We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nautilus
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Not a far walk down from Capri Town at the top of the funicular. The bus stops right by the hotel so you can take it to town (uphill) but easy to walk home (downhill). When you first arrive take the bus or taxi from town or you are likely to get lost. The front courtyard is very pretty, the rooms are average - nothing fancy , breakfast decent. The lady who runs it is extremely helpful with exploring ideas. A short walk to a small rocky beach (they are all rocky). If you get a good price, it is worth the stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a front porch or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

The price is lower than others similar hotels in Capri.
The breakfast is very good and the service is very good also. The staff offer you different types of coffe and juice, fruits and breads. They serve you in your table.
The room is good, but not very luxurious, it is regular.
There is no elevator, but you have help to get your heavy luggage to your room in the second floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosinaldoBsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

we loved out say in Nautilus. Location was perfect if you wish to be in a calmer place, although not too far away from the maincentre of activities. the hotel itself is charming for someone who doesn't want to be in a big standardized hotel; rather you feel in a very familiar place. We had all comfort we needed, the place was clean and the owver was full of good advice. We already look forward to our next vist.

Room Tip: ask for a room with private terrace if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I don't usually review hotels, but would like to put in my two cents worth on the Hotel Nautilus. It is not the hell hole that was described by one of the prior reviewers. It is somewhat b&b style, with a pretty garden, run by an older woman who is doing her best to have an affordable stay in a very expensive location. She was always helpful when we asked for information. The hotel is quiet and the sound of the sea and birds in the trees a welcome change from the busy cities of Italy. Frankly, most every place on the island looked rather run down and I do not think I would choose Capri as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abqjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel Nautilus is a good place to stay when visiting over-priced Capri and seeking tranquillity without the discomfort of having to walk long distances.

This place, though outside the bustling central square, can be easily reached by taking a bus from Capri town to Marina Piccola (€1,80, leaves every 30 minutes) - or on foot, via a down-hill road (20 minutes). It's basically a big house with 10 rooms. Some rooms are with a sea view, and each has its own bathroom.
I found my room to be quite satisfactory: clean, comfortable (double) bed, and quiet. Latter mentioned could also be partly due to the fact that there were few other guests (in November).

The hotel is run by an elderly lady, Trudy, who is very friendly.
She was most keen to provide travel advice. Upon arrival, she presented a map and marked the highlights. Though this sounded well-rehearsed, I found her suggestions for destinations outside Capri to be quite useful.

The only disappointing aspect of my room was the shower: the stream of hot water coming out of it was rather weak, though sufficient.
I guess this had to do with the fact that water has to be imported from the mainland.

Still for 50 euro per night, including breakfast and free wifi - this on an island where everything is expensive - I am very pleased with my choice!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hotel Was actually a house converted into a hotel! Rooms were basic but good. The owner Is very sweet and friendly. The waiter for breakfast is also very accommodating and nice. Breakfast was good, including fresh bread, cheese, meat, fruit and coffees. 10 min walk to the free beach. Bus stop right outside the hotel takes u to the center in 10 minutes. Best of all, this hotel had a great roof top terrace with loungers and a shower where u can sunbathe while taking I'm the amazing mountain, ocean views! To summarize, a very peaceful hotel with good value for your money, with a personal touch! Definitely recommended by us!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ljcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Let me start this off by saying that YOU SHOULD NEVER EVER STAY AT THE HOTEL NAUTILUS.

If you are considering it, try sending the owner a check for half the cost of the room and then throw yourself down a flight of stairs and it will ultimately save you upset and discomfort.

Staying in the hotel Nautilus was the second worst hotel experience of my life. On a cost adjusted bases it far exceeds the time when I was a student travelling in Rome and accidentally and stayed in a hotel next to the Stazione with a communal bathroom and heroin addicts.

This hotel completely misrepresents itself online and prices itself equally with four star hotels in town. It is in the middle of nowhere, not walking distance from anything good. It is dirty and of very low quality and worst of all the owner is a miserable lying witch who is genuinely rude and dishonest.

Staying in the hotel is like staying in a nasty angry person’s house who you don’t know and paying them an egregious amount to do so. The beds are cheap and terrible, the doors to the rooms are plywood and thin, the bathroom is disgusting and similar to what you might expect to find in a halfway house, and worse of all is the air-conditioning basically does not work (the owner will claim it does) and it probably sprays Legionnaires’ disease on you while you sleep.

The honest truth is I checked in, went into town and was so upset that I looked for another hotel. I found the Hotel Palma which is four stars for EUR 10 less a night and left. I just paid the night at Nautilus not to stay there and had quite an unpleasant set of interactions with the owner on my way out. Note she is not even Italian, they should kick her off the island.

Again, YOU SHOULD NEVER EVER STAY AT THE HOTEL NAUTILUS.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.6 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palatium Mari
Hotel Palatium Mari
#32 of 40 in Capri
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Sarah
Hotel Villa Sarah
#31 of 40 in Capri
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#28 of 40 in Capri
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#13 of 40 in Capri
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nautilus

Address: Via Marina Piccola 98, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Price Range: £70 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nautilus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy a dream holiday on the island of Capri? Want to stay in a villa set in gorgeous gardens and with marvelous views of the sea? Like the idea of waking up to the sight and sound of the waves lapping the beach of Marina Piccola? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you're going to love Hotel Nautilus! Hotel Nautilus provides quality guest accommodation in standard, classic and superior bedrooms, all of which are furnished in typical Capri style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing