We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of being ripped off”

Motoscafisti di Capri
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beware of being ripped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked 3 of us on 2 hour "Tour of Island with Blue Grotto". Publicity material stated: "We stop and visit the legendary Blue Grotto with its magic, all to be discovered from inside..." Tour started off OK and we went90% of the way around the island - brilliant!! Then we got to Blue grotto and guide said it was too busy - probably a 2 and a half hour wait to get in grotto, so he was going back to the start of the tour (Porto Marina). As a consequence we never went near the Blue Grotto and got back after only 1 and a half hours. Many of us complained and they pointed out that on the boarding ticket it did say that if the queues for the Blue Grotto were more than 45 minutes then the guide has the right to return to port. You only get to know this condition AFTER you have paid for your ticket. We continued to complain, and were offered a free ride to the Blue Grotto as compensation, but it would have to be straight away or another day. We did not want to go straight away and they said that would be the only opportunity as the sea was getting "rough" and they may close the grotto anyway. We said that was unacceptable. They refused to pay us compensation for not delivering what was advertised and for reducing the trip by 25%!! SO BEWARE OF THIS CON. Check what they say BEFORE you buy the tickets. As this has left a sour taste in our mouths we have given this a poor rating. The ret of the trip around the island was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    17
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mevaseret Zion, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great island boat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We took an island boat tour, despite not being able to see the Blue Grotto because of the rough currents. The views were spectacular and the tour guides were great. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Round island boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We did the trip today and would recommend it. Just over two hours, the Captain was very informative and made sure we got into the Blue Grotto (amazing) despite a long wait. You can save 2 euros by downloading a voucher from the Capri website. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Choose a calm day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

For the obvious reason (to avoid seasickness) but also so that the boat can get closer into the grottos. Even though it was reasonably calm when we were there, the Blue Grotto was closed (there is only about a metre’s headroom for the small boats to enter when the sea is calm) so if this is important, check before you go.

Buy tickets from the booth on Marina Grande Zero dock (open 9-5) as you disembark the ferry, looking for the blue and white banner with Blue Grotto and Round Island. Choose your time carefully when booking (we went early so that we didn’t spend our time travelling backwards and forwards to Marina Grande). The company provides trips to the Blue Grotto (€13.50 NOT INCLUDING the charge to boatmen) and an hour long trip to the Faraglioni for €16. We chose the Round Island boat trip (good value we thought at €17 for 2 hr – or just under in our case as the Blue Grotto was closed – they warned us before booking) You can visit the famous Blue Grotto (if open) if you want to from this trip, but it incurs an EXTRA charge to the boatmen (plus tip!) whist the Motoscafisti boat waits for you.

The wooden launches have only a small covered area, so bring sun protection and be prepared for sea-spray. A seat near the back is good as the boat tends to reverse into some of the grottoes. Yes, the Blue Grotto isn’t the only one: there are also white, green and coral (or red). There are a number of sights to take in (often with attendant tall tales); houses of the rich and famous are pointed out and you also get to speed through the iconic Faraglioni arch. The commentary was entertaining and in English as well as Italian. See http://www.motoscafisticapri.com/en/itineraries for maps of the different routes and what you can expect to see on each.

However, this was all after a very shaky start with typical Italian disorganisation (sorry, seems to have been a theme when we were there): after showing our ticket and asking where to queue, reaching the front and being told it was the wrong queue, queuing up again only to be told the same thing (this time we put our foot down!), we eventually clambered aboard – hence only 4 stars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We did the 2 hour "yellow" tour around the island including the Blue Grotto.
Our guide made it obvious he did not want to be there by listening to his iPod with headphones they entire trip; taking them out only to provide the names of the 8 sites as we past.
A recorded tour would have been better than this crotch-scratcher.
Capri is a tourist trap, spend your time and money ivisiting the small towns around the bay of Naples and supporting small family businesses.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMamaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Motoscafisti di Capri also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Motoscafisti di Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing