We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #25 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I must say I was not expecting much on my cab ride over. Situated amongst Graffiti and narrow alleyways I felt like I was on the set of a gang movie. This all changed once I entered into this hotel. A totally modern and beautiful hotel is what you are greeted with once coming through the elevator. The staff speaks great English and is extremely friendly. The rooms are totally modern and equipped with WIFI as well as British television.
My girlfriend accidentally left our door slightly ajar when we left to explore the town and nothing was taken from our room. In the morning we saw the other part of the hotel which has incredibly high ceilings and beautiful artwork.
For just over 100 euros I thought this place was a total bargain and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    621
    122
    55
    23
See reviews for
345
881
68
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived on Decumani thru Booking. It is located in the chaotic historic center. It is an ancient renovated palace which has conservated its original decoration and atmosphere. The breakfast room is wonderful! Rooms are wide and comfortable, with modern bathrooms and free wifi. Staff was very nice and helpful. We will surely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I always promised that I wouldn't go less than 4 star because of previous disappointments .... However I booked this hotel because of the reviews!
We wanted a real experience of Naples.... Bustling city break..... Visiting the coast.... Ferry to Capri.... Basically to use this hotel as a base for what we wanted to do.
We were not disappointed at all.... Yes the area does look grotty and covered in graffiti etc...but it's traditional Naples. You get a real feel of Naples and not a facade created in places like Sorrento where it is difficult to believe it is ever inhabited by anyone other than tourists!
Inside the hotel the staff are helpful.... The superior rooms are spacious and clean.... Excellent powerful shower too... The breakfast is an excellent example of continental with lots to choose from... All of which is high quality!
The hotel interior is beautiful and demonstrates it's importance in the past.... Yes there are areas which other reviewers have commented on such as the ceiling in the breakfast room which could be worked on, but it's a very old beautiful building...not a case of an average hotel where a quick bodge job of artex will do!
You don't get a swimming pool with loungers and lots of tourists slurping on booze here...but you do get a great hotel at a great price which is clean comfortable base to explore Naples from. I am well travelled and a bit of a snob....and I would stay here again.
Oh and one last thing the room has a safe and a very cheap mini bar! GREAT!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As soon as the elevator door opened we were warmly greeted by the desk receptionist who helped us take our luggage to check in. Don't get turned off by the exterior, inside quite grand with super tall ceilings and we got upgraded to a deluxe room without asking. Nice big space and clean. Breakfast was amazing. Staff is very helpful and gave us great recommendations for food and things to do. (Though we were only there for one day).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HangryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in August. The hotel is situated in the heart of Naples surrounded by lovely old buildings housing families. You really feel as if you have become a local person living in the city centre.
The Hotel is beautiful, a renovated monastery full of charm.
The staff especially Elana and Felacica , but I am sure all the rest too, could not be more welcoming or helpful.
Stay in a boring 4 or 5 star Hotel or get close to the heart of Naples and it's people in a beautiful building?
Decumani every time for me.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We found this hotel absolutely charming - the staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully furnished and quiet, there is a very nice courtyard for guests and the breakfast room is the most amazing room you will ever see in a hotel - unbelievable! It is in the University area and walking distance to main streets and railway station.
The entry is very off putting, graffiti and a dodgy looking lift, but guests must remember that this is a shared property and the hotel only occupies the 2nd floor of the building. Therefore they probably cannot independently fix the entrance. Ignore it, when the lift door opens you will forget all about the entrance! A taxi can be ordered and collect you from the courtyard. Staff recommended a wonderful pizzeria to us (meant to be best in Naples) and it was. Where it was located was also in a fantastic area that we probably wouldn't have visited normally. We had a super few hours on the hop on hop off bus that went out to the seaside suburbs - great way to get out of town and the blaring emergency vehicles. We arrived on a 6.30am ferry from Palermo and staff kindly stored our bags and offered us breakfast which was so appreciated and wouldn't always happen at other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff were fantastically helpful and informative.

Much has been said about the entrance to the hotel and it is a little shabby but not too bad.

We were a little disappointed on the interior decoration which needs looking at and freshening.

Mini bar prices were very good which was nice to see.

Wi-fi available but was generally very slow in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#16 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing