We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not If Your Driving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very nice hotel, clean and well appointed and reasonably quiet for the part of town it is located in. However, the desk staff are diffident and the hotel has no parking and is in a driving restricted area. That leaves you parking in a commercial garage many busy blocks away and dragging your luggage back and forth. No offer of help with that, no valet service, you are left of figure it out on your own. The hotel is not even sure of the parking rate you will pay in their designated garage. Many hotels in this area do not have parking but this one could try a little harder by issuing temporary driving permits as some hotels do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our trip to Naples was a wonderful experience due to two exceptional people at the hotel. Barbara was so welcoming and helpful. She gave us great restaurants to go and have dinner at each evening. Her friendly approach to her position at the desk was very special.

Also Salvadore who was in the lounge was such a welcoming person and made our stay special. He looked after us and made great appetizers each evening. What a great chef!

Thanks to you both,
Bob and Pat from Canada
.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I loved this hotel... Not only is the decoration and style beatiful, but also the location is right. It's in the middle of the oldest part of town, had to access by car though. You'll need a paid parking a few streets away, and walk to the hotel.

Service was good, and the hospitality drink they offer was fantastic, with Italian delicatessen to taste.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argentinean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

An Oasis of calm and clean in the heart of Naples old quarter, this hotel is chic and well appointed. Most staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are beautifully appointed.

The welcome drink at the bar was nice with a wonderfull selection of finger food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasheraris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We loved the hotel. Very chic. Quite comfortable. The neighborhood is not one of the nicest in Naples. However, it is an easy walk to the Museo Archiologico Nazionale, theater, shopping district and the Piazza del Plebiscito. The staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyslippers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is located in old Naples - Spaccanapoli - with a 15-minute walk to the main train station. The location gives you easy access to the sites and sounds of this vibrant old city district.

The hotel itself is very nice - modern and comfortable. Our room was large with very high ceilings and a spacious bathroom. The bed was large and nice for sleeping. Were in room 403, which gave us a view to the south of Vesuvius as well as the daily life in the narrow streets below. The room was spotless when we arrived and remained so through our four-day visit.

The included breakfast offered a range of food: pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheese, juice and yoghurt along with scrambled eggs and Vienna sausages. The food was good - but never changed in our four days here.

A big shout-out to Barbara on the front desk for her great advice on things to see and restaurants to visit for dinner.

Room Tip: Room 403 has a good view of Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FullCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Decumani for 3 nights when we were in Naples last week (October 15th - 18th). The hotel rooms, the staff, the bar and the breakfast room were all excellent. Don't let the area put you off at all, but be prepared for a less than pristine neighbourhood. My apologies to Napoletano's, but to say that Naples is a filthy city is a vast understatement. Once you get past the garbage in the streets, the insane drivers in cars and on motorcycles and the excessive amounts of unskilled graffiti on everything, you will find Naples to be an interesting city and quite walkable (with a map). There are several nice restaurants and coffee shops within a few minutes walk of the hotel as well as some outstanding attractions such as the Museo Cappella Sansevero, where the most amazing sculptures I have ever seen are located, including the Veiled Christ. Another close attraction is the Napoli Sotterranea (the underground tunnels).

The Hotel Palazzo Decumani on the other hand is quite the opposite to the neighbourhood. It is pristine and inviting once you see it and even better once you enter the front lobby. The welcome drink that we had in the bar the night of the day we arrived was very nice but the amount of appetizers and other snacks that were presented to us by the bartenders were amazing. We ended up having a drink in the bar on all nights we were there and each time we were presented with an array of beautifully prepared snacks.

The breakfasts were excellent and had everything you would need for a day of exploring the city and surrounding attractions like Pompeii and Herculaneum (which are not to be missed if you are in Naples). Coffee, eggs, cold meats, fresh fruit, cereals, juices and a vast array of pastries made the breakfasts perfect.

To get to the hotel from the airport we took the city bus that is an express bus to Napoli Centrale Train station. To say it's an "express" bus is a bit of any oxymoron. It doesn't have any stops between the airport and the train station but due to the traffic it was stopped or just crawling most of the time. From the train station it was only a 15 minute walk to the hotel although we did get a little lost the first time. We walked to the train station on several days and it only took 10 to 15 minutes depending on the amount of time we stopped to look in the store windows. On the way back to the airport we decided on a taxi since it was a Friday and most everything and everyone was on strike. The cost of the taxi to the airport is a flat 20 euros.

We were out to dinner on all three nights we were in Naples and walked back to the hotel between 10pm and 11pm each night. We never felt uncomfortable or worried about security. Many of the shops close at around 7pm so what might have been brightly lit streets when we set off were quite dark when we returned. However, there were still many people on the streets so it wasn't a problem, but things did look different in the dark, so remember your directions. Naples is known for Pizza so there are lots of pizza places around the hotel that serve excellent pizza and other meals for ridiculously low prices.

Overall, we had an outstanding time in Naples and the Hotel Palazzo Decumani made the difference. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Naples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,208 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £107 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing