We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No balcony in classic rooms!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No balcony in classic rooms!! ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we weren't given the best first impression. We'd made our booking through Expedia for a classic room, which stated in the description that the room opened up to a balcony. However when we checked in, we were shown to an internal room with no balcony or terrace. We spoke to reception who agreed to show us an alternative room which was located in a annex building. This room also didn't have a balcony, but a small enclosed patio area with no view, which again was not what we expected from the photos and description on the website.

We went back to reception and expressed our expectations of a balcony given the online room description. This was rudely mocked by an arrogant member of reception who stated "you show me a classic room with a balcony". We offered to pay to upgrade the room but this couldn't be accommodated as the hotel was fully booked. We were disappointed with the rude and abrupt manner in which the matter was dealt with as this was not something you expected as a guest in a hotel. Had we known at the time of booking that the room description was incorrect, we would have booked a different room initially.

Whilst our first impression of the service we received was frustrating, our overall experience of the hotel was good. There was a nice selection at breakfast with friendly staff, the pool area was relaxing and the location was good for exploring the island. Our room was a little tired, but we put this down to being in the annex rather than the main hotel.

WiFi is very hit and miss and only seemed accessible close to reception and the breakfast area.

We would recommend this hotel, but if you want a room with a balcony do not book a classic a room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    163
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
84
337
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were unlucky with when we stayed here as the weather was AWFUL and stormy and the rain was torrential. The outdoor pool and bar were obviously not in use at this time, but this was no fault of the hotel staff. There are Turkish baths which can be used at no extra cost, but I was pregnant when we stayed and so these were unfortunately out of bounds for me...

The hotel itself is beautiful - modern and decorated very tastefully. Our room had a balcony (which got very little use because of the weather!), AC we could adjust, spare pillows, a safe and a lovely large en suite bathroom.

This was the best breakfast we had during our stay in Italy and included scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, quiche, ham and proscuitto, an array of lovely mini breakfast pastries, fresh chopped fruit, yoghurts, granola, breads, tomato and rocket salad, caprese cheese (which is lovely and you must try!) and a selection of Italian cakes and spreads & conserves. A large portion here keeps you going til well after lunch, which is a good thing on an expensive island!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we borrowed an umbrella when we were venturing out in the rain and they also arranged our luggage to be transported to the boat we were catching from the harbour on the day of our departure (€12 per bag mind you, but that was the luggage company's fee and it was nice to have go to the blue grotto and use the chair lifts and know our bags were waiting for us by the boat we would be catching later that day).

Capri is an expensive place to be and although this hotel was not cheap, we felt that you get what you pay for here and we had absolutely no complaints. We would stay here again if we were lucky enough to go back to Capri in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missus p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel della Piccola Marina is a pretty hotel with nice-sized rooms, good bathrooms, and a beautiful view of the mountains. It’s a 20 Euro (~$30 US) taxi ride uphill from the marina where the hydrofoils dock.

We booked through Expedia, enjoyed our one-night stay, then extended for another day. This caused a problem, because as the front desk explained it, one of their regulars wanted our first-floor room. So they made us move to a smaller, worse room on the third floor without a balcony, although we’d paid for a balcony. They insisted that THEY consider this lower-quality room to be in the “same category” as the one they’d moved us out of. They said it might have been different if we’d booked through the front desk, but since we booked online, they were moving us out.

There was no Internet at the pool, the bar, or most of the rooms, including apparently the entire third floor. The lobby is currently full of people checking email. After a long day visiting beautiful Capri, it’d be nice to be able to check email from the room.

It’s generally a nice place, but we were disappointed with the treatment.

Room Tip: The third floor doesn't get internet. Room 310 doesn't have a balcony, although it's th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a great stay here. The hotel was lovely, staff attentive and great location just a short walk from Capri, down to Marina Piccola or to the bus stop for Ana Capri. All this said I think prices are inflated for what you get - but I'd say that's pretty standard for Capri.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower ground floor have a terrace with direct access to the pool which is handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galagalawatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This our second time staying at the Hotel della Piccola Marina and loved it once again! The location is great, the rooms are clean and spacious. Great decor.The staff is wonderful...warm and kind.. Many thanks to all for making our stay with you so amazing!

Kind regards,

Michele Rowe

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying in our room at pool level. Nice terrace and you are right next to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miameme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Ill.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just wrapped up our 3rd visit to this hotel.

The experience gets better with every visit.

The staff (front desk, bellman, maids, breakfast servers) all go out of their way to smile and welcome you.

The front desk manager and General Manager are always on the premises and make every attempt to introduce themselves. They want to ensure your stay is satisfactory in every regard.

This is the only 4 star hotel I've visited that offers evening turn down and towel service. Every day we went to the (excellent!) breakfast buffet we returned to a room that was already made up for the day.

Our room was a basic pool view room and we had a separate, spacious shower stall separate from the bath tub.

The basic rooms are spacious. Design minimalist but very clean and color schemes pleasant. Beds comfortable. Air conditioning effective. TVs are adequate with a couple of English (news) channels, plus German and Spanish channel to go with basic local line up. Hotel WiFi is Free. Speed is spotty at best, but passable. If there are too many others trying to connect you may have to wait a bit.

This hotel does not disappoint and provides great value relative to nearby properties. I usually stay at 5 star hotels when traveling but I would not find the value in paying 2.0x - 2.5x that I do at Hotel Piccola Marina. I continue to like this hotel's location which is suited to those who like to spend their days on different parts of the island. Marina Piccola is a quick 10 min walk down the path. The walk to the Piazzetta is no longer than 10-12 min. Only time you need a taxi is to get to AnaCapri or to and from the Port (Marina Grande) with your luggage.

Don't hesitate to call hotel on your arrival so someone can meet you up the steps to assist with luggage.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark_W_Griswold_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at the Piccola Marina for one week with our little daughter. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes walk from central Capri, and has a large supermarket really close to it. The hotel is consistently upscale, but not luxury, throughout rooms, common areas and food. The service is excellent and is probably one of this hotel's strengths. A special thanks to Maria in the staff who was incredibly friendly and service minded!

Finding good value in Capri can be hard, I think this is one of few hotels which offers it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulletproof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#6 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Piccola Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Piccola Marina

Property: Hotel della Piccola Marina
Address: Via Mulo 14, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Capri
#5 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#13 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel della Piccola Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel della Piccola Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Piccola Marina Hotel
Della Piccola Marina Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing