We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice if you are thick skinned and deaf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Principe Napolit'amo
Ranked #61 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great choice if you are thick skinned and deaf”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is buried in a maze of pedestrian streets. If you are traveling by car, pick a different hotel. You cannot actually drive to Via Toledo 148. Despite help from the lovely people of Naples and their understanding police force, we ended up having to back up a hill on a narrow street to avoid driving down a staircase! Getting to the parking garage involved having the owner of the hotel stop traffic so that we could go the wrong way down a one way street. The staff does not give directions to the hotel and there is no indication on the internet of how difficult it is to get to if you are driving. When I was lost and tried to phone, no one answered.

We finally found the place, after driving in circles for 2 hours, and the owner helped us find a parking garage. The web site indicates that you get a special price. I paid 20 euros for one night. Upon arriving at the reception, we received "service with a snarl" from the aggressive, obnoxious young lady at the desk. The unpleasantness continued throughout our, mercifully, short stay.

We were awakened at 7AM by hammering. They were doing work directly below our room. Again, the staff did not tell us, nor did they suggest that we switch to a quieter room. The hotel was far from being full.

As other reviews on Tripadvisor indicate, this is a place that suffers from bad management. The owners seem well intentioned, but they make poor choices when it comes to hiring staff and have no notion of customer service. It is truly a pity, because the place has recently been renovated, the rooms on the 2nd floor are spacious (avoid the ones on the 3rd) and the breakfast room is the former ball room of a princely palace.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor are better than the 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore_Napolitamo, Direttore at Hotel Principe Napolit'amo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr. Isherwood,
I rarely completely disagree with what our guests write. Although you believe to do or you try to do your best to satisfy customers, not always you can, so the opinions of our guests contain almost always a part of the truth or anyway the truth from their prospective.
Regarding your opinion, I really need to respond in the name of my staff and for readers of Tripadvisor to provide them an objective and not relative truth.
Our hotel is located along Via Toledo, about 300 meters from Piazza del Plebiscito, the Royal Palace, Teatro San Carlo, just to enumerate the most popular sites. Via Toledo is one of the main streets of Naples, not buried but, on the contrary, known for its beautiful nineteenth century buildings, including our Hotel, home of the ancient noble family of the Prince of Montemiletto Tocco.
The difficulties you encountered arises from the need to make Via Toledo livable to all of us and to foreigners people in our city. Moreover, make Via Toledo a pedestrian area even allows all children to be able to move in security and enjoy it .
On the other hand I understand your difficulty to reach by car, and I understand that your mood was deeply disturbed by these incidents, but remember that Naples is an ancient city and also extraordinary to be made of little old streets.
In any case, detailed information about how to reach the hotel would be willingly provided by our staff at reception if only you had asked when contacted us by phone to inform us about your arrival time.
Parking is in agreement and the cost is absolutely indicated on the website from which they booked.
But let's get to the most important point. The choice of the staff and our poor management.
Our staff is loved by our Italian and foreign customers, who write about it anywhere and this is visible on Booking.com and Tripadivisor, not to mention other less famous portals.
In particular, Daniela, the person you describe (I my opinion with lack of style towards a lady), "hateful and aggressive," is absolutely the opposite of what you says.
Daniela is an educated person, kind, gentle and unquestionably and unequivocally professional enough to be considered irreplaceable by us and by our customers.
Therefore I invite the Tripadvisor readers to personally test the quality of all the staff and especially of Daniela, so that we can demonstrate that you are definitely wrong.
Regarding our mismanagement, not a day goes by that I do not wonder what to do to improve the state of things, seeking inspiration, information, updates and tips even from strangers, but, believe me, I could never accept advices from you about my work, because I believe that the opinions or judgments should be inspired by rationality, experience, maturity.
Although I’m aware of the need to improve even thanks to the contributions of those who stay here, I can not give credence to the words of a person who simply had a problem in drive across our city or park his car.
Guest inspired by bad emotions are not welcomed with pleasure especially if they have have traveled the world and should know that the difficulties are everywhere, even in Naples.
Remember that when Woody Allen decided to learn to drive chose Italy, the best training ground for life to train reflexes and nerves!
Once a time I ask Tripadvisor readers to come and judge by theirselves.
Regards
Dario Napolitano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    220
    82
    35
    20
See reviews for
80
202
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I loved this place. The location is very good, in the vibrant heart of the city,quartieri spagnoli & to the soul of naples: via dei tribunali and spaccanapoli & to the amazing piazza del plebiscito.
The rooms and main areas are beautiful pieces of arts, with some negligible imperfections that make them unique.
Great breakfast, sumptuous Buffett with lots of choices(unfortunately not the best espresso/americano)They could do better with access to use the lift(you need a coin to use it)
Very helpful receptionist staff, they printed our boarding pass & advised good places to eat and drink :) very good price for the location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Triestina114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Wow what a place loved the door entrance needs a bigger sign the name. Our room was large & clean staff very friendly. We over looked the Main Street & what a view to die for. The dinning room wow the ceiling is great you must see it, breakfast was good . It is one of those places you must stay in so central and what a place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The staff here is totally unprofessional. One of the staff members actually came to reception in his pajamas. Also, asking for a wake up call is risky because the staff sometimes to forget to give you one. The breakfast is awful and consists of a bad pastry from a nearby bakery. In addition, the staff is reluctant to transfer any incoming calls to your room. The hotel room is okay, but the bed is hard as a rock.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

High ceilings, very clean but basic. The hotel is not straight forward to find and is only visible by a plaque on the outside wall between the shops and cafe. Once inside its typical Naples. There is a rickety lift which is quite a fun experience. Reception staff were helpful. I had a corner room with a double aspect over the main street. The floor to ceiling windows, shutters and curtains make you feel like you're in a giants room. The hotel itself is quite basic and the breakfast, served at the cafe on the corner, is typical Italian coffee and croissant. The only downside was that the machine to pay was not working so we had to scrabble around for cash. My paperwork from booking.com stated that it was fully pre-paid but this was not true as the hotel had not collected the money as I had paid with American Express so i had to go to the cashpoint to draw out euros for my bill! I was a bit concerned as I thought I had paid twice but on checking the account the hotel had indeed not charged the credit card - which was quite a relief. Another point to note is that the taxi driver from the airport wanted to charge 20 euros each (we did not pay this) when in fact they should only charge a total of 20! We booked a taxi through the reception desk for the return journey with no issues and no attempt to overcharge. Another point which i would note is that there are not tea/coffee making facilities in the room but you do get a small fridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Nice big room with balcony... Lovely Ans helpfull staff... Great location in the middle of everything! Busy And lively! We loved it there! The room itself was clean and nice... Not perfect, but especially the balcony made it wonderfull... Bathroom was small and outdated, but ok... Best was that everything is in walking distance! We love Napoli!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Despite bad signage, dingy entrance, and having to find our way to the first floor reception, the hotel rooms are really good, breakfast was good, staff friendly. Location excellent. Photo's of exterior of hotel are not indicative of what you will see, interiors are.

Room Tip: stay on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Napolit'amo Medina
#54 of 186 in Naples
418 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
948 reviews
Hotel Toledo
#36 of 186 in Naples
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#24 of 186 in Naples
1,173 reviews
Porto
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#125 of 186 in Naples
143 reviews
Pendino
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#60 of 186 in Naples
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Napolit'amo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Napolit'amo

Property: Hotel Principe Napolit'amo
Address: Via Toledo 148, 80132, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe Napolit'amo 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe Napolit'amo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing