We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Stanze del Vicere', Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Stanze del Vicere'
Ranked #307 of 802 Naples B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very clean and comfortable; great value. Maxime (the manager) is great. Very good location (just off a major street, which eventually becomes via Toledo), safe, and a short walk to Archaeological Museum and Piazza del Plebiscito.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

My friend and I from London had a 4 night stay in Naples am stayed at this lovely hotel.

We loved the character and charm of this hotel. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings, clean and relaxing.
We loved chatting to Max, and his great sense of humour.
Pina was great at breakfast and made us lovely coffees. Breakfast is basic, but good: bread rolls, boiled eggs, slices of cheese, croissants and cakes.
The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the Archeological museum. We went all over Naples (centre storico and down to Royal Naples and the port of Santa Lucia) and we didn't use public transport or taxis once. There is a tube stop next to the Archeological museum but we didn't use it.
We also walked to and from the main station (Pizza Garibaldi) for a day trip to Sorrento.
We did get a taxi to and from the airport which was €25.
My only advice to travellers is that the hotel is up a hill, so if you have any difficulty with walking, bear this in mind. We were pleased todo it after all the delicious pizza, pasta and ice cream we ate!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuLu81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have just returned after a five night stay at Le Stanze del Vicere. Converted from an old palazzo, the hotel is gorgeous and is a fantastic and unique place to stay. We cannot wait to go back, and we are already planning our next visit. I would not want to stay anywhere else in Naples after spending time here. We visited for my 40th birthday, as I have always wanted to see Pompeii and Herculaneum, and visit Mount Vesuvius.

The hotel interior was refurbished in 2008 to a beautiful standard, contrasting beautifully with the exterior of the building’s ‘shabby chic’ – which is absolutely typical for Naples. The painted ceiling in the breakfast room is just gorgeous, like a mini Sistine Chapel.

We found the building with no problem at all. You enter through a robust security gateway (again, typical for Naples) to see the most amazing staircase on one side of the courtyard. Le Stanze del Vicere is up on the second floor.

The hotel is about a ten minute stroll from Piazza Cavour metro station. The area is quiet and safe, and during our stay here we felt like we got a proper taste of local life, drinking coffee and eating dinner with the locals and popping into the local shops along the via Stella and via Mater Dei. Piazza Dante is about fifteen minutes away, and is great for coffee and people-watching. You can easily walk to the local tourist sites, like Spaccanapoli and the Centro Storico (c.20 mins), as well as the Port and University (c.30 mins) and the Central Station (c.20 mins) too.

We stayed in Room 2, next to the breakfast room, which overlooked the courtyard. The room was huge, with a super-king size bed and high ceilings, and a polished marble floor. It also had aircon, a fridge/minibar and a safe. Our en-suite had a powerful shower with constant hot water, and all mod cons, including a hairdryer, a power point for shaving, etc. Both our room and bathroom were kept immaculately clean throughout our stay.

We enjoyed the breakfast, which consisted of a range of Neapolitan cakes and pastries, croissants, rolls, cheese and eggs, as well as some juices and great coffee. You can also request an early breakfast if you need to.

We did not use the breakfast room / communal area apart from for breakfast; instead, we preferred to sit in the garden in the evenings, under the orange trees, and make friends with the little family of local cats who have taken up residence.

The staff – Maxime, Pina and Luigi - were friendly and welcoming, and made such an effort to make our stay enjoyable. Maxime was a great host - nothing was too much trouble. He kindly recommended several excellent local restaurants, as well as ones further afield (e.g. Sorrento) and helped make arrangements for our transfer to the airport. He gave us directions and other advice on Naples and was always there to give us our room key, no matter what time we got back. We really enjoyed our chats with Maxime every day about where we had been. He told us so much about Naples and gave us the lowdown on local life – it was fascinating to hear about the history of the area and it made a great visit even more enjoyable. He really was the perfect host who was literally always available, as well as knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

My partner and I have both worked in the travel industry and this place really impressed us. If you enjoy staying in more conventional hotels, such as Marriotts, or other hotel chains, then perhaps Le Stanze del Vicere is not the place for you. We found it to be a great fit for us. It exceeded our expectations in every way, giving us a truly unique boutique hotel experience, as well as the chance to explore Naples and the local area from a beautiful, central, and safe location. We experienced no problems with the hotel or the area at all during our stay. Like I said at the start of this review, we simply cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the courtyard and stairway, or the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgiaK136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanzedel, Responsabile reception at Le Stanze del Vicere', responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

We have a very good memory of you both, as you were always smiling and willing to appreciate every aspects of our Hotel and city. Tha's the correct way of approcing to a new city and place.
Thank you for your kind words, we are relly happy you felt all that you descrived and to know that you both worked in travel business make us see this review even more precious.
Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Without doubt, as other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is charming in terms of the building, the decor etc... The rooms are beautiful, the area is generally very quiet and the location is good - you can walk to the main shopping areas and the port. Despite what you read and hear about Naples we felt completely safe in this area. We did however have a rather strange experience for the 3 or 4 days we stayed here. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and the guy who runs (owns?) the hotel seemed to have had a little to drink. After leaving our key and popping out for some food we returned at around 6pm to find the guy passed out on a sofa in the communal area. With no-one else in the hotel at all it took a little while to wake him, at which point he failed to remember us or our room number. It was a Saturday and maybe he was unwinding so we weren't unduly concerned. On Sunday there was a similar incident. After returning from a day trip we entered the hotel to find him letting himself out of our room. He seemed a flustered by our sudden appearance and again he was what I can only describe as drunk. I'm really not sure what he was doing in our room in the early evening as he gave no explanation that I could comprehend but on leaving our room he let himself into the room next door. Our final evening on returning to the hotel at around 10pm we spent around 20 mins with him while he took our passport details. We had to read the details out to him as he was too drunk to be able to read. The next morning he greeted us by saying "I don't even remember you coming in last night"! The guy seemed friendly and maybe we stayed on a couple of odd days but we've never had an experience this strange at a hotel. We never felt at ease and were glad to be leaving in the end. Beautiful building but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanzedel, Direttore at Le Stanze del Vicere', responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Kind Sirs,
we are very happy you liked our Hotel and Naples.
We are really surprised to read what you wrote about our Hotel's manager, Mr. Maxime, he is usally very caring, friendly and professional. You can safely read all the others reviews where all the Guests praise him. During those days Maxime had very high temperature, as it can happen to anyone. We apologize if you have had some inconvenient, but we guarantee you, since he has been working with us for many years, Maxime is a wonderful and outstanding person. In the room we usually do a refresher in the afternoon, then this is a common practice, so you should not be surprised if in structures of a certain level you see people coming out of a room.
Thank you and we apologize again
Best Regards
Guido Bifulco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Le Stanze del Vicere and I would agree with others that this is a little gem. Maxim was very nice and told us the history of the place and of Naples. The interior of the hotel was refurbished in 2008 to an excellent standard, however the building itself is getting run-down and it is a shame that the people sharing ownership won't do anything about the exterior. The building is beautiful, but it's starting to show the decay. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was decent - loved the cappucino. I would definitely come back to stay if we ever came back to Naples. We found the people to be friendly and down to earth, however they drive insanely and don't keep the streets clean at all. There were mounds of rubbish in the streets, litter and dog do do everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrisMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We decided to spend nine days in Naples to experience some of the amazing things in and around the city, such as the Archeological museum, the Pompeii site, Vesuvius,the various palaces etc etc,.The city itself is very busy, at times chaotic and run down in parts, but this is more than balanced by the friendly locals and the excellent food! We thought it best to visit in February- not so hot and fewer tourists.
We think ourselves very lucky to have chanced to book at Le Stanze. Once past the un-prepossesing exterior portal you climb a classic staircase to the 2nd floor of the old Viceroy's palace.The rooms here have been fully modernised whilst keeping their original charm,the bedrooms are large with excellent en-suite bathrooms. The manager Maxime was very helpful as were Pina & Luigi and helped to make a great holiday for us! Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We took a bit of time walking upto the hotel... and as we entered the gates, we didn't really know what to expect, it looked like a very old spooky house... but once we stepped in, we were truly amazed. Rooms were large with extremely high ceilings and beautifully done up. The bathrooms were extremely clean, with new modern fittings. The breakfast area was grand, truly European with a quaint spread of rolls, jam, tea and cakes. Maxime was a wonderful host. Loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManasiBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Correra 241
#14 of 186 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Ramada Naples City Center
#44 of 186 in Naples
932 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Napoli Ambassador
#63 of 186 in Naples
2,388 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#64 of 186 in Naples
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze del Vicere'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze del Vicere'

Address: Via Stella 94 | (traversa Via Santa Teresa degli Scalzi), 80135, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 802 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: £39 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Stanze del Vicere' 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent staircase, made in the XVI c. By the architect Luigi Vanvitelli, leads to the residence. Furnished in classic style inspired by Royal epoque, The Residence with its elegant and Big Hall welcomes the pleasant activities dedicated to Guests:from the breakfast, authentic surprise of the Residence, to the pleasant reading of Neapolitan theatrical texts and tourist guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Stanze del Vicere' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Stanze Del Vicere` Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing