We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the historical heart of Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“In the historical heart of Naples”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If this is your first time in Naples, you may be put off by how the historical centre looks. Narrow streets, dark at times, all the walls spray painted, some trash here and there. Don't be fooled: there is A LOT of history there. The hotel is located in the middle of it all and this makes it very easy to sight see, especially for people who only have a day or two to spend there. We arrived at the port from Capri and got a taxi to the hotel (10 euro). The hotel is located off a courtyard and has good amenities. We were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who showed us to our room and gave suggestions of where to go and places to eat. We stayed in a triple room who was big enough for us, had a small balcony and a good bathroom. Wi-fi in the room worked well and the only minor I can think of was the lighting in the room: it could perhaps have some more light for reading and other activities. The room also offers one pillow per person. For me, not issue at all, but I know it can be for some. The breakfast room is beautiful, an attraction by itself! As we left very early in the morning, we didn't get to try their breakfast, but I am sure the room by itself is already very enjoyable. A good place to stay, a bit of an oasis in a somewhat chaotic city!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    629
    128
    59
    24
See reviews for
353
893
71
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Difficult to find (up stairs, off a courtyard, down a lane off a sidestreet) but worth the effort - good location in the historic part of Naples and with helpful staff. It is decorated in a rather grandiose style with high ceilings and 19th century furniture; our room was deliciously cool and spacious enough for the three of us. My sone enjoyed the jacuzzi!The breakfast room was rather fabulous - an enormous baroque hall (albeit with damaged ceilings!) - and the breakfast itself was satisfactory. We felt very safe and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hatfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I loved staying in Decumani Hotel de Charme from the moment I walked down the narrow cobbled street, in through the very original courtyard entrance (with the obligatory motorbikes parked in front of the stairs), up the once grand, now rather dingy staircase and into the gracious and elegant Reception area.
I stayed for a week, and would go back tomorrow if I could. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. My room was spacious, clean and tastefully furnished (good shower, pretty comfortable bed and large windows). The breakfast room is spectacular if in need of some repairs - but this added to the 'authentic' charm for me. The staff at breakfast were friendly, polite and efficient and made an excellent cappuccino on request.
The hotel is well located if you want to explore the 'centro storico' and experience the sights and sounds of Neapolitans going about their lives; the evening gatherings in the piazzas; the sometimes amazing graffiti; the museums, galleries and churches. It's in easy walking distance (even in a very hot August) of many key sites and attractions, the train station and the docks. It's also very close to a number of piazzas where it's just good to hang out over a coffee, beer or gelato.
Highly recommended for those who like to take their travel experience with a few grains of the local flavour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

You feel you are experiencing the real life of Napoli when you enter this former palace. If you prefer the hotel Hilton experience then it may not be right for you. I liked it very much. The staff were great, the rooms clean and kept daily. Architecture and detailed furnishings were eye catching.

Room Tip: Shower is a squeeze for a 200lb man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMcK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We paid a little extra for a luxury room for our two night stay, which was
large, well furnished, and with a very comfortable bed. Customer service
was excellent, with very polite, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast
buffet had a good variety. The street that the hotel is on does look
quite grim, but we had no issues with that as we enjoyed the general vibe
and atmosphere of Naples old town.


I would stay here again if returning to Naples.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and would go as far to say that we have never stayed in a hotel with such great hotel staff. They were always happy to help, approachable and smiling - perfect.

We had a great room with a jacuzzi bath. The room was always cleaned thoroughly and the whole hotel was well kept. The breakfast room was beautiful, the walls and ceiling were elaborately decorated but do need a little restoration to be returned to their original brilliance.

The hotel is located just off spaccanapoli, which meant we could easily get to the seafront and the station. Be warned though the entrance to the hotel is not what we were expecting. The hotel is set inside a building with dodgy-looking-graffiti-covered entrance. Take the small run-down lift up 2 floors and then you are in the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abigailcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Despite a few hiccups....we would stay there again.
The hotel has a great location right in the centre of Napoli at a walking distance of many sites. Its central position also put you in the heart of the atmospheric Napoli with a fairly shaby entrance and a dodgy lift that makes you first wonder where you are landing. Then you arrive at the reception at the first floor of this old building and everything is charming. The central attraction of the Decumani hotel is the dining room, which needs a bit of conservation work (Oh my god, did they really PIN a flag to the old walls and its golden decorations...noooooooo!) but offers a grand setting for the breakfast. The breakfast was simple but nice.
The rooms are large enough to accomodate a family with a child and the bathroom is comfortable.
We had a few misadventures...first after arriving , droping the suitcases and rushing to see the town, we were asked upon our return in the evening if we would mind changing rooms to free ours that was the only one with facilities for handicapped. of course we agreed wondering though if they could not have managed this better? but hey, they graciously offered us free access to the minibar to thank us so... Then the second night the air con broke down and it got a bit stuffy in there in the middle of the Italian summer... When we told the reception the next day, we had no surprise, no apologies, just a "ah ok, we will call the maintenance"... ah, ok...that's fine then...for the next guest!

but hey...overall, we did have a good experience and loved the location, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinesharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,071 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#18 of 186 in Naples
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing