We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Canasta was perfect.”
Review of Hotel Canasta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canasta
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Canasta was perfect.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had the best time at this hotel. It's perfectly situated, everyone that works there is lovely - they went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and taken care of. The pool is heaven, breakfast is delicious. All around a wonderful hotel in Paradise. We got a basic room which was great....i think if i was to come back, i would pay more for a room with a seaview. Either way, I highly recommend this hoteI!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrieannef23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    87
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
43
232
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I never put much emphasis on the hotel receptionists before, but at Canasta it turned out to be important. The first receptionist was not very accommodating, nd not very good at making us feel welcome. The second one went out of his way to help us in all sorts of ways that I had never expected, For instance he set a table for us in the main yard, when we brought home pizzas for an early dinner intended for the room or veranda. Overall, the hotel was fine. The rooms are clean and reasonably equipped (but ours was in the basement, which makes the veranda of very little se), and the pool is nice, and has a beautiful view to the sea.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PotiguarDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Canasta with my boyfriend. The hotel was clean, comfortable and perfectly located! The owner was charming and extremely helpful - we left personal belongings in Naples and he very kindly arranged these to be dropped off at Capri.
The breakfast was good, and was served until late, which was perfect for a relaxing holiday!
I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have been staying at The Canasta for several years now and still it feels perfect for us. Each year you notice little improvements (this year better Wi-fi, bath robes, new balcony furniture etc) but it maintains all that is good about it too. Vary late breakfasts (12.00), great coffee, great air-con, very welcoming pool (which 9 times out of 10 there is plenty of space around), friendly staff, clean rooms, extremely comfortable beds - I could go on!
Need a restaurant idea or a place to visit or walks to go on? Just ask Pietro or Paola and they will sort it.
IIf you want a central location which is still very peaceful then the Canasta is for you. It takes only a 5 minute stroll and you are either at Via Krupp or heading down to Faraglioni or in the heart of the nightlife. Book, you won't regret it

Room Tip: As you approach the hotel all you see is a blue pool, the hotel is down a few steps on the right an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Canesta for 3 nights at the end of June and we were not disappointed by this lovely hotel. The location is perfect for Capri centre, the breakfast is very good, the rooms are beautiful and very clean and we found the staff very helpful. We had some very good advice on walks to do around Capri and had a daily morning update regarding the Blue Grotto and whether it was open or not. I would offer one word of warning, we booked through Venere and it wasn't made clear by the website that our room didn't have a view. This is not the fault of the hotel, I would just check when booking through a third party site.

Room Tip: Don't have room 20!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat_Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Rooms are good-sized. We had balcony rooms, which were wonderful. Fantastic views.
The breakfast is the best we had in Italy (IMHO), but the staff must wonder where we put all their coffee.
Pietro was really kind and helpful. I think he’s there 18 hours a day.
Nice swimming pool. Beautiful décor. Really conveniently located (easy access to town, but off the main drag).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendu101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stumbled upon this hotel on trip advisor and loved Pietro very blunt responses to the negative reviews. First off. Anyone who has a negative comment about this place cannot be pleased! We absolutely loved it here. Large rooms, beautiful views, great private bathrooms, pool..etc. I could go on and on. But it wasn't the hotel that made our stay so amazing it was the owner Pietro. From minute one that we walked in he made us feel relaxed and important. He was pleasant and funny. He gave us tips on what to do around the island for the short amount of time we were there. He also suggested a great restaurant that the locals enjoy. This hotel offers breakfast til 12pm. We overslept as we were so comfortable in our room. (The blinds are electric! !) But Pietro kept breakfast out til 1230 just for us. And even offered to make more eggs for us. We absolutely loved it here and wish we could have stayed longer.
Tips:
When you get into marina grande it is best to take the funicular for about 2EURO. it will take u up to capri but then you will have to walk a bit to get to this hotel. (Still worth it). Or you could opt to take a private taxi .. DO NOT pay more than 15EURO!. This will also bring you up to the main plaza of capri. Still you will have to walk.
While u are there:
Drink the limoncello
Go to Anacapri
Check out the blue grotto
Get lost for a bit
Visit a beach (beautiful but they are not sand, they are rock)
Sit on ur Terrace in your hotel given bathrobes and enjoy a bottle of wine

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#11 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#14 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canasta

Property: Hotel Canasta
Address: Via Campo di Teste 6, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#8 Family Hotel in Capri
#13 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canasta 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Canasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canasta Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing