We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in the heart of old Naples.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

When the taxi dropped us off at the courtyard entrance, we wondered...but, after a friendly greeting from the porter and an elevator ride to the second floor, we stepped into another world. The hotel takes up the second floor of a former bishop's palace, with the 20-foot ceilings, stonework, and ambience to match. Our standard room was comfortable and very attractively appointed, with a balcony overlooking the street. Surprisingly quiet at night. All of the staff members are exceptionally pleasant, friendly, and helpful, providing detailed maps of the area, many recommendations, and binders full of photos of local attractions. The breakfast room is simply exquisite, with walls covered with baroque decorations and a huge ceiling mural. Excellent breakfast buffet of cold meats, cheeses, yogurt, and fresh pastries and fruit. Super location, within easy walking distance of so many Neapolitan sights. What a lucky find! We are so glad we found it on the Internet, and had the opportunity to experience such a marvelous small hotel.

Room Tip: Room 209 has a double glass door balcony (shared with the next room) that provides air and light in...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArlettaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
There are newer reviews for Decumani Hotel de Charme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

It's the friendly and helpful staff that make this hotel stand out. But the location is also excellent - within reach of everything and close to the universities, which gives the area a special atmosphere. If you're new to Naples, the entrance may seem a bit tatty, but once Naples grows on you you'll see it a different way: it's in a lovely, authentic courtyard. In any case, when you get upstairs to the hotel, it's beautiful. It's a former palace and I've rarely taken breakfast anywhere as grand as the main room here. Our room was small but cosy, clean and tastefully kitted out. It was also very quiet. This is a modest hotel, in that it's not huge and has no bar or meals other than breakfast, but the service you'll get is first class, so it's really good value for money.

Room Tip: 239 has a huge bathroom with French doors
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank kentishtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The location is right in the heart of the historic part of the city and a great base from which to explore. The room is comfortable with all you would expect to find in it. The staff go out of their way to help you meet your needs, even providing me with special Gluten Free items for breakfast. Great with advice too on using the public transport, where to visit, where to eat etc. The hotel has a homely feel and welcome. It supplies good information resources too, weather, timetables for ferries, trains etc. A great base!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

At first glance, you wonder what you've gotten yourself into! Keep going though and you'll find a charming hotel. Located in the old quarter of Naples, the hotel has been renovated and work continues. The staff was very helpful, especially Frederica at the front desk. The room was nice and spacious though the roll-away bed collapsed when our daughter was in it. Fortunately, not far to fall! The breakfast room is as stunning as proclaimed to be and the surroundings were a great way to start the day. Convenient to many transportation, major attractions and an eclectic mix of shops and offerings.
There was a major transportation strike and kudos to Frederica for finding alternative transport to the airport.
I don't think we would stay at this hotel again only because we'd like to be in another area of Naples. This area is loud, dirty, gritty, and graffiti is everywhere. It is unfortunate that some of the historical buildings are covered in it. But, it also boasts a restaurant with one of the best pizza pies in the city!
Negative: Hotel needs a lounge or some type of area where guests can get a drink and snack after a long day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I imagine Naples is a marmite city, you either love or hate it. Irrespective of this, the hotel is well located and one of the best city 3 star hotels I have every stayed in. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. However you have to accept that it is a three star hotel so there are limited services. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank HughZabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel was the perfect base for our weekend trip. An historic building so lots of lovely architecture, especially the ornate breakfast room but with all the modern touches you need.
The staff were all helpful and informative, both the numerous emails we exchanged before the trip and during our time there. Taxis, restaurants, you name it! We had a busy time and it was always lovely to come back to the hotel to relax. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank maryess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a wonderful small, friendly hotel among the back streets of old Naples. It was a great base to explore from. The staff making our stay memorable, with recommendations for restaurants and assisting in the planning of days out. When one of our group became ill,the night reception, was so helpful and kind with finding suitable care and a out of hours doctor.
I would happily return to Decumani Hotel and recommend it to friends and family. Enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LSherrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,036 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#18 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £93 - £869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing