We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Personable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming Personable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was an absolutely beautiful, high-end boutique hotel. Our room was so charming; and even though we had not chosen a “sea view” room, we could look out on a beautiful garden area and still see the beautiful Sea of Naples from our patio. The neighborhood, which is quiet and a little away from town, was high on a cliff and beautiful. We could walk down to the marina and take the fabulous funicular into the center city or choose the services of the hotel to taxi us into downtown Capri. Andres the driver was wonderful and helpful, and seemed always available to take us to and from the main area of the town of Capri. The staff, particularly the concierge Vivienne, and the wonderful people who worked in the dining area could not have been nicer or more gracious. Vivienne was so helpful and informative about Capri, arranging tours and recommending places to see and multiple dining spots. Of all the hotels we stayed in Italy, this was by far the most charming and beautiful, and included a wonderful breakfast. I’ve read some of the other reviews; and although there are few negative reviews, what I notice is that those guests were simply not prepared for this type of hotel. The Excelsior Parco is small as it is a converted Roman villa, which is amazing to ponder. We too were expecting a palatial hotel with many amenities; but if you are looking for a Hilton or Four Seasons, this is not the hotel for you. Remember too that Capri is very expensive, and the pricing structure is quite different than what you might expect for hotels and restaurants. We did think that we would have access to the rooftop hot tub and there is not a pool on the property so that rating really does not apply.
Overall, this was a wonderful hotel with unexpected charm and personal attention, and absolutely stunning views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blittrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    106
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
137
688
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We would totally recommend this hotel for a stay in Capri. Unique hotel, spotlessly clean with the most caring attentive staff that could not do enough for you. We stayed here for five nights and the staff recommended restaurants, made reservations on our behalf, helped us with trips, walks, even as far as getting our return ferry tickets for us. They also have a car shuttle from 9 - 9 which at times was a blessing, after a day of walking all those steps! During our stay it was my birthday and not only did I get a surprise birthday cake on the terrace but also a bottle of champagne with their compliments. We stayed in room 31 and thoroughly recommend it, with hot tub on balcony and spectacular views. Fantastic hotel with truly personal service, we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

First off the staff is amazingly welcoming, friendly and attentive. When we noticed the bathrobes were ragged with holes and dirty they quickly brought new ones. When we noticed the toiletries were already open and half used they quickly brought up a 3 months supply. When we noticed that at a $800 a night hotel they had cheap thin worn cotton pillows they quickly brought up 4 more cheap thin worn cotton pillows. When our friends noticed that their sheets still smelled of perfume from the previous guest they promptly changed them.

The staff quickly addresses your complaints but for $800 US a night should you really have to spend your vacation complaining just to get clean sheets and unused toiletries?

The staff is nice but clearly poorly trained. The owner dupes tourists into an expensive "luxury" hotel with cheap hard mattresses worn out sheets and $10 pillows.

The owner of this hotel should be embarrassed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bmwalter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough. From pick up on arrival to the moment they drop you off at the port the staff are amazing and make you feel at home. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, there isn't a pool but a wonderful roof terrace. They also provide a free shuttle service which is invaluable.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreadtheword_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is amazing. It is the perfect boutique style hotel for any couple or family staying in Capri. It is small - with only 11 rooms. The room we stayed at was great - spacious, clean, beautiful furniture, and a balcony with amazing sea views. We also had a two person hot tub on the balcony which was the best part! The hotel staff is top notch. They are so attentive and helped with everything from room service to booking our excursions. The hotel also offers a free shuttle too and from Capri Center which was perfect! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - but I would recommend one with sea views and a hot tub as not all have one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

After we reserved through internet, response of the hotel was quick and heart-warming. When my wife and I arrived at Marine Grande, I called to the hotel and asked to pick us up. The car came in 10 min. When we arrived at before 11:00, our room was not ready yet so that reception staff kindly offer welcome drink in the restaurant, and recommended to have sightseeing of the city up on the hill. We left our luggage and the driver sent us to the city center again. Because of the location, it would be difficult to walk from the port with large luggage especially for aged person. We used this transportation service five times during one night stay there. People of the hotel are very friendly. Building of the hotel is fairly small but it has quite nice-looking as pictures. Dinner was tasty and reasonably priced, and again, service staff was kind and friendly. If I have a chance to re-visit the island, yes, I will stay Excelsior Parco.

Room Tip: Comfirm ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhiro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and have nothing but good things to say.
The location is great as you can easily access the town centre and also the port.
They have a free shuttle bus with a very lovely driver which makes it very easy to get around Capri. The hotel staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants, tours, sight seeing etc. were all perfect. Nothing was too much to ask. The staff made our stay feel very homely and relaxing. Breakfast in the courtyard each morning was the perfect start to the day and the welcome drink and snack on the roof top terrace was a great way to start our holiday. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Capri.

Room Tip: Seaview room is a must, amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahnee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.9 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.0 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Parco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Parco

Property: Hotel Excelsior Parco
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 179, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Capri
#2 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Parco 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two thousand years ago, an Ancient Roman residence, as testified by the column dominating the entrance to the hotel. At the start of the 20th century, a Liberty style villa, the chosen refuge of artists, intellectuals and all those looking for an exclusive hideaway. In 2006 a complete restoration and renovation transformed the building into a boutique hotel in which to experience the traditional hospitality of Capri's most elegant villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Parco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Parco Hotel
Excelsior Parco Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing