We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, no idea what I ate.”
Review of La Campagnola

La Campagnola
Ranked #206 of 2,874 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Pendino
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch, no idea what I ate.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Service was generally ok (for Naples), food was very good and affordable. We'd go back here again if it wasn't located in Naples.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    444
    158
    84
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west central Georgia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“an opportunity to try new foods”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a similar experience to the reviewer in that the waiter suggested that we order the 3 plates of mixed antipasto. . .and then we wished that we had asked the price! Yes--20 Euros just for the 3 plates! However, our overall picture was brighter than that of the other reviewer. We had not ever had several of the appetizers, so we looked at the experience as an opportunity. Also, when we ordered separate pastas, the waiter told us that we should split one order and that we would not need the 2 orders. We took his suggestion of sharing 2 seconds, instead, and ordered braciola (spelling?) which we had never had and eggplant parmesan (which was "okay" to me, not great, but I was very full by then). Others commented about being rushed, but we arrived early in the evening before the restaurant became crowded. We had also told the waiter that our B & B host had recommended his restaurant, so maybe that information helped us have a better evening than some had. For us, this restaurant was fine except for the shock of the cost of the antipasti! But we have learned to ask more questions!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frugal-Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average and waiter recommended bad dishes”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We went to La Campagnola based on a recommendation in a guest book. It is a charming looking place and was reasonably full when we arrived. The waiter recommended a mixed antipasta - it was not on the list of options but seemed like a good choice as an option. Stupidly we did not ask the price and it was €10 per person. Given that all the other antipasta were 3-4 euro we could have saved money by ordering seperate dishes. Really let down as it was ok but not outstanding - definately ripped off with being nieve and tourist. Main dishes were ok, sausage that he recommended for the children was fatty and full of gristle.
Go but beware of poor food and bad advice from waiters.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aplaceinumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad choice”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Food is not good. Pasta not fresh, grilled vegetables were literally out of the fridge (cold) and not made in the moment... and waiters were incompetent. In the same street you can have much better experiences.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank farantesrodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Had actually gone into another place which was recommended as the best in town in one of the well known travel guides. On seeing the waiter there pop a nice looking starter into a microwave we walked out immediately and came across this place just up the road.
Had very friendly and helpful service with good recommendations from the selection written on the blackboard on the wall.
After great antipasta ended up with an excellent grilled fish dish, accompanied by some very nice local white wine. Would certainly go back.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Campagnola also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing