We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service in Historic Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous service in Historic Naples”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Decumani de Charme is a lovely little hotel in the historic district of Naples. Carlos was amazing in assisting us to find the parking garage andget is settled. Our room was average size for Italy, but decorated with antique furniture that suited the ambiance of the old building. The hotel itself is beautiful, and situated in a lively and vibrant community near the university.

Overall, our experience at this hotel was fabulous and I'd recommend it as part of a trip to Naples.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickelodeon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    627
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
350
885
70
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We came from the ferry port, it took about 20min on footwith cases. Initially I thought the area was a bit doggy, but it was great when you got in. Just near by there was a good street for wondering round. It's not far to the main museum on foot. The staff were excellent and very kind to our 3 yr old. The taxi to the airport was about 16 euros. Overall excellent hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

One's first impression of this hotel is bad, even scary. After entering a sort of driveway, you have the choice of either the stairs or the elevator to get up to the lobby. The elevator is appalling, too small for two people and two suitcases, and it's remarkably dingy. But the stairs make it look like the Taj Mahal. The staircase seems not to have had even the lightest cosmetic upgrade since the last time the Archbishop of Naples lived there (two centuries ago?). I mean this literally. Once inside the hotel, the esthetic does improve considerably: the lobby is attractive and welcoming. Staff on our arrival were very helpful, but not particularly knowledgeable about the property. Our room was very small, which I usually don't mind at all, but this was just TOO small; there was no place to put suitcases, so we constantly stumbled over them. Linens (bed and bath) were acceptable. Shower was above average for Europe (meaning it only flooded part of the bathroom, and the drain did work after a fashion, but only if you kept the water pressure of the shower at a mere trickle...otherwise, within half a minute you're standing in 5 inches of water.) Breakfast (included) was sub-par. Dried out breads, some slice mortadella, forlorn slices of nondescript cheese, mediocre coffee. Minimal selection. The breakfast room was nice in a faded grandeur sort of way. By far the most egregious problem we had here was the air conditioning. There is a thermostat in the room that displays temperature and purports to give you the opportunity to set a comfortable temp, but as it turns out, this is meaningless. The front desk controls the temp for each room on the computer. We had to ask explicitly to have it turned on at all, and hours later when it failed to cool the room even a single degree (it actually got hotter) we called and had to beg and plead for an adjustment; it had been set at 26. Staff begrudgingly set it lower, and when an hour later the room continued to get even hotter, they bent over backwards to offer to lower it another HALF DEGREE. It was all for naught: the room stayed stubbornly around 25-26 degrees. Naples in July can be a bit steamy, and this failure of the A/C (an advertised benefit of this hotel) made for some very uncomfortable sleepless nights. The hotel's location is quite good, within walking distance of most of the sites you'll want to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeblitzflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Naples can feel overwhelming and even hostile when you first arrive and the entrance to this hotel, a rather grimy looking courtyard off a dark alleyway, might not dispel that feeling in any way. Yet once you arrive upstairs, all qualms will vanish. The hotel seems to have taken over a gorgeous old palazzo with gilded, painted ceilings and winding corridors. The rooms are immaculately clean and furnished with antique wardrobes and drawers. The "charm" is not at all overrated. The staff were wonderful, helping out with everything from extra pillows to advice on where to eat and what to see in the neighborhood. Despite the grime on the streets, you are very centrally located here in the historic district, only a few minutes walk from the Spazza Napoli, the Duomo and the Archeological Museum. Be sure to tell your taxi driver to take you the Piazza San Giovanni Maggiore as two of the taxi drivers we hired at the train station didn't know where the hotel was. Once at the hotel, the staff will arrange for any taxi rides after that at negotiated rates. We had a fantastic stay at this wonderful little hotel and would recommend it to anyone headed to Naples!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you want to get a real feel for Napoli then stay at the Decumani De Charme. The rooms inside the hotel have been updated and are by clean. The staff was great and extremely helpful. Outside the hotel is a different story. It's almost like stepping back in time a hundred years or so. If you've been to New York then Napoli won't seem so harsh. If you are arriving in Napoli by train you"ll want to take a taxi to the hotel. We walked everywhere else during our stay. This is the place you"ll want to stay if you are planning on staying in Napoli.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trptpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The main entrance might put you off, but inside the hotel has a charming atmosphere. Breakfast room is absolutely amazing. Staff is kind, nice and really helpful. Location is great. We were pleased and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonella v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Don't be fooled by the approach, which can appear somewhat foreboding - this hotel is a real gem - and right in the heart of the tourist area. Naples has had somewhat of a bad reputation, but, at no time, did we feel threatened, or even at risk. The hotel certainly has charm - the rooms are full of character - the dining room, in particular, conjures up thoughts of faded elegance -it is so easy to imagine you are back in the days of the knights of old. The staff, especially Carlo, on reception, and Antonio in the dining room, were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#13 of 186 in Naples
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,050 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 186 in Naples
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing