We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay on Capri”
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
allen texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay on Capri”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I picked La Tosca based on Tripadvisor reviews and am glad I did. I can't say enough about Ettore, the owner. He made our trip special, recommending places to see, restaurant recommendations etc. Some have rated this as a 'budget' hotel, and the cost was much less than others, but the quality of our accommodations was first rate. Our room was clean and stylish with a nice bath, plenty of storage and a quaint private balcony which we used to unwind with a little wine and cheese at the end of a day of sight seeing. It didn't have a separate sitting room, which some of the higher end hotels had, but for the money, location and family feeling at La Tosca I would stay here again. My best remembrance is the hike from Capri, to the church, to Mt Salero, to the lighthouse. I stayed here 3 nights, worried it would be too long, ended up wishing I'd stayed longer. Great job Ettore - you made my vacation special.

Room Tip: We had the triple room with the balcony furthest from the breakfast/dining patio. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    124
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
134
427
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at La Tosca. Everything was perfect, including the location, cleanliness of the hotel, terrace breakfast wonderful staff. Ettore was so kind and helpful. He helped us plan our days in Capri and was willing to help guide us to our other destinations as well. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at La Tosca in the middle of May. Ettore is a wonderful host as well as all of the other people that work at the small hotel. They really do make you feel like you are a family member. We really did enjoy that family feeling. The views from the hotel out to see some of the bay as well as parts of Capri city are fantastic. The hotel is located in a very quiet part of the town and once you find it, it is very easy to get to everything. The hotel is only located maybe 5 minutes to the main Capri piazza where most of the action is located. Our room number was 51 which was a corner room with a terrace. It is highly recommended to ask for a room with a terrace. It really does open the room up and make it appear a lot larger. It's also nice because the terrace is actually pretty big and you can, if wish, catch some sun in privacy. A good way to start the day or end the day. The room was very clean and the bathroom was very clean. Great shower. There was a lot of room for us and there was couch that could have been a sofa sleeper. WI-FI was available and we never had issues with it. The room also came with a nice size frig that had nothing in it which is what we like so that we can put our own stuff in it, if needed. The breakfasts were very simple continental breakfasts. But, it was a good way to start the day. Out of the 5 villas/hotels that we stayed at in Italy during our stay, La Tosca came in 2nd for our favorites. Even though the room was simple, it had what we needed and it was very clean. The thing that we really like was Ettore. He is a wonderful host. We used his recommendations on what to do and where to go eat. All of the recommendations were top notch. Not a one was wrong. And his directions were impeccable.
We would recommend staying at this small hotel to anyone, unless you are looking for posh furnishings, a pool and a full service restaurant. For everyone else, this is a fantastic small hotel, which is what we are looking for.
One recommendation is to actually use the Porter service that is available at the ferry landing. It is $10 Euros per piece of luggage and they will deliver it to the hotel. Also, take a taxi from the ferry to the main Capri piazza (if staying in Capri city itself). The taxi fare is $20, but it is fast. Yes, you can take the cable car up the hill, but it depends on how crowded it is. It may take some time to get on it. And it is $1.80 Euro per person. Once you are in the main Capri piazza, that is where you can easily get lost trying to find La Tosca since it is down the street from the piazza. It took us awhile to find the hotel with the help of shopkeepers who were very helpful, all the while we are dragging 4 pieces of luggage with us in the crowded streets. At least we were not the only ones. Ettore recommended doing the Natural Arch (English wording) walk which was fantastic. It is quite a walk and the return takes you a different way which has a lot of steps. Ettore said that there was a lot of steps, but we were not expecting that many. There were a lot. Over 200 steps. And at times, very narrow. One person wide. But it was well worth it because of the amazing views. We did the Island Tour by boat with the company that Ettore recommends. If you want, you can do the Blue Grotto and just pay for it. The Blue Grotto is a tourist trap and you are not in it very long, but it is worth it. If you are lucky, maybe it is not too busy and your boat person will spend more time in the cave. Wish we would have been in longer. The boat tour was great. We only had about 15 people on the boat and the captain was good. So, we were able to get some fantastic pictures. You also stop at the Green and White Grottos. The Blue one is more impressive, but it's worth seeing. When we returned to the ferry landing, we grabbed sandwiches at a sandwich shop that Ettore recommended called Da Aldo. Great sandwiches. We took the sandwiches to go and grabbed a bus to Ana Capri so that we could take the chair lift up Monte Solara. Once we were up on the top of the mountain, we ate our sandwiches to the great views. The bus ride from the ferry landing to Ana Capri was $1.80 Euro per person. Ettore again gave great directions and we never ever had an issue. He told us what to do in Ana Capri after coming back down from the mountain and then where to catch the bus back to the main piazza in Capri. All of his recommendations again were spot on. Ana Capri was quiet since we were on a pedestrian only street and the stores were all very quaint. Ettore recommended a walk to Villa Jovis which was a much easier walk then the Arco Naturale walk. Before the walk, we grabbed sandwiches at a sandwich shop called Di Nonna Checca (again recommended by Ettore and was spot on) which is lcated close to the main piazza and took them on the walk to Villa Jovis. Found a place on the walk where there were great views and we sat and ate the great sandwiches. Again, a great recommendation from Ettore. Villa Jovis closes at 1:00pm, so beware of the early closing time. And it takes about 45 minutes to walk to. The Parco Astarita is located before you get to Villa Jovis, but it was padlocked, so we could not enter it. That looked like a great place for more great views. That same day, which was our last, is when we walked to the Gardens of Augusto which is right down from Hotel La Tosca. This closes at 7:30 and we showed up at 7:00. Well worth the walk since the views at the garden are spectacular. The restaurants that we ate at per Ettore's recommendations were all worth it. Our reviews on them will also be posted on TripAdvisor. The restaurants were Bucca di Bacco, Pulalli, and Verginiello. These were all very good and each had its own feel to it. Pulalli was probably the best, but it was also a little more costly than the other 2, but the views on the terrace looking out over the main Piazza was great. Well worth the extra $1 - $2 Euro per dish. And the service was also real good. If there was one restaurant to select, this would be the one.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are looking for something quiet, clean with an exceptional host then you need to stay at this place! Its just a short distance from the city square and Ettore is the most amazing host. He was very welcoming, knowledgeable about the area and extremely accommodating. He truly loves his hotel, takes great pride in it. He is also a born and raised local so he knows all the best places to sight see AND eat. All of his hiking and restaurant recommendations were outstanding! What I loved most about his hotel is that it was sooooo peaceful and quiet. After a long day of hiking, passing through the city center was loud and packed with tourists. When we would arrive back to the hotel, Ettore was there to offer a beverage and to sit out on his peaceful patio! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdu22
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our trip to the Amalfi Coast.The hotel location is situated a short walk away from the main hustle and bustle of town, with a wonderful roof terrace for breakfast and drinks. Ettore told us we could make our 1:30 flight out of Rome if we left the hotel the morning of the flight, and we did with no problem.
The room was spotless and good sized with the expected amenities. What makes this hotel special is the level of service that Ettore (the owner) and his staff offered. Ettore was a great host, who offered very detailed ideas for great walks/hikes around the island, (down to how many steps) and where you can stop off for a picnic or dinner. His knowledge of the island is incredible and he was keen to share this with his guests to ensure that they get the best experience. We found it also very beneficial to have Ettore make us dinner reservations. We always got a wonderful table and careful service. The meal never disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed a night at Hotel La Tosca last month and received a warm welcome by the owner, Ettore. It was a tough journey from the Port to the hotel if you're carrying a heavy luggage, otherwise suggest to use the Blue Porter instead (EUR 10 per luggage). Ettore was very helpful on suggesting places of interests to us, as well suggested few methods to depart from Capri. Grazie! Okay, about the room it was decent since its only One Star lodging. Having say that, the terrace with seaview and hillview was simply superb. You may also choose to have breakfast at your room's terrace while enjoying the serenity of Capri in the morning. Breakfast was simple but good enough to start our day. The room can be improved further with a TV for guests as it could be quite boring during the night. Perhaps the motto of this hotel is to provide a tranquillity stay for their guests. Nonetheless, spending time at the terrace at night to appreciate the night of Capri is a way of enjoyment.

Room Tip: Room 48 is great and very quiet at night. Don't forget to hire Porter if you have heavy luggages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Capri was a great place to end our 18-day trip to Italy, and Hotel La Tosca was a great place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the owner and staff eager to help plan our days, from tours to maps for walking to restaurants and reservations, they could not have been more accommodating! We appreciated the quiet after Rome, and our room with a balcony had a relaxing view of the hillside down to the sea.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room with a balcony. If not, you will enjoy it anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 41 in Capri
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Property: Hotel La Tosca
Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing