hotel.

Room Tip: High balcony room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Mr. Lynn M,
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the nice words had for our Hotel.. It is very gratifying to learn that your stay at the Relais Maresca was enjoyable. With best wishes to seeing you to spend other beautiful days, for the coming visit to Capri, I greet you cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    254
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
158
453
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in Capri for one night and decided to stay at the Hotel Relais. The staff at the front desk were helpful and provided useful recommendations. The only disappointment in the staff was their inability to allow us to have a later checkout; their only option was to allow us to leave our personal belongings in their lounge.

My reasoning for not returning to this location would be the room. My girlfriend and I were supposed to have two twins together and they were not. The staff member even commented on it when he brought our bags to the room, but failed to do anything about it. Also, the bathroom wall was riddled with ants, which did not give an overall impression of cleanliness.

For the price of the room I expected better accommodations. Staff was still accommodating, but if I were to return to Capri I would find other lodgings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior7091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Junior7091,
We are pleased to learn that your stay here at the hotel Relais Maresca has been reasonably satisfactory.we are sorry instead to know of the problems found with your room.
For late checkout usually if there are no arrivals in the room we offer free to our guests, but unfortunately when we have customers arriving we can not afford to penalize them and not rent a room at the appointed hour.
For twin beds if we do not receive a specific request may happen to have in the room a double bed that absolutely can not be divided and this what appened with you.
For ants and cleaning in the room I already warned the housekeeper to pay more attention and care.
I hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect as it is situated at the Marina Grande where the ferries come in. It's also right next to the funicular which brings you up to the centre. It's a 30 min walk, if you rather go on foot. The room however was disappointing and we expected more since we payed a fair amount. The room decoration was bare and could use a make-over and a little maintenance couldn't hurt. The bathroom was OK but the shower was disappointing and could use a new showerhead. The terrace outside was beautiful with a great view. Breakfast was OK but could be better with a bit more variation.
So a disappointing experience since it was an expensive room, but I guess the hotel is trying to make it up with its favourable location. Room could definitely use a good make-over and attention to detail. Got a mail from the manager of the hotel and when stating the above, he replied they would use the comment to improve the quality of stay... I wonder...
We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Mrs.Rsegers,
With a great sorrow we learn from your words, the negative results of your stay at Relais Maresca. I have checked personally the problems and solved with the decor and the shower of your room.
Normally we are very attentive to our customers and offer them the utmost care, and I can surely tell you that will watch over because that does not happen.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Relais Maresca July 12th-14th (a weekend). We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean, the rooftop restaurant inviting and staff exceptional. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We had a comfortable 3-person bedroom overlooking the Grande Marina. The location couldn't have been better for accessibility to the Ferry service, local shops, bus to Anacapri and tram to Capri. Not having to take an island taxi everywhere was a real plus. We were right across from the beach. Even though our room was on a street, we found it very quiet. We all enjoyed the breakfast--nice to sip and enjoy a cup of morning coffee overlooking the beautiful waterfront. After looking around the island, we were all the more convinced we chose the right hotel in the right location--an exceptional value. The reviews we read to help us make our selection were true--this was a great place to enjoy a weekend on Capri.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Kevin K,
we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure and our Staff. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a very comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great value if you choose to stay in Marina Grande, Capri, close to the sea and much more reasonably priced than up above. The views are spectacular, it is clean and with a nice rooftop breakfast. Service left a bit to be desired though as it seemed they weren't interested in going out of their way to be helpful. Still, for quiet location and value I would definitely stay again. Very close to funicular and taxis to take you to exquisite dining and shopping above.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are pleased to learn that your stay here at the hotel Relais Maresca has been satisfactory.
we are sorry instead to know of the problems found with our Service left a bit to be desired.
Normally we are very attentive to our customers and offer them the utmost care, and I can surely tell you that will watch over because that does not happen..Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lido di Venezia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

1) Best location: 50mt from habour (for maritime links, rent boat, and visiting the island)
40mt from cable railway (to reach the center of Capri)
40mt from taxi/pullman station
50mt from beaches
spectacular view
2) Structure & Services: Modern and characteristic structure. Very efficient services. Staff always ready for you h24
3) Cleaning: Careful and scrupulous
4) Cooking: excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaCappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signor Cappiello,
La ringrazio a nome di tutto lo Staff per le belle parole spese.
Ciò ci da forza a migliorarci sempre di più per soddisfare i nostri clienti e farli sentire a come se fossero a casa loro.
La aspettiamo per il suo prossimo soggiorno e con piacere le rinnoviamo i nostri saluti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The staff were absolutely amazing. They went above and beyond expectations to ensure that our stay was fantastic. I would especially like to thank Domenico at the front desk. He was extremely knowledgeable, helped us book the most wonderful private boat tour of Capri, and even went out of his way to give us the best room he could! I literally can not think of one thing that I would ask them to change.

The hotel is located in the main port. You don't need a taxi and you don't need to take the obnoxious funicular cable car to the top of Capri. My advice would be to take the boat from Sorrento (20 min boat ride). If you are coming from Salerno, get ready for a two hour boat ride. Drive to Sorrento and drive all the way down to the bottom and do the valet service (25 euros). Otherwise, prepare to stress yourself out trying to find parking; you will not find anything for under 15 Euros and knowing the peace of mind that you get that your car is safe and valet"ed" is well worth the extra 10 euros.

My recommendations:
-They have Happy Hour at the hotel everyday; seeing as they have the nicest view of the harbor from their terrace, I would highly recommend going to this. Their chef Mario is QUITE THE CHARACTER. He has a very good level of English and is very knowledgeable about not only the island, but of all things Italy (and US for that matter!). Their terrace is on the 4th floor and is the only way to do Capri at night; beautiful views of the sunset, reasonably priced, and wonderful food.
-Ask Domenico for advice about what to do on the island. He booked a private boat tour for 150 Euros; without a shadow of a doubt this is the BEST way to do Capri - I cannot stress this enough. The boating company comes right to your hotel and walks you over to your private boat. This is a 2-hour tour that is private. I would not ordinarily recommend this because I am super cheap, but when you see the way that they pack people into other boats you will be happy with your investment. Having this private service allows you to stay at certain sites that you want and others that you don't. It's a huge boat and I am really surprised that they don't charge 300 euros (I would have paid it!). Ask for Vittorio when requesting the boat; very knowledgeable and a great level of English.
-Also, when checking in, see if they can't put you on the second or third floor: my wife was really sick when we checked in and didn't want to be stuck with the smell of diesel on our balcony. Domenico REALLY helped us with this and went above and beyond expectations.
-Spend the extra money for a sea side view; well worth it!

My wife and I are already plotting our return!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the only way to do this. GO WITH THE SEA SIDE VIEW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Andrew F,
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the nice words had for our Hotel.. It is very gratifying to learn that your stay at the Relais Maresca was enjoyable. With best wishes to seeing you to spend other beautiful days, for the coming visit to Capri, I greet you cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#28 of 41 in Capri
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Maresca

Property: Hotel Relais Maresca
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 284, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Capri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capri
#6 Family Hotel in Capri
#6 Business Hotel in Capri
#7 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#14 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Maresca 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Relais Maresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maresca Hotel
Relais Maresca Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing