We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter visit”
Review of Hotel Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nautilus
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Winter visit”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I don't usually review hotels, but would like to put in my two cents worth on the Hotel Nautilus. It is not the hell hole that was described by one of the prior reviewers. It is somewhat b&b style, with a pretty garden, run by an older woman who is doing her best to have an affordable stay in a very expensive location. She was always helpful when we asked for information. The hotel is quiet and the sound of the sea and birds in the trees a welcome change from the busy cities of Italy. Frankly, most every place on the island looked rather run down and I do not think I would choose Capri as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel Nautilus is a good place to stay when visiting over-priced Capri and seeking tranquillity without the discomfort of having to walk long distances.

This place, though outside the bustling central square, can be easily reached by taking a bus from Capri town to Marina Piccola (€1,80, leaves every 30 minutes) - or on foot, via a down-hill road (20 minutes). It's basically a big house with 10 rooms. Some rooms are with a sea view, and each has its own bathroom.
I found my room to be quite satisfactory: clean, comfortable (double) bed, and quiet. Latter mentioned could also be partly due to the fact that there were few other guests (in November).

The hotel is run by an elderly lady, Trudy, who is very friendly.
She was most keen to provide travel advice. Upon arrival, she presented a map and marked the highlights. Though this sounded well-rehearsed, I found her suggestions for destinations outside Capri to be quite useful.

The only disappointing aspect of my room was the shower: the stream of hot water coming out of it was rather weak, though sufficient.
I guess this had to do with the fact that water has to be imported from the mainland.

Still for 50 euro per night, including breakfast and free wifi - this on an island where everything is expensive - I am very pleased with my choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hotel Was actually a house converted into a hotel! Rooms were basic but good. The owner Is very sweet and friendly. The waiter for breakfast is also very accommodating and nice. Breakfast was good, including fresh bread, cheese, meat, fruit and coffees. 10 min walk to the free beach. Bus stop right outside the hotel takes u to the center in 10 minutes. Best of all, this hotel had a great roof top terrace with loungers and a shower where u can sunbathe while taking I'm the amazing mountain, ocean views! To summarize, a very peaceful hotel with good value for your money, with a personal touch! Definitely recommended by us!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Let me start this off by saying that YOU SHOULD NEVER EVER STAY AT THE HOTEL NAUTILUS.

If you are considering it, try sending the owner a check for half the cost of the room and then throw yourself down a flight of stairs and it will ultimately save you upset and discomfort.

Staying in the hotel Nautilus was the second worst hotel experience of my life. On a cost adjusted bases it far exceeds the time when I was a student travelling in Rome and accidentally and stayed in a hotel next to the Stazione with a communal bathroom and heroin addicts.

This hotel completely misrepresents itself online and prices itself equally with four star hotels in town. It is in the middle of nowhere, not walking distance from anything good. It is dirty and of very low quality and worst of all the owner is a miserable lying witch who is genuinely rude and dishonest.

Staying in the hotel is like staying in a nasty angry person’s house who you don’t know and paying them an egregious amount to do so. The beds are cheap and terrible, the doors to the rooms are plywood and thin, the bathroom is disgusting and similar to what you might expect to find in a halfway house, and worse of all is the air-conditioning basically does not work (the owner will claim it does) and it probably sprays Legionnaires’ disease on you while you sleep.

The honest truth is I checked in, went into town and was so upset that I looked for another hotel. I found the Hotel Palma which is four stars for EUR 10 less a night and left. I just paid the night at Nautilus not to stay there and had quite an unpleasant set of interactions with the owner on my way out. Note she is not even Italian, they should kick her off the island.

Again, YOU SHOULD NEVER EVER STAY AT THE HOTEL NAUTILUS.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Capri hotels

dubai
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We are quite well travelled Canadian couple and our recent trip to Rome & Capri was our favourite holiday ever.

What we liked about the Hotel Nautilus: friendly helpful staff, generous room upgrades, sweetly furnished home style paired with good hotel service, room serviced spotless daily, lovely breakfast with homemade fruit salad and traditional Italian torte (my favourtie!), salumis, good coffee, etc, good suggestions on where to go for dinner, what to do, etc, comfortable bed, little patio with sun loungers and a roof top patio with more of the same, reasonable price (for Capri!), great location to bus stop and Marina Piccola and Capri Town.

What we didnt like: nothing! Wifi in the rooms would be an added bonus though. It is available in the breakfast area

Tips & Info:
1. You take a boat to Capri from Naples. We took the fastest one (45 mins 17 Euros + 4 for big luggage).
2. You will arrive at Marina Grande. You can take a taxi for 25 Euros. Or you can take a bus to Capri Town (around 2 euros), another to Marina Piccola (another approx 2 euros) and you have to pay a ticket for any large luggage (1 euro?)
3. Must dos on Capri - (and in order of importance in my opinion)
a) go to Anacapri and see the Villa San Michele
b) do not pay to go on a tour of the Blue Grotto (also in Anacapri). Go in your swimsuit around 5pm, when the tours are over and swim into the grotto for free. swim in carefully as the opening is small and more shallow. the colour is amazing!
c) go to the private beach at Marina Piccola. I think we paid 45 euros for 2 people and an umbrella with the sun loungers. this is 2 minutes away from Hotel Nautilus.
4. We drove from Rome to Naples and return which was actually really easy but leave your self a lot of time (6 hours) if you are getting to the airport for an international flight.

Room Tip: It seems if she has availability, she will provide you with a free upgrade. very generous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocorotsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay starting with a vey early check in that we really did appreciate. and upgrade to a Sea View Room. Whilst there was no safe, the room was very clean, with clean linen and thick fluffy towels. The room had a large patio with sun baking loungers and table, plenty of room, with lovely view. The hotel is not new, however it is very quiet, and peaceful, surrounded by the mountains and sea. Big bonus is the bus stops right outside hotel, and the owner Trudy is more than helpful with directions to where ever you wish to go, and will help with any other matters happily. The breakfast is more than adequate and VJ the Chef waits on you hand and foot. While everything in Capri is expensive we found the 3 star Nautilus far better than many supposed 4 star hotel throughout Europe. TIP. Take advantage of all the local bus services throughout the Island and do many of the beautiful walks, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: Treat others as you would wished to be treated .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Qld_Aussie_Expat_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Nautilus. It is small and has a nice garden. There is nothing wrong with the breakfast, as another review claims. If the bowl of fruit is not big enough for you, there are apples, bananas, oranges... The sun roof is also a good asset. The landlady gives you nice tips where to go and other good insider recommendations. The other staff is pleasant and very kind as well. The bathroom is rather small, especially the bath itself.
The bus stops just in front of the gate, it brings you in 5 minutes to the centre of Capri town. Alternatively, you can take the steps or the scenic "Via Krupp" (about 25 minutes walk to town). In 5 minutes you are on the beach of Marina Piccola.

Room Tip: First floor, front of the house (nicest view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pkd3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palatium Mari
Hotel Palatium Mari
#34 of 41 in Capri
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Sarah
Hotel Villa Sarah
#31 of 41 in Capri
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#7 of 41 in Capri
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Residenza
Hotel La Residenza
#27 of 41 in Capri
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Hotel 'A Pazziella
#28 of 41 in Capri
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nautilus

Property: Hotel Nautilus
Address: Via Marina Piccola 98, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nautilus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy a dream holiday on the island of Capri? Want to stay in a villa set in gorgeous gardens and with marvelous views of the sea? Like the idea of waking up to the sight and sound of the waves lapping the beach of Marina Piccola? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you're going to love Hotel Nautilus! Hotel Nautilus provides quality guest accommodation in standard, classic and superior bedrooms, all of which are furnished in typical Capri style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing