We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ... But nothing special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Camerelle

Le Camerelle
Ranked #36 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good ... But nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Good food, good service, nice place, with a lot of people getting around .... A place to go for the first night in Capri, but not THE place to be!

Helpful?
Thank Thfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    82
    30
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Take care with the wine order - You could have to re mortgage your house!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice restaurant, just very slightly off the main tourist route in the centre of Capri, with a spacious outside terraced area and small 'booth tables' across the public pathway looking down towards the sea (not one of the best views in Capri but pleaasant enough). Nice food and generally attentive service, although the waiter did forget to bring our bread, needed to be reminded to bring our beers and seemed to forget our coffees! The food was very pleasant - I had an interesting 'crunchy octopus' starter followed by Bluefin Tuna Pasta with a Carbinara sauce - very nice and just a little different. Others in our party had a very nice raw tuna dish with grilled vegetables, swordfish in pistachio 'crumbs' and fried codfish - all very good. The wine was pretty good too - not particularly cheap by English restaurant standards at 40 - 50 Euros a bottle but by Capri standards our wine was pretty reasonable - unlike the most expensive wine on the wine list at 3600 Euros!! Many of the wines were above the 400 Euro mark so take care in ordering! Desserts were quite good without being anything special. Overall a very pleasant night - I'd consider eating there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Spot for a Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed a quiet lunch on the shaded outdoor patio of this Capri restaurant located at the end of the shopping area. Tables are dressed with clean white table clothes. The server was attentive to our needs. The Ceasar Salad with Shrimp was delicious. Portions are small, but filling.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiingFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

You might miss this restaurant as it's right at the very end of the shopping area, however having eaten there I'm glad we found it.

The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating, with crisp white table linen making it look very professional and clean. The restaurant was quite busy when we ate there. The staff are very pleasant and able to communicate in a number of languages.

The menu was extensive and the food was fairly quck arriving. The starters are large and we shared three between the two of us, along with a bottle of water.

I always find it strange that a charge is added to the bill per person (and then a service charge on top) but this seemed to be the Italian way.The restaurant was expensive but no more so than any of the other restaurants - it is Capri after all!

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_J_C_1_2_3_4_5_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonhutch
Level Contributor
205 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Brief review for a nice place we had lunch at last week. Good location, close enough to the centre of Capri but just on the outskirts so it isn't overrun. You have a choice of sitting on a terrace or in the main restaurant. Menu is typical of the area and all very nice. We had a fun lunch with a bottle of local wine. Full marks to the team who even remembered us a day later when we walked back through. Give it a go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simonhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Camerelle also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Le Camerelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing