We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short visit to Naples ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Napoli Ambassador
Ranked #58 of 185 Hotels in Naples
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel by using one of those websites where you can look for late deals. I took the option to go for a mystery bargain hotel that you had to book before you knew where you were staying though you did know what facilities it had.

We were offered an upgrade (for a fee) to an executive room on the top (30th) floor. While the view was good and the room was probably bigger, with hindsight I would stick to the room I originally booked next time. Note that Italy (and some other countries) have a room tax that you have to pay on departure and which is not in your original booking fee.

Naples - like any big city - is busy but from the hotel room you can take time out from that at the end of the day.

Surprisingly booking a meal through room service was much better value that eating in the restaurant which didn't have a cosy feel which I like to have when eating although maybe I shouldn't expect that from a business hotel chain.

One niggle that I had was that although there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room there was no milk. I had to go down to the bar and ask for a glass of milk (for three Euros) and then take it back up in the lift.

Also - although free wifi was advertised, you had to get a new username and password from reception email every 24 hours and there a maximum daily free download limit of 100mb limit which may not be enough to allow you to share the photos of your stay.

Overall while the hotel did 'what it said on the tin, it was too formal/business like for my needs and given the option I would choose a different hotel chain in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aenathras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
There are newer reviews for NH Napoli Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

A very cosy hotel on a perfect location, room (specially the upper floors) have a swell view. Very friendly and pleasent staff, specially on the recepcion desk. Lovely offer for breakfast. A very pleasent experience all in all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veljko011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Advertised as a 4 star hotel, although anywhere outside of Naples this would be classed as a 2-3 star hotel at best.

I'll list some of the poor points of this hotel.
- Shower lacked any sort of water pressure and stank highly of mould.
- A room with a view of the bay was 10€ extra a night, even though the hotel was empty.
- Room service was nothing but a let down, the operator did not even know of items on the in room menu when ordered, even bringing the wrong order up numerous times, even though it was ordered in Italian.
- Restaurant wasn't staffed, neither was the bar every time I went down to have a look around.
- Wifi is free, but limited to something like 100mb, so once you've reached the limit you have to go down stairs and get another username and password.
- Minibar was a rip off, 5€ for a 330ml can of coke, for example.
- Only BBC and CNN were in English on the tiny, non- LCD/Plasma TV.
- Can not change the heating, so forced to sleep with the windows open (Noisy city, even on the 29th floor!)
- The "gym" consists of an old multi-gym, a treadmill and 2 bikes. You also need a special key to access it, which you get from the front desk.
- The Elevators have no security.
- The safe requires your room key to operate, which is absurd considering the only other people that come in to your room have the skeleton key...
- Cleaning service didn't make my bed when I was away for 2 days on Procida Island, came back to a messy room. They had replaced the soap in the bathroom, but couldn't be bothered to make the bed.
- No coffee making facilities in the room, actually no facilities at all in the room, no hair dryer, no iron, nothing. I hear that is the law in Naples due to some sort of OH&S policy.

Oh, did I mention the rolling power outages?

Naples is a lovely city during the day, but everyone knows you risk life and limb when out walking at nighttime, especially when one is traveling alone. So you want a hotel that you can relax in and get a good meal, even a couple of drinks. This hotel does not give you that, so I strongly advise against anyone wishing for a stay any longer than 1 night. Even 1 night is pushing it.

I left 3 days early as staying here was ruining my trip to Europe.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
8  Thank Oxley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Located very close to the San Carlo Theatre and Piazza Plebiscito (5 min walk), this hotel surprised me for the excellent reception, great staff (in particular Mario) that went out of his way to help us. The hotel is located on floors 16 to 29 so there is an excellent view of Naples (if you can ask for the view on the gulf). The rooms are fine and spacious, nothing extravagant.
Breakfast is excellent and very rich in all type of foods.
Would definitely reccomend !

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the gulf/bay.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Sept 2013. Rooms were very clean and modern, Very good 3 star hotel. Rooms are small but enough space for two people, and most importantly clean. Breakfast was included into a very affordable price and it was great, huge verity of items to choose from. We stayed on the highest floor and had a very nice view of the castle and the sea. Front desk staff were great and very helpful with any questions such as directions, transportation and places to eat. The only thing, and it's not the hotel it's the law in Naples they don't allow or have any electric items such as irons, due to structures being very old. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We liked it, everything is great!
Fast check-in, check out, helpfull staff, tasty breakfast, good location to sightseeing.
It was so a pleasant surprise to live in this comfortable and unique hotel, because great view from room (25 floor).
We had travel in different cities and this hotel is one the best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Sunpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night only before heading to Sorrento. Just as well. Nice enough, smallish room. Wifi was free but slow. Reception was pleasant and helpful. Entrance was filthy (what is it with Napoli's dirty sidewalks?). Breakfast was reasonable but chaotic. There was a major leak above the bed in our young son's room which soaked his pillow. When we brought it to Reception's attention it was dismissed with a shrug, "There's never been any previous problems." ??? Gee, thanks.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank trnewmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,036 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#42 of 185 in Naples
2,597 reviews
Porto
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Napoli Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Napoli Ambassador

Address: Via Medina 70 | San Giuseppe, City Centre, 80133, Naples, Italy (Formerly NH Ambassador)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £79 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Napoli Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Napoli Ambassador is located in the historic heart of Naples and close to many of the city's most famous sights, such as Maschio Angioino, Palazzo Reale, Piazza del Plebiscito and Teatro San Carlo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Napoli Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing