We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel nestled away in Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #8 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel nestled away in Naples”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel hidden away from one of Naples main streets. The old quarter of Naples is a fantastic place to be and this is one of the best places to stay. We did not have a reservation but luckily we could be accommodated, and lucky we were. Reception and bar staff are very helpful and welcoming and attentive.

The room we had was superb despite the tv not working, but who needs a tv when you have Naples to explore. For the 4 stars it has it is certainly more luxurious than that. I can't recommend this hotel more, if you are in the area stay you won't regret it!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    394
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
163
754
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY NY USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Located in the heart of the Centro Storico of Napoli, this former palace has been brought into the 21st century in a most attractive and comfortable way.
While many visitors might be inclined to pick a hotel along the sea, I cannot imagine not staying in the old historic district. After five trips to Naples over several years I now prefer being in the heart of 16th and 17th century Naples. Its narrow, cobble- stoned streets and its two decumani (ancient streets} dating back to Roman times, make the Centro Storico an exciting area. The hotel is an oasis of comfort in the heart of this ancient setting.
Our room was perhaps the largest we have stayed in, on this, our third trip to Italy in less than three years. Bleached hardwood floors and copious built-in shelves and closets plus a huge chest of drawers provided more hanging and storage space than most master suites. The bathroom was spacious, tiled, and up-to-date.
Breakfast is nice and there are complimentary welcoming drinks.
Palazzo Decumani will be my home away from home in Naples from now on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The expression "Let Naples be Naples" was never so clear as I wended my way to the hotel along a street with graffiti-covered buildings. The hotel, however, is clean and neat It would be helpful if the hotel would install a ramp for luggage as there are 3 sets of stairs to reach the check-in desk and while short, the guest is still required to lug his/her suitcase up them.

Ursula at the front desk was welcoming and pleasant, though she waited to offer to help me with my suitcase after watching me drag it up the first 2 sets of stairs. When my TV didn't work, she came to my room immediately to adjust the satellite which wasn't in sync with the television. She patiently answered my questions about the neighborhood, museums and shopping areas. Terrific. The room, the closet and bathroom were both large and there's an incredible amount of drawer space. The shower had plenty of pressure and hot water, and the terry robe was heavenly.

The welcoming drink at the bar was lovely. The young barman was gracious and attentive. In addition to the complementary drink, he laid out a spread of crackers and cheese, and assorted snacks that easily comprised dinner.

On the other end, when I checked out the woman didn't say a word as she dragged herself from the computer to complete the tasks. She processed the paperwork, pointed where to sign on the credit card slip and handed me the receipts without a thank you, or "how was your visit?" and certainly not a smile.

It's a short walk from Termini and historic district. Be sure to check out the good assortment of small food and shops at the end of the street to the left as you leave the hotel. They're run by Neopolitans who are friendly and patient with tourists who speak bad Italian.

The Margarita pizza from the restaurant across the alley from the hotel is delicious and only 3 Euros (it's closed on Sunday). I was drawn to it because there was a crowd of locals waiting at the take-out window and if they're eating there, so am I.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Have just come back from 6 nights in this hotel. What can i say lovely hotel right in the thick of things. Rooms lovely and clean, fabulous marble bathrooms. Rooms were cleaned/tidied twice a day. Good choice of breakfast every morning. Staff are wonderful and helpful. Special thanks to reception and Andrea(not sure how spelt)? in the bar. He is part time but standing in for regular barman last week. Had some good laughs with him and he recommended some lovely restaurants as did reception. Go to famous du michele from eat,pray,love film brilliant atmosphere as was mannella's. Hotel situated in great area to see the sights, lots around to see and do and not far to get to anywhere else. Would def stay here again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyskycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

One of the best value hotels we have ever stayed at. Not cheap but worth it for excellent rooms, great food and friendly staff. Really well located in the Centro Storico and close to all transport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatever2011Tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in Palazzo Decumani for one night while in Naples. It was located relatively close to the train station (although the GPS on our iPhone put it somewhere very far from the actual location so beware!) and close to the historic center. Rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful (from the old man at the bar offering us a welcome drink) to Fabio at reception with his restaurant suggestions. We had one of the best pizzas we ever had just up the road at Di Matteo on via Tribunali. The only downsides to Palazzo Decumani was in the dining area. There seemed to be a literal fruit fly infestation while we were there with them buzzing around while we got our welcome drink. The breakfast buffet was no exception- the Marylin Monroe framed posted was covered with dozens of little black dots buzzing about. Speaking of the buffet, it was unfortunately a huge disappointment: although we were there well before the breakfast time was over, there were no fruits on the fruit plate, no milk or juice in the dispensers and only stale break and local mozarella and cold cuts on one of the trays. While the cleanliness of the rooms and the professionalism of the staff can deserve a 4 star rating, the situation in the dining area is unacceptable for a hotel that sells itself at that standard. That being said, if it wasn't for the flies and mediocre breakfast, we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to be back. Thanks again to Fabio for the kind advice and wonderful service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benedhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel. Rooms are nice, though ask fir one with a view on the square. Windows are very thick so we didn't hear a thing from outside with the windows closed.
Reception staff is adequate, breakfast was average because of the many fruit flies around the buffet. Unhygienic in this hotel? But a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,439 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,089 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,012 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Property: Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing