We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sorbillo

Sorbillo
Ranked #46 of 2,796 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pizza worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It is a Pizza place that always has a waiting line, while the surrounding other hundreds of pizza joints are empty.
The pizza is excellent. The service is mediocre. You are expected to eat and get out. If you want a leisurely meal you are in the wrong place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,678
    2,641
    1,032
    468
    379
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I share some of the comments that were made here about this Pizzeria. I wasn't that impressed but also came in with (very) high expectations. First, its packed. If you are sitting downstairs, people will constantly be entering and leaving so forget about anything experiential. Second, it's "in and out". Eat your pizza (fast) and leave. Don't even think about sipping a nice red wine with your pizza (no wine list). Third, and probably most important, the pizzas were good but not astounding. I'm not sure the quality of the pizza outweigh the other inconveniences (lines and fast-food-type of experience).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yulcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I guess I just prefer the pizza in Rome—thin, not dressed with too much, just some good tomato sauce, and fior di latte mozzarella, basil leaf. Went with my wife to Sorbillo, ordered a Margherita and (I think) a Marinara. Both were fairly thick, oily, damp in the centre, gooey. And the mozzarella was pretty poor. Good pizza is never gooey—and the mozzarella shouldn't be "Cheesey." They put lots on, as though that would make up for the poor quality. I thought it was at best, OK, but I wouldn't return. I had the impression that the pizza was now being tuned to suit North American tastes. Does anyone know if this is true? Not awful awful, but really, not very good. I'm sure it must have been better at some point in the past.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited Sorbillo for lunch as well as dinner in the last week of May 2014. It was recommended by the B&B owner where we were staying. Though we were forewarned about it being crowded, we were still surprised to see the queues outside. Fortunately the queue management system was efficient, and both times we got our table in around 20 minutes.

Once we got the pizza, we concurred that the wait was worth it. The pizzas were truly delicious - freshly baked, great sauce, great taste of cheese. One of the best pizzas I ate in Italy. Good Italian beer to go with it. (Note - we tried only vegetarian pizzas - Marinara (the best), Margharita and one with mushrooms)

If you are looking for a fine dining experience, great ambiance, great service - then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for great pizzas and a complete value for money experience, then Sorbillo it is!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prateek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holds true to its name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Yes, this is the place you should go for pizza in Naples. Service was incredible fast and pizza was delicious. Plus very cheap. Exactly what one expects!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZioSeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorbillo also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Sorbillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing