We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #11 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2009

This is a very nice hotel at a reasonable price. The room is very clean, spacious and stylish. The hotel is located in the old and historic neighborhood of Napoli, spaccanapoli, convenient to many historic sights, churches and museums. For me, the proximity to some of the most famous pizzerias in Napoli is a plus. However, at night, the neighborhood can be a little bit intimidating. But, it should be safe if you are used to navigating in any big cities. If you want something in a nicer neighborhood, hotels in the Chiaia area are more convenient located, closer to some upscale shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkwan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2009

The area can seem a bit intimidating at night but it is really quite safe. The Hotel is lovely - very luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZVMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in Naples. It sits amid the graffitti and rubbish bins - a veyr pleasant surprise. Excellent location close to the historic slghts- thye look dreadful from the outwide but inside the churches rival the overall the top maginicient of Rome. Be brave - it was rather spooky in the dark of a Minday night - no one about at all but Satuday night on our way back it was more lively and less threatening. We had real trouble finding it on foot - turn left off Duomo before the catherdral or right off Unberto and ask someone. It is chaotic - mopeds and cars roar down the little medieval streets at high speed so keep you wits about you at all times. But great pizza and a real sense of adventure. Full of traffic jams so only get a atxi if you really need to . We caught the bus from the airport and walked to the harbour to get the ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyday500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

There is really nothing bad to say about this hotel -- the location in the Centro Storico is great (close to all the sights, all the pizza, all the buzz), the hotel itself is immaculate, even down to that "new hotel" smell, the rooms are quiet and relatively spacious, and the breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in continental Europe.

A word of caution to fellow travelers -- there are probably some who would feel uncomfortable staying in the Centro Storico. It's got lots of dark alleys at night, and is a pulsing madhouse of scooters, tourists and locals during the day, so if that's not what you're looking for, try another area of town. For us this hotel was perfect -- you really feel like you're in the thick of Neapolitan life, but you can sleep in peace (would have liked a bathtub, but perhaps the upgraded rooms have those?).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmadamem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Extremely comfortable modern hotel in Naples. We chose this simply because we leaving on an early flight from Naples airport after spending time on the Amalfi coast and wanted a hotel near the airport. We were fortunate that our Sat Nav helped us to find the spot first time - heavens know how we would have done it with a map! The area does not look too preposessing, but as we did not explore I can't say too much about it. Parking immediately outside the hotel was great. The staff at reception were extremely helpful, both in the evening and at 5 in the morning. The room was large and nicely decorated in a modern elegant theme. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom modern, marble, very clean and with lots of good linen. After having a large lunch we didn't need dinner and sat and read in the quiet bar area, and used the free internet to check in on line. Just a 10 - 15 minute drive to the airport. Would definitely do again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireLiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We're four women friends who love art, history good food and wine. This is our fourth trip together.Naples has it all plus warm and helpful people.Our hotel was situated in the old historical center of the city.Beautifuly refurbished, chic breakfast and a welcome aperatif on our first evening.What more can one wish.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Palazzo Decumani in September. The hotel is impeccable, though we were initially alarmed by the surroundings. Ironically, we got used to it!

Pros:
We had a superior room. It was quite large with marble bathroom, beautifully appointed in discreet, modern decor. It was quiet after 11pm. Spotlessly clean. Housekeeping staff outstanding. They won't wake you to clean the room. Front desk staff was obliging and professional. Breakfast was very good by Italian standards and served in a plush room with dark red velvet chairs and linen tablecloths. They provide a wide assortment of food: cakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, cereal, breads, sweet rolls, sliced meats and cheeses etc... Salvatore at the bar is charming and makes an outstanding cocktail with mango liqueur and prosecco, his own invention, which is offered to guests as a welcome treat. The location is central with many good restaurants and shopping within short walking distance. We enjoyed the Locanda Del Grifo.

Cons:
The bed was of the hard, springy Italian variety. Not the most comfortable for our taste. All Superior rooms face the street. Windows are double glazed, but some noise, such as garbarge collection at 10:45pm is not sufficiently muffled. For sensitive sleepers, I might recommend a Classic room that faces the interior. Location is dirty. The garbage situation is not fully resolved in Naples. The street immediately in front of the hotel had garbarge piled high for 4 of the 5 days we were there and much graffiti. Watch out for dog manure on the right hand sidewalk. It seems to be used for this purpose. Though this might sound off-putting, if you learn to navigate around or avoid this street, the location and Centro Storico has abundant charm. Public transportation not readibly accessible.

Note of caution: It can be unnerving walking around the narrow streets of the Centro Storico with mopeds and cars with apparent disregard for pedestrians, passing within inches of you. If you can get used to it, you will love Naples, it's warm, open and gracious people and wonderful food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,170 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £105 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing