We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ecellent hotel in a problematic city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ecellent hotel in a problematic city”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

good services nice rooms with many free amenities including internet , friendly staff.well located.naples is not a pleasant city, the hotel is.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozi509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    386
    66
    18
    9
See reviews for
158
735
58
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Lincs
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Should we return to Napoli, We would without a doubt stay here again, In the heart of the city, is where you will find this Hotel. we took a taxi from the airport so arrived without a hitch (about 20 euros) Our room was ready on arrival which was great as it was only 10am, we had asked for a room with a view. so we where on the top floor and could see Vesuvis. The room was large & clean, lovely big bed. large bathroom, The staff were all helpful. Ask the friendly barstaff for directions on where to eat in the evenings. we were sent to a couple of great places. We found live music & dancing in some of the squares during the evenings all very lively.
We walked everywhere & found the city a safe place. However it is not without it's problems. very populated and alot of rubbish about. Do not let this deter you from visiting. we used the train to get to Pompei & Herculanum. I would visit again & love the Italian attitude to life, good fun.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If this is your first trip to Naples, you may be surprised at the surrounding neighborhood of this hotel. Some would call it seedy, some would call it old and dirty, but the hotel makes up for the unexpected surroundings. We never really felt threatened while walking around (which is how we got everywhere), but there are people that will come up and ask for money (usually around cafes/shops). This is a 4 star hotel that we paid 140 euros per night for 2 people. It is very well decorated and fairly new so all furnishings are quite nice. It really seems out of place in the area where it is located, but once you walk around for a few hours, you will be quite comfortable in the neighborhood. The scooters drive by you VERY close and VERY fast so keep your eyes and ears open at all times. The ‘streets’ are more like small alleys or wide sidewalks so not much room for cars, scooters and pedestrians, but somehow they all fit (sometimes only one at a time!).

We arrived on a Sunday and found many places were closed, as well as the taxi driver at the train station telling us that on Sunday the taxi fare to the hotel was 15 euros, not 10 as the hotel had told us in our confirmation. We found out from another couple staying at the hotel that they were told the same thing from their taxi driver as well, so not sure if we were ripped off or it really is higher on Sunday.. The train station is about a 15 minute walk but this place is not easy to find so it may be a challenge on foot.
When we had the hotel call us a taxi for the ride back to the train station, it was a fixed rate of 10.50 euros, the funny thing was the meter actually read only 6.80 euros when we arrived, so not sure what the ‘real’ fare should be.

The room was very spacious and the décor was crushed velvet. There were French style doors that opened to a small balcony, two large wardrobe cabinets with both shelves and an area to hang clothes. There was a mini bar frig but no space for anything you bought on your own. The bathroom had a HUGE shower, all glass doors, large sink and fluffy robes along with a bathroom scales (does anyone REALLY weigh themselves while on vacation?). There was a desk area between the wardrobes that had a flat screen TV and also worked for using a laptop (free wifi with code and password).

The breakfast was the best of all our hotels in Italy. They had a wonderful, freshly baked quiche each morning (usually ham and cheese), scrambled eggs, European sausages,
Boxed American cereal, rolls/croissants, coffee cakes, fresh fruit (kiwi, melon, apples, bananas, etc), cold meat and cheese. Also the standard coffee/ tea/juice as well as cappaciano. Again, this was a very well decorated area of the hotel, with crushed velvet chairs (like the bedspreads in the rooms). They gave you tickets for a free drink (a peach bellini-sparkling wine and peach juice) in the bar with your check in packet, most drinks were 10-14 euros in the bar if you wanted anything after your free drink.

The famous Da Michele pizza restaurant is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. A good place to taste ‘real’ Napoli pizza for 4-5 euros per pizza. This place can be quite busy so try to go early for dinner (before 7pm). They do not close in the afternoon like most restaurants do and they are closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iowa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel is perfectly located if you really want to have a deep view of Naples, just in the middle of the Centro Storico, a great place to explore the city from there.

The hotel is modern and elegant. We stayed here twice, in different kind of rooms (superior and standard). The elegant rooms, clean and nicely furnished are very similar, except that the superior ones have a balcony to the plaza, but apart from that you feel very comfortable at any of them. The bathrooms haver plenty of space, and they are very well equipped (they even have a scale), with a bath in the superior room and a large shower in the standard. Free wifi in all the hotel and great amenities by Etro.

The breakfast is quite good, although fruit was not too fresh. The hotel staff are very helpful and nice, front desk staff, chambermaids and (specially) the barman. I haven't been in any other hotel in Naples, but when I return (something I will certainly do) I will go back to Palazzo Decumani for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xaviferrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's an oasis in a crazy, warm, chaotic city. The decor is over the top, but this is Naples, for goodness' sake. The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms (I know, because I spent a lot of time in one of them removing a Florentine tick from my son's back). The staff is professional and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misssnootysnoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a fine example of what a small, city-centre hotel should be like. It's great location in an old part of Naples makes it perfect for strolling out and exploring. Unusually, for such a location, the hotel has parking.The rooms are very well furnished, with comfortable beds - thankfully not following the lamentable internationall trend for hotel beds that are like rocks. Our room had a balcony looking out over the little piazza and yet was not at all noisy. The only quibble is the breakfasts, which could be better. However, this failing was more than made up for by the very helpful staff and the particularly good bar manned by Salvatore, a genius among barmen. In the few days we stayed there he gave us a masterclass in local wines and food, for he not only serves drinks, he cooks succulent amuse bouches (please forgive the French!) to match them. He also makes fine cocktails - the prosecco with crushed wild strawberries is a must. One last word of thanks to the front-of-house person (apologies for not taking note of her name) who tracked down the taxi in which one of our group dropped her iphone on the way to the airport. The taxi driver duly returned to the airport in the nick of time, waving the phone out of the window. Who could ask for more? Viva Naples and the Hotel Piazza Decumani!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

On our way from Procida to Rome in mid-May - we stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Decumani in the heart of old town Naples. I'd stay here again.

The interior of the hotel is lovely. We had two rooms (206 and 207) for a quick two night visit to the city.

Both rooms were nicely appointed (big comfortable bed, refrigerator, cable, flat screen TV, and safe) with high-end toiletries and soft robes and slippers in the on-suite bath. Room 207 was the bigger of the two rooms with a huge bath and walk-in closet. Wifi (free) was not as dependable as I expected in Room 207 unless I stood by the door for a stronger signal.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful (they even added postage my postcards for free). The small bar is worth a brief visit before going out at night. Breakfast was included.

You can easily walk (15 minutes) to the National Archaeological Museum to view the statues and mosaics from Pompeii. It is also very close to the Cathedral di Napoli which is well worth a visit.

Old town Naples is a busy place - filled with people and cars. Lots of shops and restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel. We paid a flat rate of 10 Euros for a taxi from the port of Naples to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwgcontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Property: Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing