We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was in a different century!”
Review of Il Viaggiatore B&B

Il Viaggiatore B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Viaggiatore B&B
Ranked #342 of 642 Naples B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Felt like I was in a different century!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This B&B off Piazza del Gesu Nuovo in Naples is a gem! From the moment you enter the courtyard through the massive archway and go up in the lovely old lift, you feel like old Italian nobility! The ceilings must be 20 feet high in this apartment - which offers 3 separate ensuite rooms. We had a very large room with a comfortable king-size bed (American queen) on the main floor and 2 double beds on the mezzanine. The 2 other rooms are doubles with ensuite facilities. The large and welcoming kitchen/living room was generously stocked with coffee, tea and snacks for guests to use at any time. The breakfast was more than ample with fresh pastries, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juices - enough to set you up for a day of sightseeing. Our host Giuliano, who lives in the other apartment on this floor, was absolutely delightful and very charming. I really loved this place - a definite one off which oozes character and personailty. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

PRO:Family owned and run. Clean beyond belief. Sheets washed, dried in the owner's daughter's private garden and pressed, safe feeling inside the B & B, Flavia spoke english as well as anyone in any B & B we stayed in Italy, very prompt with breakfast, unlike other B & B she actually made the coffee and serviced the breakfast at a very comfortable table setting, plenty of food, large bedroom, at least a 15 foot high ceiling, chair, plenty of hangers, a table with light alongside each side of the bed, well lit bedroom, two tall floors from street level, elevator, best location between two important piazzas, close to taxis, close to Nazionale museum (up via Toledo, entrance on intersecting street), cloisters (don't miss), churches, and other main attractions, hair dryer provided, library of books in the very nice hallway leading to your bedroom, unlike other B&B, Flavia did everything, cleaning, greeting, breakfast, billing, so you only had to deal with and was the only one allowed in besides the other 2 guest rooms, Flavia spoke several languages and exceptional English. We did not worry about leaving things in our room when we left because we trusted her and she was the only one and did all the work and it was exceptionally secure. Flavia really seems to enjoy her job there and was very helpful and went out of her way to help, the mattress was fine hotel quality and we slept great, easy access to recharge batteries, plenty of room to organize your belongings, very fresh look of a remodeled appartment. It only had two other guest rooms. Flavia said B&B's were only allowed 3 guest rooms per B&B.

CON:Italy no longer allows B&B's to prepare meals because they were competing too successfully with the hotels, so food was all purchase prepared except the coffee, the taxi would not drop me off at the door because he would have had to dirve more and circle around down the one way street and he had told me what he would charge before leaving the airport, the B&B is on a courtyard of private appartments and it is not obvious where the entrance is, the street numbers on the one side are misleading as they do not correspond closely to the other side, there is a bar by the same name, no connection, 2 or 3 doors along the same side, it is on a side street which is very animated at night so we felt safe having so many people around when going back after dark but it was a little noisy, there was a lot of graffiti on the wooden entrance door to the courtyard and everywhere else in Naples. After we arrived Flavia's map was not very detailed and it took us a long time to work through the directions she gave to get to the restaurant she recommened, because it is in a private courtyard there is no big sign indicating "IL Viaggiatore" that we saw. You can hear others flushing their toilet at night. Shower is a small corner one, doors slide back on each side.

TIPS: Unit number 6. There is a little button with a bell on it in the upper right corner. Near Piazza Gesu Nuovo, (if you're giving help to the cab driver) Flavia said it is the most important one in Naples. It does have a tourist office there, many cabs, and three incredible sites there or nearby. The entrance is near the bend of the small street the B&B is on and is on outside of the bend as opposed to the inside. Get a map print out of where it is on Google etc. before arriving, insist that the cab take you to the door, taxi had to ask 2 different people he stopped along the street to find out where it was, (he tried to get us to hire him to take us to Pompeii), it should be 20 euros from the airport, we were charged 23 even though the meter read less, perhaps there is a bag fee, or perhaps he was just pocketing the difference, (More likely) the entrance sits back about 20 feet into a private driveway/courtyard so look for something set back during the day, at night the big wooden doors are closed along the street and need to be unlocked before seeing the interior gate. Bring a flashlight, or use you cell phone, though with good eyes you won't need it. The interior gate is a very imposing, very secure, very heavy iron barred gate of solid iron bars. Flavia will tell you the code to press to ring the door bell when you first arrive. The wooden doors on the street which are closed at night require one key and the interior iron gate requires another. There is a button to push when you exit the iron gate if you don't want to use the key. You need a third very fancy secure key to enter the owner's suite, the left appartment is the B&B and requires a 4th very fancy secure key. Then a 5th key, simple one, is used to lock one's bedroom door. If you have heavy bags, or not, you can go up an elevator that is quite old. You need to close the wooden doors when you get on and off for it to work properly for the next user. The light switch above the kitchen stove is tricky to locate so ask when you arrive. Put the extra towell over the bathroom stand to provide a nice clean top for all your bathroom gear.

Bathroom fan stays on for about 5 minutes after turning it off.

Beware of being distracted by an according player when you tour the city as it appeared that he was working with a pick pocket.

This GPS coordinate will get you pretty close, within feet, N 40.84755 E 014.25063
www.bbilviaggiatore.it which means traveler in Italian ph: 39 08 14 20 61 73

The "bar" nearby liked the name so much they too used it, unfortunately perhaps, but they were kind enough to direct me to the B&B when I saw their t-shirt with the same name.

This is the most complete review I've ever written because of all the positives it had over other B&B's we stayed. The reviews were so good I thought they were planted but now that I have stayed there myself I see that they were deserved. One other thing, every country gives directions with their own style. I found Italy to direct you quickly with the assumption you knew before asking exactly where to go. Negotiating Italy's streets require more than the quick directions the tourist office gives you and I found people standing within feet of a major tourist attraction did not know where it was. When we asked the police they knew. There are police everywhere in Naples. We could not have found a better location. The taxi who took us to our Hertz rental car near the harbor pretended not to know where it was so the 10 euro car fare was 25 euros. 5 more than what the meter showed after driving all over and finally dropping us off where we still had to walk. The actual LatLongs for Hertz are N 40.84097 E 014.25682 as it was a relatively new location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowmassbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were going to be at Naples two days, so we wanted to be in a place close to all the most important things to see and in a safe area. B&B Il Viaggiatore is the perfect choice for that!

The rooms were very very clean, spacious, conforables and the B&B was perfectly situated to see all the most importants things you have to see in Naples. And, this is important for all the visitors that can feel afraid, the area around the B&B is 100% safe!

But most important, we had the feeling that we were in a place in wich we felt almost like at home and that was provided by Flavia, the excellent host with a high cultural level, very kind with us, attending to all our necessities. In our case, we started a conversation talking about many things of Naples' history and Italy and she did it so well that our breakfast were warm and sweet, feeling like in our own home, listening, learning and putting into a context many of the things that we were going to see, that made our touristic days a different experience from the start.

Muchas gracias por todo Flavia y mucha suerte!!!
Javier & Helena

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javi_sin_apellidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

If we were ever to come back to Naples, we would choose to stay again at Il Viaggiatore – without any hesitation. There's no faulting it - a lovely old building with a quaint lift (that works), comfortable tidy rooms, a great kitchen with tea, coffee, fruit juices and snacks at one’s disposal, good breakfasts (loved the figs) and, above all, the lovely Flavia whose generosity in kindness abounds. Her English is excellent and her enthusiasm and passion for Naples is infectious. Il Viaggiatore is perfectly placed for exploring the historic places of this much undervalued, vibrant and fascinating city. Great value too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank textilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
como, italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Beautiful ancient noble building in Naples downtown. Friendly, clean, neat, confortable apartment. kitchen at disposal. Many different room with many possibilities of accomodation. Ideal for group of friend and families with kidz. English, French, German spoken. Flavia, the owner, will advise you about all small undercovered corner of Naples, and will make you feeling at home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay in Naples specially because we chose Il Viaggiatore!!
Clean, comfortable and in the centre of a vibrant and fascinating city.
But first of all we really loved the owner Flavia, she showed us the beauty of Naples.
Can't recommend highly enough!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at Il Viaggiatore B&B for 17 days. We rented the entire B&B since we were a family of 6 adults and 2 babies under 2. Flavia was very warm and welcoming and went out of her way to make us feel at home (and even provided an infant travel cot). When we forgot our baby carrier behind she kindly post it back to us.

The B&B is very conveniently located - walking distance to the funiculars, train station and the ferry docks. It is also located in the old town if you wanted easy access to all the touristy things. We enjoyed staying there and feeling like a local as you can find lots of local merchants, pizzerias and a favourite cafe.

We highly recommend. Great for families, couples, friends.

Room Tip: The room facing the interior couryard is the quietest and also the largest (sleeps 4, one double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Graziani Relais B&B
Graziani Relais B&B
#217 of 642 in Naples
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Pendino
B&B Civico 16
B&B Civico 16
#277 of 642 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Pendino
Miseria e Nobilta Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Carafa di Maddaloni B&B
Carafa di Maddaloni B&B
#77 of 642 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Pendino
Portalba Relais
Portalba Relais
#264 of 642 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Pendino
B&B Le 4 Stagioni Dante's Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Viaggiatore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Viaggiatore B&B

Property: Il Viaggiatore B&B
Address: Via Cisterna Dell'Olio 13, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 642 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Viaggiatore B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Il Viaggiatore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing