We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location and ambience”
Review of Zia Maria Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zia Maria Home
Ranked #81 of 683 Naples B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“perfect location and ambience”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved our stay at Zia Maria, Tonya and Gino (brother and sister team that run the place) are warm and welcoming. Our italian was limited so they helped us with everything from booking taxi's restaurants and suggestions about timing for ferries etc. Our room was large, clean and modern, all that we needed and a lovely balcony over-looking the square. Breakfast was cheery and fun, cappuccinos to order and new local favorites from the bakery downstairs were on offer for breakfast. If you arrive at night as we did don't be put off by the dark square and street, it's a little difficult to see the name plate at the address, but in the morning you will find yourself in the bustling centre of Neopolitan life. The location could not be better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    45
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
93
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have really enjoyed my stay at Zia Maria. It is at prime location (right opposite from San Lorenzo Maggiore) and within walking distance to all tourist attractions in the centro storico area, and yet it managed to retain a sense of peacefulness and quietness. The room and common area are clean and well-maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful, although communication was slightly challenging as I speak no Italian at all. I managed to get the information I needed at the end so that did not bother me too much. The only change I would suggest is to start serving breakfast at or before 8am instead of 9am, so one could have more time to catch the morning boat/ferry to the Islands.
I would definitely stay at Zia Maria again when I next visit Naples.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston/Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent stay in the middle of 'Old Naples'. Walking distance to the Archeological Museum, major churches, the port, and a few steps to Napoli Sotteraneo and an excellent selection of pizzerie and good, reasonable restaurants. Zia Maria Homes was the family residence of the grandparents and parents of the current owners, converted into a spotless, inviting, tranquil oasis. Tonia, Roberta, Gino and his wife, Paola take care of their guests with concern and attention. Each of them was a delight to know.
PS. The B&B has an agreement with one of the taxi companies for fixed fares to the airport, train station, etc. which is a great convenience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B&B is a little hard to find, but well located in the historic area. The rooms are minimally designed, with a cool white and soft yellow pallet, that is soothing after a day of the intensity that is Naples. The owner is wonderfully pleasant, very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace, it is very basic, but the coffee is good and if you ask they will make cappuccino. Room 4 has a nice balcony with a great view. The area is lively and noisy, but the interior windows do a good job of cutting out the noise. AC works well. Bathrooms are large by Italian B&B standards and very comfortable. The access is by a series of keys to the main door, to the elevator, to the interior door and to the room. They can be a little tricky to use and heavy to carry around, we found all the doors hard to open until we got the handle on the key issue. If you get here by cab, arrange the fee before you get in the cab, or you will be vastly overcharged, and/or the cab driver will run up the meter getting to the place. Not accessible for those with difficulty with stairs even though there is an elevator, but then again neither is Naples. Recommend

Room Tip: Room 4 has a great view of the piazza and a stand on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Tonia, her family and staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. This B&B is ideally located on Piazza San Gaetano and the perfect place to begin and end your day's exploration of all that Unforgettable Naples has to offer. The rooms are clean and spacious, the beds comfortable and it is quiet at night. A delicious breakfast on the terrace begins the day. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCFSRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

unforgettable stay. i lived in a tranquil state of mind, kindly woken up by neapolitan food smells, gentle neapolitan songs played in the street, and caressing street noises.

breakfast is an heavenly experience, simple, scrumptuous and peaceful.

thanks to a terrific host, Tonia Brangi, my period in naples was unforgettable

Room Tip: any and all rooms are spacious ,clean, simply furnitured and well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruocco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Three of us shared a big, airy room five floors up, overlooking the busy square by the san Lorenzo Maggiore church-great for people watching and getting the ambience of Naples.Ideal location in one of the most interesting parts of Naples, close to some good restaurants and gelateria and walking distance to loads of interesting places.15 minute walk to the station and from there easy access to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Oplontis-all must sees.
The B&B was good value, very clean and comfortable- nice breakfast on the roof terrace and a wonderful spot to see the sunset over Mount Vesuvius. Very courteous and helpful staff - we would certainly come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieB004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Neapolis Hotel
#61 of 186 in Naples
397 reviews
Palepoli B&B
#191 of 683 in Naples
111 reviews
San Ferdinando
B&B Al Maschio Angioino
B&B Al Maschio Angioino
#31 of 683 in Naples
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Domus Gemi B&B
Domus Gemi B&B
#11 of 683 in Naples
402 reviews
Pendino
B&B Terrazza Duomo
B&B Terrazza Duomo
#197 of 683 in Naples
32 reviews
Pendino
The Church
The Church
#211 of 683 in Naples
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zia Maria Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zia Maria Home

Property: Zia Maria Home
Address: Piazza San Gaetano 322, 80138, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 683 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zia Maria Home 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zia Maria Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zia Maria Home Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing