We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel in centre of historic Napoli deserving of its praise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in centre of historic Napoli deserving of its praise”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The rooms are spacious, clean and elegant. Staff very helpful. Excellent location. We got a deluxe room, which had a jacuzzi bath and small balcony looking into courtyard. Parking is in a nearby carpark and is 22 euros for 24hrs. The breakfast dining room is a treat, and the breakfast is okay but fairly minimal (meat, cheese, bread, cereals). Quiet at night and incredibly comfortable beds. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupertm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    636
    131
    60
    24
See reviews for
356
905
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This hotel is ideally located in a very quiet street of the otherwise very lively city center of Naples. Staff were all very friendly and suave, providing useful information and addressing every issue quickly and efficiently - for instance, they let us use the phone free of charge when we had to call our airline to make arrangements to take a different flight due to a weather-related cancellation. The hotel itself has pretty much everything you need and more, down to a wide selection of books and newspapers in the lobby. Though many rightly consider the breakfast to be a bit of a weak link, it bears saying that it is still more than acceptable. Last but not least, obviously, the bedroom was very comfortable, and the wireless connection worked perfectly. The admittedly disheartening current waste management situation should not deter anyone from considering a trip - it is much more of a nuisance for Naples' inhabitants who have to deal with its consequences than for visitors.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasoufriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We spent there 4 nights with my sister and enjoyed every moment. Very tasty, modern renovation in the old building. Rooms are perfect, the dining room is fabulous: you can feel the past centuries while sipping perfect cappuccino . Breakfast is just perfect. Close to everything. Staff is speaking English, is nice and helpful. I will go back if in Naples again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This place was a surprise! Finding it can be a little difficult, but worth the search. The Decumani is tucked into the warm, bustling life of Napoli's old town. This hotel combines extraordinarily friendly staff (the warmest welcome we've had in Italy), historic ambiance (classical music played in the gilded banquet hall for breakfast), and modern rooms with comfortable beds, speakers in the bathrooms, and good minimalist design. If you've got a map of Naples (or a taxi), and you enjoy staying in places worth writing home about (this is my first tripadvisor review after years of avid travel), don't pass this one up!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilichatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We have relied on tripadvisor for years now and never go anywhere without checking the reviews first. We've never been disappointed...until now. When we arrived at this hotel we thought we had been driven to a derelict building. We spotted a suspicious looking service elevator outside large enough to fit 2 people at a squeeze and unsure whether it belonged to the hotel or not, decided to take the stairs. Without a soul insight we dragged our suitcases up 5 flights of stairs covered floor to ceiling in grafitti. On arrival we were shown to our room which was large, bare, cold and uninviting. The hotel has zero facilities. NO LOUNGE AREA, NO BAR and NO RESTAURANT. We were told that if we wanted room service they would see what they had in the kitchen. In fairness, its exactly as the pictures on the website depict, impressively painted high ceilings, the odd piece of ornate furniture and a piano. Other than that its quite empty. This may well be idilic for some, but not for us. As this was our anniversary and the weather forecast rain, we knew we would spend a fair bit of time in this bare room and so we decided to leave 10 minutes after arriving. We were met by a gentleman claiming to be the owner (he later denied this) We apologised unreservedly and explained that the hotel was just not suited to us and we felt under the circumstances we wouldnt be able to enjoy our stay...well, you would have thought we had insulted his mother! He became ridiculously aggressive and began shouting "YOU MUST PAY PENALTY!" "YOU BOOKED YOU MUST STAY NO MATTER IF YOU LIKE!" Two other members of staff started busily trying to find a clause somewhere that said this, needless to say there was no such clause. He continued ranting and raving waving papers around while another member of staff waded in and we found ourselves embroiled in an argument at the front desk! Finally he spat "WHAT YOU WANT FROM ME?" We replied "A taxi please" Thankfully, one was ordered. If you want "room only" then you may like it here. If you enjoy confrontation from your hotelier then stay a while, If you want anything else, dont go
We went on to stay at the Romeo Hotel which was a delight..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GailPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decumanihotel, Direttore at Decumani Hotel de Charme, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Courteous respect for readers of all opinions is rare that we respond to the criticisms received even try to build on the opinions of our guests to help us improve our service.
In this case, however, we must defend our reputation because we felt it was critical to get a really undeserved.
The person says that He read always tripadvisor reviews so why not read the reviews of our 190 guests who were well informed about the fact that ALL the buildings in the historic center of Naples all have a decadent but not forsaken aspect ? To be precise, our building 'was once owned by the Duke Riario Sforza. An important and noble Neapolitan family.
Our building dates from the seventeenth century and then just do not think the elevator in the design stage. Therefore, our elevator is small because it has had to adapt to the possibilities the building. We can assure that despite being small, however, is safe and reliable.
The scales have not been renovated since it is the building that houses the hotel under the constraint of the Superintendency of Cultural Heritage (the building is considered a building of historical importance) is not yet possible to begin the restoration work we have to wait for permissions.
The room given to the persons has antique wardrobe, antique dresser, antique furniture with mirror. It's not fair to call it bare, cold and uninviting. Maybe it was not to their taste but it is incorrect to call it in these words.
The person has booked directly by sending an email asking for a stay of 4 nights. It is then supposed to have visited our website and this would have already known that the first time the hotel does not have LOUNGE AREA, BAR or RESTAURANT. We have never written false things on our website. Why so much surprise just after arriving at the hotel?
The answer given by our staff on “room service” would only mean to get fully available to gentlemen in providing all that was possible to meet their needs. Of course, within the limits of our current opportunities. It is nice to read that the availability of our staff is mistaken for inefficiency.
The persons were in the room 1 hour and NOT 10 minutes as they write. And during their stay in this room have thought that being to rain in Naples in those days then the hotel was no longer suitable for them and then wanted to go elsewhere. That guilt has the hotel IF in Naples if it rains? It is incorrect to suddenly change OPINION and mind if the change of residence of its programs to the detriment of 'hotel which has rightly kept the room until they came without selling it to others who had requested the previous days.
The person at the reception (the hotel manager and not the owner) was not aggressive but he wanted to explain to the gentlemen (and sorry if it seemed aggressive) who did not want to be naïve. GOOD YES BUT STUPID NOT . In fact, it happens that sometimes the guests (admittedly a fair reason) need to leave earlier and in these "right circumstances" We have never charged any penalty.
In this particular case there was no real and just cause for early departure. There was only one behavior completely disrespectful of the work of others. It 's true that the policy of early departure was not written anywhere in our documents and the reason is simply that ever happened in the past there was such a situation.
However, when we realized that the person would "not understand" our point of view then we thought it was much better finish putting the discussion, however, available and call a taxi.
I hope that now the attentive reader can draw his own right having their views on the incident is also available to our point of view that will allow him to see if the mistake was made by us or received by us.
Best Regards
Sandro Guida
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Clean, comfortable, and stylish, and right in the fascinating centre of one of the most interesting and colourful cities I have ever visited. Great staff - courteous, helpful, and with a sense of humour - had an encyclopedic knowledge of everything Neapolitan, including wonderful restaurants. (Since we had chosen Naples for our annual Italian scranfest, their recommendations were greatly valued.) Beds large and comfortable; breakfast great (apart fro the insipid 'juice', and in that fabulous room.

The Spaccanapoli/via dei Tribunale area, within easy walking distance of the hotel, is Neapolitan life right your face, raucous but totally unthreatening, even on a Saturday night: fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numero60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omagh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and the staff were always available to help and offer advice on directions and what to see. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel very welcome.The reception staff all spoke good English.The hotel is situated in the old part of Naples and there is lots to see very nearby. Lots of reasonably priced restaurants within few min walking.I would not consider taking a car to this part of the city (or any part for that matter) but we had no trouble walking to the train station in about 15 - 20 mins.The bedrooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast room is really spectacular.Breakfast was good with great coffee.We thought it was a lovely hotel and would reccomend it to others and go back ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,090 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,015 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 186 in Naples
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing