We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamorous”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a room with a spectacular view of Vesuvius across the sea from one side, and a stunning view of Monte Solaro from the other. We could not have asked for better views.
The ensuite bathroom was also gorgeous--it looked recently done with all new white fittings, although perhaps not very well planned, as the toilet was situated between the bath and bidet, leaving nowhere for the toilet paper. The maids just left the toilet roll on top of the towel on the edge of the bidet--not very elegant.
The bedroom, however, wasn't quite up to the same standard as the newly-done bathroom. The bed and decor looked a bit dated.
Staff were helpful and the breakfast buffet was fine, although the hot chocolate was awful.
The location was fine--a short (walkable) distance from the centre of Capri Town, but this distance allowed the spectacular views unobscured by other buildings.
A lovely place I would stay in again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We really liked staying at Hotel Capri. It is very quiet and clean, the staff is friendly, the view, like the building, are beautiful, and the location is perfect, a little bit off the main buzz of the square. Maybe we liked it so much because we were coming from Naples where we'd slept pretty rough and hadn't been smiled at for a few days, but in hindsight there's little we'd change. It felt like a nice haven in the midst of this busy island and for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is getting a little tired. We purchased a sea view room. We could see the sea.. but just... through some plants in front of the hotel. It is well positioned in the main street in close proximity to the main shopping area. Service was polite but we felt the staff were a little bored with the whole thing and did not encourage communication. Capri is quite expensive in some ways so is hard to gauge whether this is value for money. In hindsight maybe we should have paid a little more and stayed in a better quality hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Hotel Capri provided a stunning view of the Marina Grande and on to the Bay of Naples from our bedroom window. It is a short walk up to the restaurants and the scintillating views of the island.The hotel, which is in need of some modernisation did provide a comfortable room with adequate private facilities. The hotel in general was exceptionally well kept and very clean.The breakfast room was excellent. This is a magical part of Italy and our stay here was enhanced by the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Beautiful hotel in a perfect spot on the island Friendly helpful staff and immaculately clean. Great rooms.
As far as Capri being expensive is concerned it is really no different to anywhere else. If you go to the obvious tourist restaurants it is very expensive. Take a little trouble to look around. We found a fabulous restaurant 30 seconds from our hotel where a superb two or three course meal never cost more than 60 euros for two including very acceptable bottles of wine at 6 euros

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hotel Capri was fantastic. We stayed on a tour and it was great. The reception staff were lovely, the rooms were huge and it was within walking distance to everything. The bus stop and the cable car were just a couple of minutes walk up the main road. The hotel itself, has been well looked after, is very clean and the variety at breakfast was really good. For an island that is so expensive to stay on, Hotel Capri met our needs at a reasonable price. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoobs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel Capri met our expectations and was great value given how expensive staying on the island can get.
Lovely lobby, welcoming staff who helped us figure out what to see in Capri and made suggestions on where to eat.
Upon arriving to the marina by ferry, take the cable car ride up for $1.80 euro a person, and once you're at the top it's pretty much Capri central. Turn right onto via Roma and the hotel is a short walk away with shops along the way.
Also close to a bus station that can take you to anacapri.
Good variety at breakfast to start off the day too :)
The only change I may suggest is renovating the washrooms. It's really small and dated.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAngel0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#28 of 40 in Capri
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Residenza Capri
La Residenza Capri
#26 of 40 in Capri
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#19 of 40 in Capri
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Via Roma 71, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Price Range: £81 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a sun terrace with panoramic sea views, Hotel Capri is just 650 ft from the central square of La Piazzetta in Capri. All rooms are spacious and air conditioned.This 4-star hotel is one of the earliest established properties on the island of Capri. With its charming Art-Nouveau design, it is surrounded by some of Capri's most popular cafés and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing