We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place--an island of calm in the chaos of Naples”
Review of Zia Maria Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zia Maria Home
Ranked #91 of 732 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent a terrific weekend in Naples and loved Zia Maria Home. It is right in the heart of Spaccanapoli across the street from San Lorenzo Maggiore and an easy walk to the city's treasures. The B&B is delightful--simple, spotlessly clean, cool, and quiet--and the owners lovely and willing to help make Naples an even better experience. Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the city's rooftops. Naples is always a bit overwhelming but worth the extra energy it takes to visit. Zia Maria Home made being in the middle of the old city a pleasure--will go back as often as we can!

Room Tip: We occupied three rooms all together and each was light, bright, and airy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gso-fcoanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Zia Maria Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wonderful, quiet b&b on top floor of apartment building in the very center of the Centro Storico. Terrace with views, very comfortable room, wifi, great AC, walk to everything. Really amazing spot for experiencing Napoli.Excellent hosts. Be sure to wrap up the day with a glass of wine on the terrace overlooking the city and bay.

This was my sixth trip to Napoli and Zia Maria is my dream come true for staying in Napoli.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in B&B Zia Maria Home for four nights and it was one of our best B&B experiences. Our hosts were extremely nice and helpful! Maria and Roberta especially made lots of efforts to ensure that we were comfortable and our needs taken care of.

The location was not difficult to find as we called for a taxi using the code which our hosts gave us: €16, cheaper than the usual fare with luggages included. It is located at the heart of Centro Storico and is within walking distance to many important attractions.

This B&B is also near to a few excellent pizzerias along Via Tribunali. Sorbillo for one, probably serves one of the best pizzas around. We tried a few pizzerias but always returned to Sorbillo.

Our room was very clean and bright, with good air conditioning. The bed was also very comfortable. Our little balcony faces the San Lorenzo Maggiore Church, which was a lovely sight.

There was no wifi but our hosts provided a laptop with Internet connections for guests to use at anytime.

Breakfast was lovely with homemade jams and bread. Most importantly, the view from the beautiful rooftop terrace which oversees Mount Vesuvius was amazing! Sitting there at night with a bottle of wine and looking at the beautiful lights of the city is especially tranquil and peaceful. It's really a very unique experience with tranquility amidst the chaos in Naples.

We now think back fondly of our memories in Naples which our friendly hosts played an important part.

B&B Zia Maria Home, Graziemille a tutti per tutti! :)



  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Smack in the middle of the centro storico, with 3 of the best pizzerias (Sorbillo's!!!!) in the world at a stone's throw, this was a perfect place to spend 1 night in Napoli. The owners / management were really kind people and they really appreciated their work.

All the rooms are on the 5th floor of a building from the 1500's. Our room overlooking Piazza San Gaetano was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was perfect, and the terrace with views of Vesuvio and the bay, as well as the napolitan rooftops, was a perfect little sanctuary to sit and catch your breath for a few minutes.

Understand this isn't a 4-5 star hotel, it's a B&B....but if you're looking for great accomodations at a reasonable price, I cannot imagine a better place. Truly a bargain for what you get. And the neighborhood, with the exception of the firecracker/ bomb explosions (it was 30 december after all, and napoletani love a good explosion or 10), was safe and nice. Obviously, you're in a big city that's notoriously dangerous for Italian standards, so use your wits.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

After six trips to Napoli over thirty years, we finally found the perfect place to stay. We spent three nights at Zia Maria Home and cannot recommend it highly enough. Everything met or exceeded our expectations: perfect location, clean, quiet, and especially Roberta's warm welcome and hospitality. This is now our place in Napoli.

One note on finding ZMH: if you can find San Lorenzo Maggiore, you're there. The entrance to the courtyard is marked by a name plate on the left side of the door jamb directly across the piazza from the bar under the sign "Napoli Sotterranea." Ring the buzzer on the right jamb and you'll be warmly welcomed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Piazza: airy, but noisy with the door open; quiet with the door closed. Great morni...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesposit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Despite rain and cold, our brief stay in Naples was made warm and comfortable by Zia Maria Home. The fifth floor room had views out onto the busy square below and off to the bay of Naples and the Sorrento coast in the distance. The cost was a bargain for the combination of modern, well attended accommodations and the incredible view.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I spent almost one month at Zia Maria Home and it was a perfect home for me in Naples. The place is lovely and spotless, the views (of the city and Vesuvio) are beautiful, the location in the Centro Storico is perfect. Breakfasts were always tasty--Roberta can bake! Tonia was very generous as well, and ended up covering a surprise bank cost for me--in the end, making me a gift of the 25 Euro. The cost is very reasonable... I would highly recommend it for anyone's stay in this fabulous, fascinating city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Neapolis Hotel
#59 of 185 in Naples
406 reviews
Palepoli B&B
#223 of 732 in Naples
112 reviews
Pendino
B&B Il Campanile Napoli
B&B Il Campanile Napoli
#98 of 732 in Naples
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Sleep & Zupp'
Sleep & Zupp'
#102 of 732 in Naples
36 reviews
Pendino
Domus Gemi B&B
Domus Gemi B&B
#10 of 732 in Naples
410 reviews
Pendino
The Bellini House B&B
The Bellini House B&B
#4 of 732 in Naples
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zia Maria Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zia Maria Home

Address: Piazza San Gaetano 322, 80138, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zia Maria Home 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zia Maria Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zia Maria Home Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing