We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and not 4 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Floridiana
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Capri at this hotel.

We arrived at midday (well before 3pm check in) and a room wasn't available. Despite many other reviewers being given an upgrade we were offered it for an extra charge (without asking for it!) but politely declined.

The Receptionist was very polite and told us we could leave our luggage until a room was ready and come back later. We decided to have a look at the facilities (pool, bar, etc) and decide what we would do for 3 hours. On returning to Reception around 15 minutes later we found our luggage where we had left it in front of the desk, which we weren't too impressed with. After a few minutes we were advised a room was available and we were politely escorted by the Receptionist to one which overlooked the public walkway below (not ideal when opening the bathroom window!). The room was clean but small and uninspiring.

Breakfast was basic and I would have preferred more fresh fruit than bread, pastries and cake. The staff were polite and efficient, however the manager kept wandering between the tables clicking his pen in an impatient fashion, which was a bit off putting.

We took advantage of the buggy to transport our luggage back to the main square (despite the extra charge per bag), as it's a good 5-7 mins on foot dodging day trippers. When meeting the man we were told we owed money for a bottle of water from the minibar which we had not taken and had in fact left our own bottle by accident. It'll be interesting to see whether they charge our credit card.

I wouldn't stay here again, even with a complimentary upgrade as it was just average.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LadyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIO P, Direttore at Hotel La Floridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guests,
We do not understand why you are so upset, We remember that you have left the hotel not going out from the main exit ,and from the main hall, where the Reception is located and where all our guests with regular way make the check out, and check in , no you went outside from the safety exit, like a thief, ,no goodby,no thank you from you, just runnig away from the hotel ? ! What a pity!
Do you know that is not allowed to use the minibar and change
our own drinks with some other yours? ,you could have bought everywhere, This not safety for the other guests that will come after you.. This is not correct.
We are sorry for have given you the room that you have bought and paid like the classic one,it is a pity but not every day We can give upgrade types room if We are fully booked.when it is possible We are glad to do,that day, your arrival day,it was not possible to give a sea-view room,,maybe this is the reason of your discontent.
We apologize but WE USUALLY DO NOT CHARGE WITHOUTH AGREEMENT FROM THE GUESTS ANYTHING EVEN IF THEY RUNNING AWAY LIKE YOU.. IT IS NORMAL TO ASK AND ANSWERING IS KINDLY WAY TO DO! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great hotel. Comfortable large sized room with a balcony and views over the pool. Polite and courteous staff, room service was efficient and the food was quite good too. As the hotel is based in the part of the island that is pedestrianized, you will need to walk from the Piazzetta to the hotel. The hotel is closely located to all the main sights in Capri, so fantastic for any tourist visiting the island. The breakfast was a continental one, not too bad, but not the best. Great accommodation and convenient location for travelers who are on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights. It is really easy to get to from the funicular. The room we had was comfortable, clean and had good views. The breakfast is lovely, we had a few evening meals and they were very good too (best chef in Capri).
The staff were very nice and they give you lots of information on how to make the best of your stay. We hope to return as Capri is a piece of paradise and we still have bits to see!
Special thanks to all the staff but particularly the reception staff, who were very welcoming and informative.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked directly from hotel website and we've got a lower price than other online booking portals. Hotel is very nice, staff is welcoming and we have been upgraded to junior suite at the arrival. Of course it was low season but we have really appreciated that! At the end we spent only 100 € for a wonderful,large, sea view room. Hotel is very mediterranean style, everything is clean and staff very helpful. Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from "piazzetta" the very center of Capri and you can easily enjoy of all beauty of this amazing island just wandering around along the routes to Faraglioni or to Natural Arch. Perfect for romantic weekends. We really enjoyed La Floridiana Hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lor8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is white, modern, clean and people of the front desk is incredibly kind and helpful. Don´t hesitate in asking them advises or recommendations to go dinner or shopping. We got an upgrade and our suite was amazing, with a great sea and pool view. Go to Floridiana and have fun!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Rozental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was travelling with my family of 6 adults from 10-13 march 2014.We booked 3 adjoining sea-facing rooms at a sensible price.Although the tourist season had not yet started since a lot of hotels,restaurants,funicular,etc were not open we had a wonderful time as the weather was great,the hotel superb with a wonderful spread of buffet breakfast,spotlessly clean,HUGE rooms with huge double beds with a small balcony.I cannot find any faults with this hotel and the skeletal staff was very cooperative especially Dina at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHANNA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I haven't stayed at this hotel in Capri but have made a reservation which is the reason for this review. I booked a non-refundable room for this weekend but because of bad weather, I wasn't able to travel to the island. We traveled to Naples but when we got to the port, we were told that no ferry is traveling to Capri. Called the hotel and was told to check another port in Naples. We went to the port recommended by the hotel only to find out their ferries are cancelled too. We called the hotel again and was assured that ferries from Sorrento are still going to Capri. So, we traveled more than an hour to Sorrento but when we got there, it was the same -- the ferries were canceled too. So, short story is I wasn't able to use my reservation and when asked for a refund, I was told I cannot because my reservation is non-refundable. This is where my issue is. This is not even the money but it's the principle or lack of consideration. I can see if the reason is because of my own doing but it's not - it's mother nature, it's inclement weather totally beyond my control. How are we supposed to get there? Swim? I mean, nobody, no tourist or other traveler made it to Capri yesterday. The same would be if Mount Vesuvius explodes -- no one will be able to travel to Capri probably. This is akin to making a reservation in an island in the Caribbean and a hurricane hits. I think it would be unfair for the hotels there to charge those who made reservations because now, they cannot make it to the hotel. I can justify them charging me if I didn't make it and they could have given the room to someone else but no one ever made it to the island yesterday. Looks like they just want to make money from a very unfortunate act of nature. Unsatisfactory!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SaintNICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIO P, Manager at Hotel La Floridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Sir,
We are really sorry for the trouble that you had but please remember that We propose you at the telephone to come another time
without charge .We suggest to come from Sorrento because other guests arriving in our Hotel came from there and anyway there were ships coming from Napoli and Sorrento during that day,it was only the trouble to wait for one boat ,the realty was that other our clients arrived anyway it is strange that you didn't found any boats.Some guests arrived for your same day , some decided to come the day after ,only you decided to do not come
This was your decision and the Hotel has not any responsability
the prepaid not refundble offer is anyway not changable and it is very cheap just because if people does'nt come they have not a full price to pay.There is the other offer that has the cancellation policy!
We did our best proposing to change the arrival day with another time without any charge from you
We hope that you understand that We wanted only help you and suggest the right way to come to Capri but We gave also the possibility to come another day
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.8 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#13 of 40 in Capri
745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 40 in Capri
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#14 of 40 in Capri
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Floridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Floridiana

Address: Via Campo di Teste 16, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Capri
#15 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#19 Family Hotel in Capri
#24 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: £89 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Floridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Swimming Pool With Whirpool,colour Therapy,it Is Possible To Swim Undercurrent, New Solarium With Green Area,lounge Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Floridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Floridiana Hotel
La Floridiana Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing