We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but need better service.”
Review of MH Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MH Design Hotel
Ranked #93 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The hotel is just on the main shopping area of the city, via Chiaia, and just behind the royal Palace. We have been here one night for an early departure on the next day from the Naples Airport. The rooms are quiet nice all in a modern decor. The breakfast is served on the top floor and starts very early, comfortable for who needs to check out before. Once of the thing which they should improve is the front desk service, which were not helpfull and polite, pitty because relaly could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanlsg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We tried to book one night in this hotel via their own website. Instead of offering us a price for that one night the system automatically switched to 3 nights several times. We wrote an email to have the one night confirmed but it bounced back maybe because their inbox was full - so we decided to call them (from Germany)! We submitted our credit card information and recieved a confirmation email for one night at the date we requested. After two weeks the hotel again asked for the credit card number, expirazion date, security code and "second paper". When we told them that we don't know what a second paper is and that they already have all information needed we went on our trip to Italy. We arrived at the hotel at around 7pm and were told that no room was available because the hotel wasn't sure wether we wanted to keep the reservation or not. In the next sentence they told us, that they sent an email at 6:30pm to inform us, that they don't have a room for us available. So they knew we were coming, they had our CC info and our okay to charge the card but waited till 30 min prior to our arrival to tell us that they have no room left. Upon arrival we asked them to book another hotel for us which seems to be their usual 2nd choice regarding to other reviews. Even though we had to book their rate which is 10 Euro higher than the internet price and we had to take a room with breakfast, the guy from mh hotel offered us a free breakfast in his hotel - which of course is a pretty much pointless offer since we already paid for the breakfast.
WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Nice hotel, in the heart of Naples. No dodgy side streets to walk through. 1 min walk to piazza plebisitio. Shopping on your doorstep.
Room was modern though small. Spotlessly clean. Nice big shower.no view - just an inner courtyard, though is reflected in the price paid.
It really is just a place to sleep though, no bar or lobby in the hotel - it's just a doorway on a busy pedestrian street.
Breakfast was average though the coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sligoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It claims to be a 'design' hotel. Nothing designer about this hotel. Room was smelly. Shower doesn't work. Drainage doesn't work.
Location is very central- the only plus point.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

nice small hotel but the rooms are really small with a window on an intern court... no so sexy.... for the rest it was pleasant

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabandste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I really disadvise this hotel. When I arrived, at about 11:00 pm, someone accompanied me in a courtyard, situated at some distance of the hotel, in the same street. There, at the bottom of the courtyard, the hotel arranges some rooms on the first floor. The guy left me there saying to me that I could call 9 if I had a problem. Reached in the room, I realized that the door did not close. I could not thus go to get a meal in a restaurant by leaving my property in the room. I tried to call 9, but the telephone did not work. I returned to the reception where the employee refused to to come along to check the problem, to change the room or even to believe me. In brief, he absolutely did not want to do nothing for me. Besides, the hotel is noisy and warm water, when there is, takes hours to arrive. A horrible experiment which I wish to nobody.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ErikVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here for four days and nights and found it a simple but pleasent place. Apart from poor drainage in the bathroom that caused some flooding and the poor breakfast the hotel was clean and centrally located.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the fourth floor as right beside the breakfast room so noisy from 6am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#22 of 185 in Naples
1,322 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Santa Brigida
Hotel Santa Brigida
#63 of 185 in Naples
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#138 of 185 in Naples
166 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#12 of 185 in Naples
1,044 reviews
NH Napoli Ambassador
#61 of 185 in Naples
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Design Hotel

Address: Via Chiaia 245, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £60 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MH Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Design Hotel is a 3 star hotel with all the facilities of a superior category.Everything within walking distance:The nearby Piazza del Plebiscito is a starting point for those who want to discover this wonderful city's architectural attractions and the charm of the local art, culture and history;For those who prefer shopping, we are located on one of the most prestigious streets in an area of great tailors and fashion designers, in the most sophisticated part of Naples;For those who also want to enjoy Naples' nightlife, MH Design Hotel is just a short distance away from the city's best restaurants and night spots.MH Design Hotel è un albergo di DESIGN con confort di categoria a 4 stelle.Tutto è a portata di passeggiata:La vicinissima piazza del Plebiscito è un punto di partenza per chi desidera incontrare le bellezze architettoniche, il fascino dell'arte della cultura e della storia di questa stupenda città;Per chi preferisce lo shopping siamo nelle vie più prestigiose di una terra di grandi sarti e artigiani della moda, nel più raffinato salotto di Napoli;Per chi desidera godersi anche l'aspetto più ludico di Napoli, MH Design Hotel è a pochi passi dai migliori ristoranti e locali notturni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MH Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing