We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Naples downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a completely renovated Hotel. It's located in Naples downtown close to many local shops and churches. The surrounding streets are home to the Christmas market (Nativity scene) which connects to Spaccanapoli and Via Tribunali in the Centro Storico. This Hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the Port of Naples (for both cargo and passengers)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agusparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the moment we walked in we felt welcome, especially with the welcome drink! The first thing we found out was that our standard room was upgraded to a superior room because we had mentioned our honeymoon earlier while booking. Barbara, the receptionist, gave us restaurant recommendations and directions, inclusive of suggestions for what to order. The bartender served us drinks with yummy snacks and was very friendly. The staff looked after our bags while we spent the day in Pompeii. Between the service, the location (20 min walk or 5 minute cab ride from the Naples Central Station) and the clean / tasteful environment, the Decumani is no doubt a great experience. And the comfort of the beds was fantastic. Their bar and lounge is not to be overlooked either!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SawyerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The staff at this hotel are really nice and very helpful. The twin room my daughter and I stayed in was a good size, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was clean and modern. In fact, despite the initial impression you get from the rather run down neighbourhood (or should I say, run down city), the hotel is thoroughly modern in both accommodation and decor.

The welcome drink was a nuce touch and the breakfast was good, if not outstanding.

I would certainly stay here again if I ever returned to Naples.

Room Tip: Don't worry about views - it's inner city Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

No way around it, Naples is a grungy city and the historical center is no exception. However , in my opinion it is the best base for touring Naples, so you want a safe, comforting hotel to stay at. Also Naples is the perfect base for Pompeii and Herculaneum if you don’t plan to explore the coast. Palazzo Decumani is a fantastic property. It is within easy walking distance of the important sites as well as just a few blocks from the most famous pizza places.

Modern and sophisticated decor. We booked a large double room overlooking the square (200 euros/night). and had a very large, well appointed room (#204). Two big windows with shears and blackout blinds for sleeping. Lots of storage, large bureau and built in armoire, although could use a few more hangars and none are removable. We always bring a couple of hangars with clips so we can use a travel streamer in the bathroom for wrinkles. Good desk for working, extra chair and upholstered bench. Absolutely no street sounds or Vespas vrooming with the windows closed. Good lighting. Mini fridge, safe, robe and slippers. The hotel uses the typical European key system where after swiping the key card to enter the room, you insert it into a slot to activate your power. Great for energy conservation, but in the age of cell phones, tablets and we still use rechargeable batteries for our good camera, it means that nothing gets charged unless you are in the room. So, if you need to charge batteries and/or devices during the day, get two room keys so you can have power in the room when you are out. You can always up the temperature so as not to run the air conditioning all day.

Great marble bathroom. Between sink counter and window ledge, lots of space for toiletry bags. Nice array of soap, shampoo, bath gel, etc. No laundry line. Really nice thick towels which are changed every day. One negative is that hand laundry takes the longest to dry I've ever seen. At least 3 days. The room has excellent climate control so a bit surprising that the humidity is still so high that clothes don't dry.

Barbara at the front desk was particularly helpful. Everything from making sure we were street smart before leaving the hotel with purse and camera to dinner and tour reservations. Very nice bar serving drinks and coffees and you get one complimentary drink. However, the freebies kept coming. One night we ordered coffee and they brought little desserts on the house, another night we had a drink and got espressos on the house. Breakfast buffet had lots to choose from including cold cuts, a free form puff pastry quiche, persimmons , kiwi, fresh berries and yogurt and lots of baked goods.

Unreservedly recommend this hotel. We took the train, so didn't have to worry about a car, which is the way to go if at all possible. The neighborhood looks sketchy but everything looks that way in Naples and because you are right in the heart of the action, the streets were filled with people day and night including an elderly man who sat on a chair across the street for most of the day and got his espresso delivered by the corner coffee shop each day! We felt very safe there and walked to almost all the restaurants without concern. But get an Italian data plan for your smart phone so you can use map apps. as much as you want so you don’t get lost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Had three nights at the Hotel Palazzo Decumani and were truly delighted by it. It's a little tucked away and not easy to find but once you do, one is in for a treat. Good size rooms which are very tastefully decorated and well appointed - big beds, lots of wardrobe space, stylish bathrooms and plenty of toiletries. The hotel in fact indeed beautifully laid out and we particularly liked the full length spiral staircase. Breakfasts are both hearty and tasty and we particularly liked the bar in the evening where they provide a lot of exquisite treats with your drink - so much so that it is tempting to stay and just snack away all night! Salvatore the bar manager is a delightful man (and will share his ideas of what to see in Naples with you very readily) whilst Barbara at the desk is very pleasant and highly efficient. We were so glad that we stayed here - it turned an enjoyable visit to Naples into a memorable one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed four nights at this outstanding Hotel. Barbara at the desk is super friendly, as she greeted me when I arrived. She directed me to a nearby local market, as well as answered many questions and providing advice. The free buffet breakfast has a huge variety and is fine quality. I enjoyed a glass of wine and free snacks each night at the bar with very enjoyable bar-tenders. One was an older gent, who sang his old favorites from the 1930s as he worked. The hotel is immaculate, with a wonderful spiral staircase. My room was very comfortable; I swear it had the best air-handling system I have experienced in a hotel. The Hotel has free internet, including a table with a computer and screen on the main floor. Finally, the location in the heart of old Naples is convenient. I walked from the train station, which takes 10 to 15 minutes. I also took a tour of Pompeii and found that this Hotel is one of their pick-up locations.

Room Tip: My room on the top floor was great with elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This little hotel has style and charm and is located right in the heart of Naples. You can walk everywhere. The rooms are very nicely appointed, comfortable beds, modern furnishings. The staff were extremely helpful and the receptionist spent a good ten minutes helping us with a map and city tips, including where to find the best pizza and she was spot on. I left some shopping at the reception and did not realise until the next day when I was packing. They had it waiting for me at reception on departure, very honest.

The breakfast is buffet is uniquely Italian and very generous in options compared to some of the boutique hotels we visited during our stay.

You must have a cocktail at their bar, they are delicious, cheap and the lovely little alcoves you sit in are so comfortable after a day sight seeing you wont want to leave. They give you delicious little tapas with your drink for free, fresh green olives and other bits and pieces. This is quiet common all over Italy however some tight places give you a bowl of stale crisps yuk..!

This hotel cant be beaten for value for money, location and friendliness. Would stay here again!!

Room Tip: don't expect a view as all the building in the city are crammed together.. you may be looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberley7213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,488 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,134 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £108 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing