We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great classics of italian dish”
Review of Masaniello

Masaniello
Reserve with
Masaniello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,739 of 2,830 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Pendino
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great classics of italian dish”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

if you don't know it's there you will not find it. my first time there i saw the sign on the main street saying it was 50mt up the aley, it was around 400mts. but it's worth.
last 3 visits to naples i went there. the pizza is great, the bufala is amazing, the wine, the salad and i had pasta only on my 1st visit, the price is the best part, pizza, crudo and buffala, wine, desert and coffe less than 25 euro, this is probably the price of only the pizza in many places. Try the pizza DOC. the service is very plain, no cheap chat, the place may look a little confined, it's like a 1000 years old basement. i will certainly go again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex_saopaulo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious antipasto, great service”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The antipasto at Masaniello was probably the best we had in Italy. We really enjoyed the wine that the waiter selected for us as well. The service was fantastic. The waiter was very kind to explain what many items on the menu were. The pasta was a little salty, but the rest of the meal more than made up for it.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikengillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Inexpensive Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Great little place right down the street from our B&B - never would have found it otherwise. Food and service was fantastic! My husband and I ordered the anitpasto for two - which was amazing and more than we thought. We then both ordered the pasta and potato dish - it was great and the cheese had a great smoky flavor. Then we had a typical Napolitine desert (chocolate cake and a lemon cake). The wine our waiter picked for us was a great wine and great price, overall we were very pleased with the whole meal. Reservations were recommended in the guide book where we found out about this restaurant, but the night we were there it didn't seem to be necessary.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueruby2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Locals Here!”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Overpriced for a restaurant in the back streets, that would explain no local custom. We were the only people in the restaurant. My starter cost 8 euros for a small/medium bowl of pasta with tomato sauce and my second course cost 16 euros for 4 prawns and some green leaves, we only had 2 courses each. Our 4* Hotel was far better value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank homelover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We chose this place based on the good reviews on this site. I wouldn't rate this as one of the top restaurants in Naples.

Service was helpful and in good English, but the restaurant manager was alone serving the whole restaurant (there are only a few tables, but if the manager is busy serving other tables, it will occupy him for quite a while).

They had just one choice for antipasto, their own mix of local seasonal foods. It included six different types of foods, but as I'm quite picky there's always a problem that I don't like everything. The ones I liked were ok, but not thrilling.

I had a pizza for main course. It was good, but I've had better in Naples.

If you're just looking for a nice restaurant and this one happens to be close to you, this place is not a bad choice. However, it's by no means one of the best in Naples.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kuu-kanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masaniello also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Masaniello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing