We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple clean comfortable accommodations with superb terraces on the hill overlooking Marina Grande....you can see all the way to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Relais Maresca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Relais Maresca
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Thornwood, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple clean comfortable accommodations with superb terraces on the hill overlooking Marina Grande....you can see all the way to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, perfectly located hotel at the Marina Grande. Watch the endless bustle of ferries, mega-yachts and small craft from your ample terrace. Air conditioning worked well despite temperatures of 38 C. Nice breakfast buffet on the 4th floor "Terrazza." A bit pricey, but you can't beat it for convenience. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach (rocky!!) but the water is azure colored clear to the bottom and very clean. We would definitely stay again next time in Capri.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanK128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear StephanK128,
we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
Thanking you again, we hope to welcome you again in Capri, for a another comfortable stay at the Hotel Relais Maresca
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    229
    59
    17
    11
See reviews for
134
409
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Rooms are clean and nice, with a decoration that really makes you feel on vacation. The shades on the windows close to absolut darkness, which I simply loved. I didn't like the bathroom that much as it was small and the shower could be better, but nothing serious. We had an ocean view and it was just lovely. The rooftop where they serve breakfast is simply beautiful, with great views of the Marina Grande. And breakfast is ok, not bad for italian standards. It's true that you are a bit far from the downtown piazza (you have to take the finuculaire up or walk up a few dozens of steps - tiresome but still possible) but we liked being close to the marina. Made it easy for early boat rides. Also, the scotter rental just downstairs was a great plus. We rode to the lighthouse for sunset, what a great day. Would return.

Room Tip: You are at the beach! Get an ocean view. But if you are trying to save a few bucks, you can certainl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabiL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear GabiL13
we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure and our Staff. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a very comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were in Capri in June 2013 and absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was wonderful and they catered to all our needs. The lunch and breakfast was absolutely a delight. Highly recommend this place - The Shah family from USA,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deval2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Deval2013,
we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure and our Staff. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a very comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This special place is a perfect spot especially during the busy summer season on Capri. When I first arrived, I was a bit concerned to find how close Relais Marcesa is to the busy Grand Port where all ferries arrive. However, I soon realized how brilliant its location is and how peaceful an experience awaits inside of its doors. This location allows you to easily catch boats in the morning for trips around the island; the funicular to Capri is just down the steps and the bus to Annacapri is right out the door. All transportation options for seeing the island are right there. Our lovely room facing the port gave us a wonderful view of all of the boating activity ~ watching Capri wake up is fascinating ~ with none of the stress or noise. The restaurant on the top of the hotel is a perfect spot to have a panoramic view of the port in lovely tranquility ~ the food is great and Domenico D'Angostino, the Manager, is a gracious host. I highly recommend this historic hotel.

Room Tip: High balcony room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Mr. Lynn M,
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the nice words had for our Hotel.. It is very gratifying to learn that your stay at the Relais Maresca was enjoyable. With best wishes to seeing you to spend other beautiful days, for the coming visit to Capri, I greet you cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in Capri for one night and decided to stay at the Hotel Relais. The staff at the front desk were helpful and provided useful recommendations. The only disappointment in the staff was their inability to allow us to have a later checkout; their only option was to allow us to leave our personal belongings in their lounge.

My reasoning for not returning to this location would be the room. My girlfriend and I were supposed to have two twins together and they were not. The staff member even commented on it when he brought our bags to the room, but failed to do anything about it. Also, the bathroom wall was riddled with ants, which did not give an overall impression of cleanliness.

For the price of the room I expected better accommodations. Staff was still accommodating, but if I were to return to Capri I would find other lodgings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior7091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Junior7091,
We are pleased to learn that your stay here at the hotel Relais Maresca has been reasonably satisfactory.we are sorry instead to know of the problems found with your room.
For late checkout usually if there are no arrivals in the room we offer free to our guests, but unfortunately when we have customers arriving we can not afford to penalize them and not rent a room at the appointed hour.
For twin beds if we do not receive a specific request may happen to have in the room a double bed that absolutely can not be divided and this what appened with you.
For ants and cleaning in the room I already warned the housekeeper to pay more attention and care.
I hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect as it is situated at the Marina Grande where the ferries come in. It's also right next to the funicular which brings you up to the centre. It's a 30 min walk, if you rather go on foot. The room however was disappointing and we expected more since we payed a fair amount. The room decoration was bare and could use a make-over and a little maintenance couldn't hurt. The bathroom was OK but the shower was disappointing and could use a new showerhead. The terrace outside was beautiful with a great view. Breakfast was OK but could be better with a bit more variation.
So a disappointing experience since it was an expensive room, but I guess the hotel is trying to make it up with its favourable location. Room could definitely use a good make-over and attention to detail. Got a mail from the manager of the hotel and when stating the above, he replied they would use the comment to improve the quality of stay... I wonder...
We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Mrs.Rsegers,
With a great sorrow we learn from your words, the negative results of your stay at Relais Maresca. I have checked personally the problems and solved with the decor and the shower of your room.
Normally we are very attentive to our customers and offer them the utmost care, and I can surely tell you that will watch over because that does not happen.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Relais Maresca July 12th-14th (a weekend). We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean, the rooftop restaurant inviting and staff exceptional. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We had a comfortable 3-person bedroom overlooking the Grande Marina. The location couldn't have been better for accessibility to the Ferry service, local shops, bus to Anacapri and tram to Capri. Not having to take an island taxi everywhere was a real plus. We were right across from the beach. Even though our room was on a street, we found it very quiet. We all enjoyed the breakfast--nice to sip and enjoy a cup of morning coffee overlooking the beautiful waterfront. After looking around the island, we were all the more convinced we chose the right hotel in the right location--an exceptional value. The reviews we read to help us make our selection were true--this was a great place to enjoy a weekend on Capri.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Kevin K,
we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure and our Staff. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a very comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#16 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#9 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Maresca

Property: Hotel Relais Maresca
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 284, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Capri
#6 Family Hotel in Capri
#6 Business Hotel in Capri
#8 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#14 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Maresca 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Relais Maresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maresca Hotel
Relais Maresca Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing