We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent three nights in the Decumani hotel, and loved it. The location is the best there is, at the heart of the old city, and the neighborhood is full of sites, is lively and seems to be safe, even at night. The staff is very friendly and very helpful, and was glad to fulfill a special request that we sent by email before arriving. The room is nice, very clean, breakfast is good and the dining room is beautiful. Next time in Naples, we shall choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
There are newer reviews for Decumani Hotel de Charme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

First impressions count! The front desk clerk was absolutely amazing. Warm, friendly and inviting person who took a genuine interest in us and who went out of her way to be helpful. She really made the difference. Thank you!

The hotel itself feels tired. The beds are good, but the room itself feels a bit on the dreary side. The art in the main dining room is beautiful. However, the water stains on the ceiling give the place a bit of a dingy feel.

The hotel NEEDS to improve its breakfast. Very little selection. "Stale" comes to mind. The rolls are hard, and the little packet of chocolate I took had a small hole in it - making me wonder how long it had been like that. When I returned to the hotel after a day of touring at 4:00, I saw that the bread in the kitchen was still out and had or been put away.

Overall, pluses and minuses. Great front staff it they have work to do I other areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scho31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Sometimes, trip advisor reviews worries us. It especially worries me when staff at any place are so focused on trip advisor reviews. On arrival we were reminded to review this hotel, and it was the last thing said as we left. So, here it is:

Good:
Location. You can not get better than this, right in the heart of the Centro Storico.
Suggestions. The trattoria suggested to us was excellent and go to the pizza place they suggest.

Not so good:
Look, it's an old building, and it's lovely, but, it's not spectacular. The rooms, ours a standard, are sparse, unloved. We wanted to love it. But, we just couldn't. The shared window/balcony was nice, but we had nice neighbours...

The breakfast room, raved about by many, is lovely, or was, when someone cared for it, which was a while ago. And the breakfasts what an uncomfortable mess. I'm not fussed about there not being much on offer, honestly, it's just a freebie but to have to ask for a glass, some milk, a coffee - with everything empty was embarrassing, not for them but, for us.

The wifi is iffy.

The staff were great.

This place needs some love. And sadly, as people to love-up lots of things. We can't recommend you stay here - or if you do, do so for location only!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent three nights in room 201 and found the room to have many challenges. These included:
- the WiFi does not work in the room. If you want consistent Internet access you need to sit in the lobby of lounge area;
- the initial towels that were placed in the room included one that was so frayed it had holes in it;
- the bath/shower does not have a 'shower curtain', meaning you have to mop the bathroom floor after each shower;
- I tried to order a pay for view event and was advised that it could not be viewed in my room. I was kindly offered another room, however by the time it was set up 20 minutes had elapsed in the event.

The location is great as are the staff and the amazing breakfast room. However the weaknesses outweigh these strengths.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Metroboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Tucked away down a side street, up stairs, into a charming hotel you would never expect to be there! The reception was very welcoming and the staff as well. The room was fairly large with massively tall ceilings. It is reminiscent of a palace with it decor and large breakfast room. Although a bit run down, the grand room was still pretty and breakfast was great. A nice little find in Napoli!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GyPsYs0uL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

How things change. This place is sinking fast. The rooms are the same under-lit dull and the bathroom has still got the broken tiles and no shower curtain. The jacuzzi type bath is acryllic and moves with every heave in and out. The breakfast is quite bad The juice is watered down so badly it is difficult to catch the flavour. The bread was stale, the fruit was hard as nails and the little packets of toast were all broken in lots of tiny pieces. The big plus is that thr staff are still terrific and helpful in every way. The place just needs investment in my view.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, in large part to Federica at the front desk who is so friendly and helpful! Thank you Federica for your excellent recommendations about restaurants and sights. The rooms in the hotel are up-to-date and clean, and the prices are very reasonable. If you stay here, just know that the hotel is located in the old city and the neighborhood has quite a gritty feel. The approach and entrance to the hotel do not reflect what you find inside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_S_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
#11 of 185 in Naples
1,239 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#18 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £93 - £860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing