We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be hard to top anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #8 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Summit, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would be hard to top anywhere”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife, brother-in-law and I recently returned from a vacation in Italy that included a 6-night stay at this wonderful hotel. The Decumani is right in the middle of Naples' vibrant centro storico, and many of the city's top sites are within easy walking distance, as are some fine restaurants. Yet, the hotel is on a quiet side-street and the rooms are evidently well-sound-proofed besides. Even our standard room was surprisingly large, and my brother-in-law's junior suite was enormous. The rooms are also very comfortable and tastefully furnished. The breakfast buffet was truly memorable, including a dazzling selection of local cheeses, fresh-baked bread, fresh fruit, etc. Moreover, the hotel staff was extremely friendly, and helpful with advice about sightseeing, transportation arrangements, and restaurant reservations. A fine value that would be hard to top anywhere! We hope to return again.

Room Tip: Sides rooms on the top floors are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    392
    66
    19
    9
See reviews for
159
751
60
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just down the road from the main pedestrian street with the sights of the old city.
Also close to Corso Umberto 1.

Great breakfast especially the cakes.

Rooms modern and clean.

Surrounding area a bit run down but that's generally for most of Naples!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I had heard many stories about Naples and having lived in New York City, I wasn't too intimidated by what I had been told. However, arriving there after having been on Capri, the contrast was sharp. Naples is a gritty, dirty, and noisy city, but it is filled with history, charm and warm people. Don't be put off by what you hear, and if you go, DO stay at the Palazzo Decumani. The location is excellent, the staff friendly and extremely helpful, and the accommodations were very comfortable. During our 3 night stay there, we were given excellent dining recommendations, advice on what to see and do and enjoyed our comfortable room after a long day. The breakfasts were lovely and before dinner we enjoyed having a cocktail in the lovely bar at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 106 which was a bit on the small side. No view, but that didn't matter. See the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice new clean room, with twice daily maid service which I didnt expect in this price bracket. Good service at reception, bar and breakfast room. High-speed wifi included. Central location. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Napoli.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My Mom and I were SO relieved that we had booked a room at Palazzo Decumani after seeing some other properties nearby that we had considered. If you need to be near the Airport or Train Station in Naples, this is THE place to stay! The hotel is a respite from the traffic and unsavory areas nearby. We stayed one night and did not venture outside of the hotel. We arrived late at night and were greeted with a free welcome Bellini and snacks! Our room was spacious, quiet and comfortable with robes, house shoes, and plenty of toiletries. Breakfast was abundant! We were very pleased with our stay at the Palazzo and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyfsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have just stayed at the hotel three years after my earlier review. It was as good as I'd remembered. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff helpful and friend and the location excellent for exploring the city. The breakfast buffet is great (I think it may have been added in the past three years) as it offers fruit, bread, coffee, scrambled eggs, something for all tastes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I booked one night here and then enjoyed it so much that I stayed for three. The front desk staff are very welcoming, and Barbara a real ambassador for the Palazzo. Salvatore, the bar manager, is very charming, and it was great to go to the bar for a drink and get treated so well by him with his lovely complimentary canapes. A true professional! The hotel is very central for the historic district, the Big Bus, and the port. A very "real" area, albeit, as a solo traveller, I didn't like the area at night. It would be great if they did dinner in the evening....if only Salvatore was in the kitchen!! I did venture to the two pizza "experiences" of Sorbillo (the real one: there are two) and Da Matteo (President Clinton went here!) which are within 5 minutes walk. Great pizzas in a fun atmosphere, albeit you have to queue! I had planned to stay at a much pricier hotel on the front, but have to say, that this was excellent, and a great location,if slightly "risque". I have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: I was given an upgrade by the front desk staff. 4th Floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,416 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,075 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Property: Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing