We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find, but a beautiful hotel close to Spaccanapoli” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #8 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but a beautiful hotel close to Spaccanapoli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's an oasis in a crazy, warm, chaotic city. The decor is over the top, but this is Naples, for goodness' sake. The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms (I know, because I spent a lot of time in one of them removing a Florentine tick from my son's back). The staff is professional and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misssnootysnoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    377
    65
    17
    7
See reviews for
154
717
57
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a fine example of what a small, city-centre hotel should be like. It's great location in an old part of Naples makes it perfect for strolling out and exploring. Unusually, for such a location, the hotel has parking.The rooms are very well furnished, with comfortable beds - thankfully not following the lamentable internationall trend for hotel beds that are like rocks. Our room had a balcony looking out over the little piazza and yet was not at all noisy. The only quibble is the breakfasts, which could be better. However, this failing was more than made up for by the very helpful staff and the particularly good bar manned by Salvatore, a genius among barmen. In the few days we stayed there he gave us a masterclass in local wines and food, for he not only serves drinks, he cooks succulent amuse bouches (please forgive the French!) to match them. He also makes fine cocktails - the prosecco with crushed wild strawberries is a must. One last word of thanks to the front-of-house person (apologies for not taking note of her name) who tracked down the taxi in which one of our group dropped her iphone on the way to the airport. The taxi driver duly returned to the airport in the nick of time, waving the phone out of the window. Who could ask for more? Viva Naples and the Hotel Piazza Decumani!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

On our way from Procida to Rome in mid-May - we stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Decumani in the heart of old town Naples. I'd stay here again.

The interior of the hotel is lovely. We had two rooms (206 and 207) for a quick two night visit to the city.

Both rooms were nicely appointed (big comfortable bed, refrigerator, cable, flat screen TV, and safe) with high-end toiletries and soft robes and slippers in the on-suite bath. Room 207 was the bigger of the two rooms with a huge bath and walk-in closet. Wifi (free) was not as dependable as I expected in Room 207 unless I stood by the door for a stronger signal.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful (they even added postage my postcards for free). The small bar is worth a brief visit before going out at night. Breakfast was included.

You can easily walk (15 minutes) to the National Archaeological Museum to view the statues and mosaics from Pompeii. It is also very close to the Cathedral di Napoli which is well worth a visit.

Old town Naples is a busy place - filled with people and cars. Lots of shops and restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel. We paid a flat rate of 10 Euros for a taxi from the port of Naples to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwgcontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. We needed a break from winter and stayed for a long weekend at around £80 a night. The room was LOVELY with the tallest ceilings I've ever seen. The breakfast was never ending, and the room it was in was an amazing museum piece.

We chose the hotel from its ranking in Trip Advisor, and this many reviews can't be wrong. Boy oh boy are they keen to show off Trip Advisor's ranking, as it's plastered on many walls as you walk into reception. But I'm glad to follow the reviews, and it paid off nicely.

Naples as a whole is a fascinating place with trouble and also beauty. It's such good food, more relaxed than the north, but edgy at the same time. The hotel seemed like a nice hidden sanctuary from the craziness of the city below...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and had a very nice and spacious corner room. A complimentary drink voucher was given to us and we made use of it, and in doing so got to chat with their friendly barman - and went back every evening to have a drink before dinner and a nibble of their complimentary canapes.

The staff on reception were so-so, not particularly friendly or helpful but certainly weren't rude or unhelpful - they just paled in comparison to the barman!

Some nice local restaurants nearby, can't remember their names but the barman recommended them all to us.

Although we were warned about personal safety in Naples we both felt safe here and wandered around without any trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle4red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We visited Naples for 2 days at the end of June. Hotel Palazzo Decumani was a fabulous hotel - the rooms were spotless, great decor, great location. The bartender was a fantastic, friendly gentleman who served us his special Bellini drinks and incredible appetizers. Location is really great for getting around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

This was a great experience for me in Naples.Location superb,staff so friendly and helpful....one of the cleanest and well presented hotels I have stayed in.Breakfast ...superb.Will stay again and recommend to friends.It makes such a difference to a trip to be so well looked after.

Room Tip: Clean,great furnishings and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illzite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Property: Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing