We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Overall nice experience”
Review of Hotel La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, Overall nice experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at la Residenza for 2 nights in June as part of the Globus Best of Italy tour. Overall, it was one one the better hotels we stayed at on our trip. Our room was clean, it was a bit small but no big deal. The AC worked well, the bathroom and shower were above average. The hotel is located in a nice area, centrally located. The property offers great views, a nice pool and above average service. Be careful going in and out of the elevators. The doors will slam into you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wjbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    165
    86
    49
    28
See reviews for
76
231
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while on a Globus tour of Italy. Upon enteriing the lobby, we were so excited and in awe of the gorgeous pool and deck overlooking the water. It looked like a 5 star hotel....until we entered our room. It was marginal at best. There was some mold and mildew in the corner where there was an obvious water leak from the neighboring bathroom. The walls are paper thin, which is how we knew that was where the bathroom was. Our bathroom was functional but not very nice. The shower water ran down behind the wood trim; thus, causing it to pull away from the tile. Then the water overflows from the shower onto the tile floor causing a lot of water everywhere. Fellow travelers has a room that was overrun with mold and mildew everywhere. They couldn't be moved until the next day. It appeared that daily maintenance on the property is not a priority. However, this was our experience throughout the tour. Breakfast was terrible. The milk tasted sour and when I questioned the wait staff, he argued with me and said it was fine. Finally, he showed me that it was boxed milk and not very cold. He definitely had an attitude. On a positive note, the hotel had two wheelchairs that they lent to two elderly travelers with the request for a donation to a charity. The front desk staff was pleasant but they didn't address the mold issue in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WestChester_PAPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a part of an Insight tour. The hotel pool and lobby area are very nice. There is a lovely view from the patio area above the pool. However, the rooms are poor and in bad need of renovation at best or basic maintenance at the very least. The room is very small, the beds are hard and uncomfortable, our TV was small, old (very) and didn't work, and there was a hole in the wall where an outlet used to be. Definitely not a 4 star hotel room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace2014CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Despite some negative reviews, I recommend La Residenza. Stayed here 36 years ago and its still good. Ok our room is a bit shabby chic but clean, comfy bed and plenty of clean towels. Most of all a great location near the main hub of Capri, but quiet location. Our room has lovely views of the sea and tops of the Faraglioni rocks. Evening meal and breakfast fine. Four courses for dinner. Pool and sun terrace perfect. Staff very friendly. Plus if you can play the piano theres one to try out. Here for a week and would encourage you not to be put off by grumpy reviewers.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After walking from the main piazza, the huge reception area with the pool gave a terrific first impression. However our room was very small, and the bathroom was too. We walked out onto a dirty dusty balcony and round the corner to a lovely view of the sea. Understandably, not every room can have a sea view. The breakfast was ok, but the line for the coffee machine was insane. Each time someone wants coffee, it grinds the beans! That's wonderful in theory, and much appreciated by those who have no deadlines, but for those who are part of a tour group of 35+, it caused a lot of grumbles. Coffee in the morning is a basic, and a hot water urn for those in a hurry would be a terrific alternative. The hotel is well situated, and close to the action.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, don't assume you'll get one. Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy-Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The staff were great and went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. When we first arrived we were disappointed with our rooms- we booked deluxe rooms with a sea view, we had a view but the rooms were outdated, not clean and not what we were expecting. The staff were great and switched our rooms to deluxe rooms with sea views in the main hotel which were lovely and clean with great balconies. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, the night shift staff was particular accommodating. Their are no irons in the room and the breakfast is quite basic but you can order extras like omlettes and eggs at no extra hassle. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the shops and main square. We really enjoyed our stay here and would reccomend it for all ages.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SzsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from another beautiful trip to Capri. We always stay at la Residenza , and yet again had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. The views are magnificent and the hotel is set in a central area just 2 minutes away from the main piazza. The staff were so friendly and helpful !
I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#26 of 41 in Capri
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#8 of 41 in Capri
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#11 of 41 in Capri
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#22 of 41 in Capri
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residenza

Property: Hotel La Residenza
Address: Via Federico Serena 22, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Capri
#23 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Residenza is located just 220 yards from the Piazzetta, Capri's central square. It offers a large sun terrace with swimming pool and peaceful grounds with palm trees.Set in the heart of Capri, La Residenza is surrounded by the town's most popular shops, bars and restaurants. The port of Marina Grande is 5 minute drive away for ferries to Italy's mainland.All rooms are air conditioned and come in a range of styles. They feature a minibar and satellite TV and some have a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.Guests have free Wi-Fi in public areas and a buffet breakfast served each morning. The restaurant serves a varied menu of Italian and international cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Capri
La Residenza Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing