We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look beyond first impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Look beyond first impressions”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed three nights during a fortnight in Italy. I've marked 'Excellent' because you really can't fault this hotel IF you know what to expect. Yes the luggage lift is a bit strange, so why not JUST use it for luggage then? Yes the area is a bit scary, but have you seen the REST of Naples? In comparison, this area is a HAVEN!! We stayed in Naples, Nerano and Rome at the start of April 2013. Although I can understand 'some' of the more negative views expressed here, you REALLY have to look at this hotel, it's staff and facilities in the correct context to appreciate that the transformation of the available space into a hotel of any calbre is an amazing feat, and yet they have done it here with style and grace. The staff are very well-trained, attentive, courteous and thoroughly deserving of praise. And of the three great hotels that we stayed in during our fortnight in Italy, this was the most pleasantly surprising. First impressions ARE important, but lasting impressions more important still. We learned a lot about Naples, the people and the culture during our short stay and I would be delighted to pass on any tips to any prospective travellers, to save you time and money. Look at Decumani De Charme as a very comfortable, safe and charming place to stay, with a perfect location and great staff, in the heart of what can be a very edgy, seductive; almost scary and vibrant city and you won't go far wrong.

Sights
DO go on a City Sightseeing bus tour. Buy all 3 routes and literally hop off & on when the bus stops (if you want) there'll be another bus along soon to continue you tour. We only got off for a few stops - you'll never manage all of the tour if you keep hopping off!

Drinks.
The hotel offers some good red & white house wine. Do NOT be tempted to buy your own in a supermarket UNLESS you know precisely what you're looking for.
Do buy a beer at the counter in any bar, pay for it and THEN ask for a seat. Do it the other way around and you'll be charged for cover, where you sit, a more expensive beer and service charge. San Miguel 0.8 euros or 5 euros your choice!

Enjoy Naples and this hotel, the first day we were scared, the second day adventurous and the third day, sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had a double-superior I believe. Very comfortable memory foam matress, whirlpool bath and view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcusDeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    627
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
350
885
70
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at the due umami hotel de Charme one night after arriving in Naples.
The staff were lovely and gracious and very helpful. The breakfast room is very pretty.
However the hotel itself is a little shabby and I was not comfortable with the neighborhood it was in. The elevator should be just for luggage as it is creepy to be in

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel is right in the old part of Naples and perfect to get to all the best sights. The breakfast room is beautiful and there is a very relaxed atmosphere hiding behind the busy city streets. The only advice I have would be to pay a bit extra and upgrade your room. Although our room had a door with access to a balcony overlooking the street - this was around a corner in the and there was no natural light and it wasn't that pleasant to relax/read in. I think all the photos on the website are of superior rooms and I saw one through and open door and it looked beautiful.
The staff are very friendly and approachable.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel but would request a superior room this time!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This small stylish hotel in the historical centre of Naples is ideally located to explore the many delights of this city on foot. There is also easy access to the metro, buses and the Circumvesuviana for exploring further afield.The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is hearty and sets you up for a great start to the day.
Thoroughly recommended and great value for money. .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kieran723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed one night before heading out to the Amalfi Coast on a walk. The Decumani is a wonderful small hotel in a great location - a quiet side street in the Spaccanapoli. Very clean with an excellent, friendly and welcoming . Elena at the front desk was terrific - very helpful and always with a big smile. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I have had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel.

1 It was great value for money
2. It was spotlessly clean
3. The staff could not be more helpful
4.The location is fantastic.
5. The breakfast was good quality

I have stayed at many hotels and this wonderful hotel in the centre of one of Europe's most vital, chaotic and interesting cities is just a real good experience.From the time we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and certainly the free room up grade made things even better.
This is a quiet hotel with only 22 rooms but the facilities , for the price were more than adequate.
I find this hotel difficult to be critical of, even the mini bar is very reasonable.Perhaps if there were coffee and tea making facilities in the room it might improve things, but then again why would one be making instant coffee in your room when outside on the street some of the best coffee in the world is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The main areas of this hotel are stunning, particularly where breakfast is served.
Breakfast is average, with pastries, juice, coffee, fruit, etc. but it has all you need to set you up for the day.

The air conditioning is a blessing as we travelled in August.
The bathroom was very spacious and modern, and the room were clean and comfortable.

The staff were very helpful and are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#13 of 186 in Naples
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,046 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 186 in Naples
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing