We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Il Tinello - CLOSED

Il Tinello
Price range: US$19 - US$44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place when wondering where to eat-the friendly waiter saw us trying to read the italian menu on the window and winked us to come and check out english one. I'm so glad we found this place, service was excellent, food great and prices reasonable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susa19467889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beaudifuuuuul!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

After walking around for about 40 mins trying to find this restaurant we stumbled across it thank god! To anyone who is planning on going here go up the stairs from via Roma. The food is absolutely superb, wines are great and so is the tiramisu! Service is very good here too. Great feed and great place to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Discovery!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I were on Capri for our honeymoon and while wandering off the beaten path we got a bit lost. Meandering back to the center of town we came across Il Tinello and I'm very happy we did! We had a fantastic lunch with none of the touristy annoyances we found in so much of Capri. We had bruschetta, octopus salad and gnocchi alla sorrentina and all we tasty. For a quiet, relaxed lunch away from the hubub of the piazza, I definitely recommend Il Tinello.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clairealta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely manager”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The lady who runs the show here is very friendly. Fairly limited menu but good quality - pizzas at lunch only. Not as expensive as the other restaurants around the piazza, which makes it much better value than many.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wonderful staff, hidden gem!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Capri left a bad taste in my mouth on my first visit because it was so stinking touristy. The food was so bland, carelessly prepared, and over priced. But this last trip, we found Il Tinello and it changed my entire perception of the whole island! Hidden (seriously hidden) down not just one, not two, but several back alleys, it takes a determined traveler to find it. You'll be so happy that you did! The wine was so reasonably priced (13-17 Euro each for an Aglianico and Greco di Tufo - both very good) and the selection of Campania wine was pretty good.

The frutti di mare was by far the best dish that we ordered. I find that often in Naples and the touristy parts of the Amalfi Coast, the frutti di mare is overcooked so often that it loses all the flavor. This one was perfect! Shrimp, mussels, clams, octopus - everything was very well prepared. We also got the "big gnocchi" if for nothing else than that the name was hilarious and it was the chef special.

Strongly support your blowing off the chains and generic Italian in the larger streets and wander back to Il Tinello. Our waitress was sweet, spoke English well but found our broken Italian not overly irritating and thus responding in kind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnieLou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Tinello also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing