We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #8 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great Value”
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Palazzo Decumani. This is a wonderful hotel with clean, newly furnished rooms. The bathroom fixtures are first rate and even on the top floor water pressure was adequate. The rooms are equipped with SkyTV (satellite TV) which provides dozens of channels in English and Italian. Being on the top floor, we liked to open the big windows and take in the view of Mount Vesuvius and the piazza below.

The staff are friendly, all speak English and are eager to assist you with directions or restaurant recommendations. The breakfast is great--on our recent trip to Italy it is one of the best breakfasts we found. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. It was nice to be one of the few "tourists" among the locals as we walked the streets of Centro Storico.

It's a great hotel, especially at the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    395
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
163
755
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This beautiful Italian Palazzo was recommend to us by his owner, Pietro d'Emilio, who also owns the Hotel Canasta on Capri. We stayed there for one night on our way back home in a deluxe double room. It was nicely appointed, immaculately clean and very spacious; bed and linen were wonderful - all in all excellent value for money and close to five star. Service was nice and friendly, too, and breakfast very good for Italian standards. The hotel is centrally located and as others said a quiet oasis in an otherwise bustling city. All in all, highly recommended and an excellent choice if you are looking for an elegant and quiet B&B in Naples.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Everthing from the check-in to the check-out was excellent

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We visited Naples for a short break over the Easter holidays. We stayed for 5 nights in the Palazzo Decumani based on readers reviews on the website. The hotel was every bit as good as the other recommendations - easy check in, English speaking staff, fabulous rooms - clean, new and lovely decor throughput, good breakfast in the morning (pastries were delicious - not getting on the weighing scale for a couple of weeks) Most of all the staff were more than helpful - recommending and booking restaurants, printing timetables of trains and researching information on local sites, bringing tea/coffees etc to room etc. Nothing was an effort.
The hotel is well located in the center of Naples. I was a bit nervous going there after all the talk of pick pockets but no such worry. Just be as careful as you would be at home. When you walk out the door take a left turn. The t-junction at the top of this road (2 minutes) is the Via Tribunali with lots of little shops and ice cream stores, pizerrias, churches etc. To the right at the t-junction is the Duomo Cathedral (about 5 minute walk)

You can walk anywhere from here in Naples - we walked down to the harbour which is lovely - more lovely views, shops, castles, palace, park - shopping etc. The port will take you to Capri (again lovely for a day trip and food very reasonable around the main harbour), Sorrento, Ischia.
We also took the train to Pompei and Sorrento. Both are more than worth a visit. Train is very reasonable (2.20 to Pompei) but also really packed - you can spot the tourists - they are the ones clutching their bags and tightening their watches!! Train journey to Sorrento is just over hour. I would recommend you go during the week as at the weekend it is full of young and "lively" Italians.
At the end of every evening it was lovely to come back to the hotel which is indeed a haven of calm in the city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryaneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Hollow, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

As we planned our trip through southern Italy, we were aware of Naples' reputation as a noisy, crowded and somewhat boisterous city. We were hoping for a quiet and comfortable refuge for our off hours. The Palazzo Decumani was all that, and had so much else to offer besides .

Before our arrival, our host was very helpful with directions to the hotel from out of town. Streets in Italian cities are subject to impromptu one-way designations, and the best way is often apparent neither from the map nor from computerized directions. The hotel had a place to park our car for the duration of our stay, without charge. It is not far from the autostrada that runs into town from the direction of Sorrento, and fairly close to the central station.

The room was attractive, large, quiet, and well provisioned with storage cabinets. The bathroom plumbing is first-rate. The bed is comfortable, and the other furnishings useful and handsome. Sky TV is provided for English-language speakers.

The breakfast is very good, and the breakfast tables are set with white linen, an extraordinary amenity in a hotel of this price.

The only very small negative is that the wireless internet is intermittent. However, there is am RJ-45 outlet, so if you travel with a cable internet is available, and provided gratis.

I recommend the Palazzo Decumani wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

ThePalazzo Decumani is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in (and I stay in hotels 2 or three nights a week). We chose it because of the rave reviews on TripAdvisor and it didn't disappoint us in any way. Yes, the cab drivers don't know it, and they've never heard of the address, but it is easy to find right next to the Archives. It is right in the center of everything a tourist would want to see in Naples, so almost everything is within easy walking distance. It's just a five minute walk from buses or the subway.
The rooms are gorgeous! High ceilings, lots of space, high-style decor, big windows. The bathrooms are big, functional, and well-finished. Staying in an old palazzo in Naples so beautifully finished gave us a wonderful escape at the end of the day after seeing the amazaing art and architecture of Naples.
The staff was friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
Breakfast was far better than anything we had expected, with eggs, meat, cheese, fresh fruit, juice, homemade pastries, cereal and lots of choices.
Despite its reputation, Naples seemed perfectly safe everywhere we went. The neighborhood was fine, too, and interesting, with lots of good shops, lots of people on the street, and--best of all--relatively few tourists among the natives.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impatiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Palazzo Decumani in mid-March. We came to Naples from Rome on the train and got a taxi to the hotel. Our taxi driver did not know the hotel and had to ask around, and after a little driving around, we found it. (Note - the hotel is actually on a piazza on Via Grande Archivio, so mentioning that will help the drivers) As we were early, our room wasn't ready, but the pleasant receptionist said it would be ready in a half hour. We went out for coffee and it was ready upon our return.

The room we had was on the smaller side (a decent size for New York, for example), but it was comfortable with all the amenities. U.S. travellers: these amenities, as we found commonly in Italy, do not include tissues, hair conditioner or washcloths. I used the robe and slippers all the time. The bed linens were superb.

The breakfast was wonderful. In addition to the usual breakfast pastries (and different cakes or tarts everyday), they served meat and cheeses and a variety of fruit and yogurt. The very attentive waitresses brought tea and coffee upon request.

We did not spend time in the other common rooms. There is a small bar for an evening drink and a sitting area. There is also a bathroom on the first floor which is great if you arriving and departing and aren't in a room.

The hotel staff were all very helpful and spoke fluent English so we had no trouble with communicating. They were able to print some reservations for Pompeii from an email for us, and recommended nearby restaurants.

We loved the location of the hotel. It is very close to the Spaccanapoli, the pedestrian street that runs through the heart of Naples. Palazzo Decumani was very quiet but once outside you are in the hustle and bustle of Naples. We either took the public buses -- we got an Artecard with 3 days transportation - the funiculare, the metro (once, and a little scary) or walked everywhere.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Naples for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerhshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,439 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,090 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,015 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Property: Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing